Reported Reactions

Drugs › Tumor necrosis factor blocker

Generic name

Etanercept: adverse event reports filed with FDA

18,397 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Tumor necrosis factor blocker.

18,397
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 818 a year
1,381
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,752 in the 12 months before
96.3%
marked serious by the reporter
56.2% across the class
15%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,751 reports · not verified by FDA

18,397 adverse event reports received by FDA list etanercept, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 2,806 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,381 reports listed it, down 21% from 1,752 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 818 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.7% of the reports for the tumor necrosis factor blocker class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (19.7%), rheumatoid arthritis (12.3%) and off label use (10.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,452 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 19.7% of these reports, a larger share than in the median tumor necrosis factor blocker drug (15.4%).

96.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (56.2% across the class); 15% record death among the outcomes and 36.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 40.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (27.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0117233Jul 2021: 58Aug 2021: 110Sep 2021: 72Oct 2021: 118Nov 2021: 105Dec 2021: 1262022Jan 2022: 94Feb 2022: 107Mar 2022: 191Apr 2022: 100May 2022: 148Jun 2022: 120Jul 2022: 102Aug 2022: 230Sep 2022: 152Oct 2022: 89Nov 2022: 136Dec 2022: 862023Jan 2023: 75Feb 2023: 75Mar 2023: 133Apr 2023: 91May 2023: 144Jun 2023: 138Jul 2023: 107Aug 2023: 115Sep 2023: 154Oct 2023: 233Nov 2023: 136Dec 2023: 1522024Jan 2024: 210Feb 2024: 188Mar 2024: 188Apr 2024: 194May 2024: 150Jun 2024: 117Jul 2024: 179Aug 2024: 146Sep 2024: 125Oct 2024: 186Nov 2024: 113Dec 2024: 1532025Jan 2025: 137Feb 2025: 139Mar 2025: 119Apr 2025: 146May 2025: 127Jun 2025: 182Jul 2025: 166Aug 2025: 131Sep 2025: 167Oct 2025: 139Nov 2025: 100Dec 2025: 1422026Jan 2026: 80Feb 2026: 90Mar 2026: 93Apr 2026: 99May 2026: 89Jun 2026: 85

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09781,9562004: 10820042005: 1612006: 372007: 12020072008: 1502009: 1062010: 32320102011: 4322012: 6212013: 62820132014: 6122015: 5222016: 62920162017: 7702018: 1,3092019: 1,58620192020: 1,9562021: 1,0392022: 1,55520222023: 1,5532024: 1,9492025: 1,69520252026: 536

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Etanercept reports recording the termmedian drug in tumor necrosis factor blocker

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected19.7%3,626
  2. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease12.3%2,272
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label10.2%1,876
  4. Arthralgiajoint pain9.2%1,688
  5. Painpain, site not specified8.8%1,616
  6. Fatiguetiredness7.8%1,432
  7. Nauseafeeling sick7.2%1,319
  8. Headachehead pain6.9%1,278
  9. Rashskin rash6.7%1,235
  10. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse6.6%1,212
  11. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools6.6%1,209
  12. Joint swellinga swollen joint6.5%1,201
  13. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated6.5%1,199
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.8%1,069
  15. Pneumonialung infection5.6%1,036
  16. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine5.5%1,005
  17. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work5.1%946
  18. Alopeciahair loss5.1%941
  19. Vomitingbeing sick5.1%941
  20. Dyspnoeashortness of breath5.1%936
  21. Pyrexiafever4.8%889
  22. Infectionan infection, type not specified4.7%865
  23. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction4.6%851
  24. Musculoskeletal stiffnessstiffness in muscles or joints4.6%849
  25. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort4.5%834
  26. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.4%818

Top 30 of 2,452 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 17 drugs in the tumor necrosis factor blocker class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15%2,751
Life-threatening8.2%1,517
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)36.5%6,714
Disability7.1%1,314
Congenital anomaly3.4%627
Other serious71.2%13,102
Not serious3.7%687

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 1,064,042 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%50
2 to 112.5%466
12 to 173%550
18 to 4414.7%2,703
45 to 6427.3%5,031
65 to 7413.6%2,508
75 and over8.3%1,526
Age not given30.2%5,563

Patient sex

Female58.3%10,717
Male26%4,780
Not given15.8%2,900

Who reported

Physician39.2%7,210
Pharmacist2%372
Other health professional40.7%7,488
Lawyer0%3
Consumer or non-health professional16.1%2,954
Not given2%370

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 11.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis8,00643.5%
Psoriatic arthropathy1,1106%
Psoriasis9064.9%
Juvenile idiopathic arthritis7554.1%
Ankylosing spondylitis7364%
Inflammation2271.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 18,397 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Etanercept reports
Methotrexate7,68441.8%
Adalimumab3,66119.9%
Prednisone3,04616.6%
Leflunomide2,80615.3%
Sulfasalazine2,57314%
Humira2,40013%
Folic acid2,39413%
Rituximab2,33112.7%
Infliximab2,23212.1%
Tocilizumab2,04811.1%

Other products listed in reports where Etanercept is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureEtanerceptTumor necrosis factor blockerAll reports
Reports as suspect product18,3971,064,04220,646,523
Share of that pool—1.7%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,381—1,332,454
Marked serious96.3%56.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1505291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports365182213
Consumer-filed share16.1%32.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 19.7%median 15.4%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the tumor necrosis factor blocker class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Enbrelbrand561,3394,67433.3%
Remicadebrand155,2273,30487.4%
Cimziabrand87,2214,93254.9%
Simponibrand70,4074,80375%
Infliximabgeneric52,5827,09297.3%
Adalimumabgeneric39,3387,36295.7%
Certolizumab pegolgeneric27,3952,23297.2%
Inflectrabrand25,30086383.4%
Hyrimozbrand8,4821,97083.9%
Golimumabgeneric7,16392996.8%
Simponi Ariabrand3,63317031.4%
Renflexisbrand2,06741986.6%
Infliximab-dyybgeneric2,0271,39486.3%
Amjevitabrand1,41633422.5%
Hadlimabrand1,08742861.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Etanercept reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Etanercept?

18,397 reports list Etanercept as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,381 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,806 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Etanercept reports?

drug ineffective (19.7%), rheumatoid arthritis (12.3%), off label use (10.2%), arthralgia (9.2%) and pain (8.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Etanercept was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

96.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15% of reports include death and 36.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (40.7%), physician (39.2%) and consumer or non-health professional (16.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Etanercept rising?

1,381 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 21% from 1,752 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Etanercept was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Etanercept?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Etanercept as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,806) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.