Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Ciltacabtagene autoleucel

Carvykti: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,914 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2022–2026.

4,914
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 1,180 a year
2,116
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,656 in the 12 months before
67.1%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
8.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
427 reports · not verified by FDA

4,914 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Carvykti (ciltacabtagene autoleucel) as a suspect or interacting product, from May 2022 to June 2026. A further 25 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 2,116 reports listed it, up 28% from 1,656 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,180 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded cytokine release syndrome (12.8%), pyrexia (6.9%) and hospitalisation (6.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 454 different terms appear across these reports. Cytokine release syndrome is recorded in 12.8% of these reports, against 0.1% of all reports in the database.

67.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 8.7% record death among the outcomes and 35.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 54.9% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (7.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0113226Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 18Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 26Dec 2022: 252023Jan 2023: 11Feb 2023: 31Mar 2023: 24Apr 2023: 24May 2023: 33Jun 2023: 29Jul 2023: 57Aug 2023: 51Sep 2023: 50Oct 2023: 71Nov 2023: 78Dec 2023: 592024Jan 2024: 57Feb 2024: 90Mar 2024: 115Apr 2024: 88May 2024: 97Jun 2024: 76Jul 2024: 96Aug 2024: 84Sep 2024: 101Oct 2024: 146Nov 2024: 116Dec 2024: 1672025Jan 2025: 137Feb 2025: 143Mar 2025: 123Apr 2025: 196May 2025: 184Jun 2025: 163Jul 2025: 152Aug 2025: 150Sep 2025: 161Oct 2025: 142Nov 2025: 169Dec 2025: 1872026Jan 2026: 187Feb 2026: 173Mar 2026: 188Apr 2026: 176May 2026: 205Jun 2026: 226

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09541,9072022: 10120222023: 51820232024: 1,23320242025: 1,90720252026: 1,1552026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Carvykti reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Pyrexiafever6.9%341
  2. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital6.9%337
  3. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified4.8%238
  4. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.9%190
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.4%166
  6. Fatiguetiredness3.4%166
  7. Cranial nerve paralysis2.9%141
  8. Bell's palsy2.4%118
  9. Illness2.4%116
  10. Adverse drug reactiona harmful or unpleasant reaction reported to a medicine2.3%113
  11. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.3%112
  12. Immune-mediated enterocolitis2%96
  13. Colitisinflamed bowel1.9%91
  14. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell1.7%85
  15. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.7%84
  16. Painpain, site not specified1.7%84
  17. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count1.6%81
  18. Cytopenia1.6%80
  19. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.6%80
  20. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.6%79
  21. Pneumonialung infection1.5%74
  22. Hypotensionlow blood pressure1.2%60

Top 30 of 454 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death8.7%427
Life-threatening1.6%81
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)35.4%1,738
Disability0.9%45
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious33.5%1,647
Not serious32.9%1,615

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 440.3%14
45 to 647.2%356
65 to 747.8%381
75 and over2.9%141
Age not given81.8%4,022

Patient sex

Female24.1%1,186
Male31%1,523
Not given44.9%2,205

Who reported

Physician16.8%824
Pharmacist1.6%79
Other health professional26.4%1,297
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional54.9%2,699
Not given0.3%15

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 95.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Plasma cell myeloma84017.1%
Plasma cell myeloma refractory1843.7%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma110.2%
Lymphocyte adoptive therapy80.2%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma stage iv40.1%
Neoplasm malignant40.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,914 reports.

In context

MeasureCarvyktiAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,91420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months2,1161,332,454
Marked serious67.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports8791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports354213
Consumer-filed share54.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCytokine release syndrome 12.8%0.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Carvykti reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Carvykti?

4,914 reports list Carvykti as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 2,116 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 25 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Carvykti reports?

cytokine release syndrome (12.8%), pyrexia (6.9%), hospitalisation (6.9%), parkinsonism (5.4%) and adverse event (4.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Carvykti was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

67.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 8.7% of reports include death and 35.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (54.9%), other health professional (26.4%) and physician (16.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Carvykti rising?

2,116 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 28% from 1,656 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Carvykti was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Carvykti?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Carvykti as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (25) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.