Reported Reactions

Drugs › CD22-directed immunoconjugate

Brand name · Inotuzumab ozogamicin

Besponsa: adverse event reports filed with FDA

669 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2017–2026. Class: CD22-directed immunoconjugate.

669
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 76 a year
42
reports, 12 months to June 2026
57 in the 12 months before
88%
marked serious by the reporter
96% across the class
45.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
307 reports · not verified by FDA

669 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Besponsa (inotuzumab ozogamicin) as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2017 to May 2026. A further 35 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 42 reports listed it, down 26% from 57 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 76 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 27.7% of the reports for the CD22-directed immunoconjugate class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (20.3%), neoplasm progression (17%) and venoocclusive liver disease (11.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 147 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 20.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median CD22-directed immunoconjugate drug (14.3%).

88% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (96% across the class); 45.9% record death among the outcomes and 23.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 66.7% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (21.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0815Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 102022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 14Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 10Jun 2022: 9Jul 2022: 9Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 12Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 7Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 9Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 142025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 6Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 7Aug 2025: 10Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

050992017: 1620172018: 8620182019: 9920192020: 8720202021: 9320212022: 8720222023: 6020232024: 7720242025: 5020252026: 142026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Besponsa reports recording the termmedian drug in cd22-directed immunoconjugate

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.3%136
  2. Venoocclusive liver disease11.8%79
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.2%48
  4. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count6.4%43
  5. Pyrexiafever6.4%43
  6. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells4.5%30
  7. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count4.5%30
  8. Thrombocytopenialow platelets4.2%28
  9. Venoocclusive disease3.9%26
  10. Ascitesfluid in the abdomen3.6%24
  11. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.5%17
  12. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2.4%16
  13. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.2%15
  14. Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing2.2%15
  15. Nauseafeeling sick2.1%14
  16. Neoplasm recurrence1.8%12
  17. Weight increasedweight gain1.8%12
  18. Alanine aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (ALT)1.5%10
  19. Fatiguetiredness1.5%10
  20. Aspartate aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (AST)1.3%9
  21. Anaemialow red blood cells1.2%8

Top 30 of 147 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the cd22-directed immunoconjugate class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death45.9%307
Life-threatening8.7%58
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.8%159
Disability0.9%6
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious52%348
Not serious12%80

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 2,419 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%2
2 to 115.5%37
12 to 172.7%18
18 to 4421.2%142
45 to 6419%127
65 to 7413.6%91
75 and over9%60
Age not given28.7%192

Patient sex

Female36.8%246
Male42.6%285
Not given20.6%138

Who reported

Physician66.7%446
Pharmacist10.3%69
Other health professional10.2%68
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional12.6%84
Not given0.3%2

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 29.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia20931.2%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia recurrent7110.6%
B-cell type acute leukaemia284.2%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia refractory111.6%
B precursor type acute leukaemia81.2%
B-cell prolymphocytic leukaemia81.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 669 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Besponsa reports
Cytarabine426.3%
Methotrexate426.3%
Blincyto284.2%
Ursodiol284.2%
Prednisolone263.9%
Acyclovir253.7%
Cyclophosphamide253.7%
Methotrexate sodium233.4%
Sulfamethoxazole, trimethoprim233.4%
Acetaminophen223.3%

Other products listed in reports where Besponsa is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBesponsaCD22-directed immunoconjugateAll reports
Reports as suspect product6692,41920,646,523
Share of that pool—27.7%0%
Reports, latest 12 months42—1,332,454
Marked serious88%96%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports45934091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports238433213
Consumer-filed share12.6%12.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 20.3%median 14.3%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cd22-directed immunoconjugate class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Inotuzumab ozogamicingeneric1,75013799%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Besponsa reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Besponsa?

669 reports list Besponsa as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 42 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 35 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Besponsa reports?

death (20.3%), neoplasm progression (17%), venoocclusive liver disease (11.8%), off label use (7.2%) and platelet count decreased (6.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Besponsa was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

88% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 45.9% of reports include death and 23.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (66.7%), consumer or non-health professional (12.6%) and pharmacist (10.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Besponsa rising?

42 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 26% from 57 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Besponsa was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Besponsa?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Besponsa as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (35) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.