Reported Reactions

Months

Reports received by FDA, by month

November 2010: adverse event reports received by FDA

39,725 drug reports (FAERS) and 26,144 device reports (MAUDE).

39,725
drug reports received
29,373 a year earlier
38,228
monthly average, preceding 12 months
3.9% against the average
26,144
device reports received
22,320 a year earlier

FDA received 39,725 drug adverse event reports in November 2010, against 29,373 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 38,228 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 26,144 reports that month (22,320 a year earlier).

The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Tysabri (2,420), Victoza (1,115) and Cimzia (1,068), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (2,858), death (2,034) and nausea (2,022).

Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Altace (10.4× its average), Victoza (8.9× its average) and Avodart (7.2× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.

Drug reports by month, three years to November 2010

033,44866,895Dec 2007: 35,3422008Jan 2008: 24,579Feb 2008: 22,882Mar 2008: 26,011Apr 2008: 25,432May 2008: 20,254Jun 2008: 28,281Jul 2008: 26,560Aug 2008: 24,040Sep 2008: 25,008Oct 2008: 24,629Nov 2008: 21,099Dec 2008: 40,8022009Jan 2009: 25,832Feb 2009: 24,373Mar 2009: 24,913Apr 2009: 25,716May 2009: 22,035Jun 2009: 27,447Jul 2009: 28,323Aug 2009: 31,311Sep 2009: 31,075Oct 2009: 28,431Nov 2009: 29,373Dec 2009: 38,9012010Jan 2010: 28,744Feb 2010: 31,674Mar 2010: 34,048Apr 2010: 30,845May 2010: 30,650Jun 2010: 36,404Jul 2010: 66,895Aug 2010: 49,862Sep 2010: 41,794Oct 2010: 39,544Nov 2010: 39,725

Drugs listed most often as suspect products

DrugReportsShare of the month
Tysabri2,4206.1%
Victoza1,1152.8%
Cimzia1,0682.7%
BOTOX Cosmetic9632.4%
Viagra8642.2%
Avandia7852%
Simcor6801.7%
Avonex6761.7%
Remicade5871.5%
Dianeal5301.3%
Lipitor4551.1%
Humira4481.1%
Flector4461.1%
Enbrel4241.1%
Tiotropium bromide3791%

FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Largest rises against their own average

DrugReports this monthTimes its 12-month average
Altace17210.4×
Victoza1,1158.9×
Avodart3517.2×
Etanercept1046.7×
Nuvaring2846.6×
Onglyza2155.4×
Rapaflo595.1×
Coreg935.1×

Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.

Reactions recorded most often

MedDRA termReportsShare of the month
Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2,8587.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2,0345.1%
Nauseafeeling sick2,0225.1%
Fatiguetiredness1,5774%
Headachehead pain1,5403.9%
Vomitingbeing sick1,2563.2%
Dyspnoeashortness of breath1,2553.2%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1,2453.1%
Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1,2283.1%
Painpain, site not specified9872.5%
Astheniaweakness or lack of energy9212.3%
Pyrexiafever8732.2%
Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell8562.2%
Falla fall7962%
Myocardial infarctionheart attack7882%

Devices named most often

BrandReportsShare of device reports
Animas Insulin Infusion Pump3691.4%
Ot Ping Meter2701%
Ot Ultralink Meter2601%
Perclose Proglide 6f Suture Mediated Closure Smc System2561%
Greenlight Addstat2390.9%
One Touch Ping Glucose Management System2390.9%
Renal - Disposable2280.9%
Automated Pd Set W/Cassette4 Prong2080.8%
Integrated Apd Set W/Cassette3-Prong1990.8%
Inratio1790.7%

Questions about November 2010

How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in November 2010?

39,725 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 26,144 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 29,373 drug reports.

Which drugs were listed most often?

Tysabri (2,420), Victoza (1,115), Cimzia (1,068), BOTOX Cosmetic (963) and Viagra (864).

Which reactions were recorded most often?

drug ineffective (2,858), death (2,034), nausea (2,022), fatigue (1,577) and headache (1,540).

Can the count for a month still change?

Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.

Does a busy month mean something happened that month?

Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.