Reported Reactions

Drugs › Cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor

Brand name · Abiraterone acetate

Zytiga: adverse event reports filed with FDA

25,259 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: Cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor. Also reported as Zytiga 250mg, Zytiga Tab 500mg.

25,259
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,639 a year
183
reports, 12 months to June 2026
374 in the 12 months before
63.4%
marked serious by the reporter
68.2% across the class
22.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
5,693 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2011 and June 2026, 25,259 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Zytiga (abiraterone acetate) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,218) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 183 reports listed it, down 51% from 374 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,639 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 67.6% of the reports for the cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (17.8%), therapy cessation (5.5%) and drug ineffective (5.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,138 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 17.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor drug (11.1%).

63.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (68.2% across the class); 22.5% record death among the outcomes and 21% record hospitalisation, as reported. 41.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (29%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0220440Jul 2021: 125Aug 2021: 84Sep 2021: 42Oct 2021: 47Nov 2021: 60Dec 2021: 2082022Jan 2022: 108Feb 2022: 140Mar 2022: 440Apr 2022: 136May 2022: 143Jun 2022: 163Jul 2022: 149Aug 2022: 144Sep 2022: 172Oct 2022: 156Nov 2022: 124Dec 2022: 1442023Jan 2023: 58Feb 2023: 59Mar 2023: 48Apr 2023: 116May 2023: 44Jun 2023: 40Jul 2023: 35Aug 2023: 39Sep 2023: 90Oct 2023: 41Nov 2023: 33Dec 2023: 422024Jan 2024: 42Feb 2024: 43Mar 2024: 52Apr 2024: 39May 2024: 38Jun 2024: 28Jul 2024: 36Aug 2024: 42Sep 2024: 41Oct 2024: 39Nov 2024: 43Dec 2024: 122025Jan 2025: 31Feb 2025: 17Mar 2025: 38Apr 2025: 34May 2025: 22Jun 2025: 19Jul 2025: 12Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 14Oct 2025: 18Nov 2025: 21Dec 2025: 282026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 14Mar 2026: 17Apr 2026: 22May 2026: 9Jun 2026: 12

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,1064,2122011: 14120112012: 4442013: 73120132014: 8832015: 2,16920152016: 1,8062017: 2,93220172018: 4,1772019: 4,21220192020: 2,9532021: 1,34820212022: 2,0192023: 64520232024: 4552025: 26120252026: 83

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Zytiga reports recording the termmedian drug in cytochrome p450 17a1 inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term17.8%4,497
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.4%1,367
  3. Fatiguetiredness5.2%1,306
  4. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital3.2%807
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.7%689
  6. Hot flusha hot flush2.7%679
  7. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.4%615
  8. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.3%571
  9. Nauseafeeling sick2.1%538
  10. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed2.1%533
  11. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.9%489
  12. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.7%442
  13. Falla fall1.7%438
  14. Incorrect dose administeredthe wrong dose was given1.7%429
  15. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.7%422
  16. Decreased appetitereduced appetite1.6%411
  17. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.6%404
  18. Weight decreasedweight loss1.6%397
  19. Pneumonialung infection1.5%382
  20. Hypokalaemialow blood potassium1.5%376
  21. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.4%363
  22. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing1.4%352
  23. Vomitingbeing sick1.4%352
  24. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection1.4%349
  25. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.3%336
  26. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands1.3%333
  27. Prostate cancer metastatic1.3%327

Top 30 of 1,138 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 3 drugs in the cytochrome p450 17a1 inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death22.5%5,693
Life-threatening1.7%427
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)21%5,308
Disability0.5%134
Congenital anomaly0%2
Other serious27.9%7,045
Not serious36.6%9,257

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 37,351 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%7
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%1
18 to 440.2%39
45 to 647.5%1,903
65 to 7415.6%3,948
75 and over29%7,332
Age not given47.6%12,029

Patient sex

Female0.5%119
Male95.5%24,113
Not given4.1%1,027

Who reported

Physician18.5%4,668
Pharmacist17.2%4,335
Other health professional19.6%4,940
Lawyer0%5
Consumer or non-health professional41.1%10,369
Not given3.7%942

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 74.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Prostate cancer7,78530.8%
Prostate cancer metastatic2,1858.7%
Hormone-refractory prostate cancer6962.8%
Neoplasm malignant2130.8%
Hormone-dependent prostate cancer1110.4%
Prostate cancer stage iv460.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 25,259 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Zytiga reports
Prednisone4,07516.1%
Prednisolone1,5816.3%
Lupron7503%
Aspirin6402.5%
Lisinopril4811.9%
Amlodipine4581.8%
Xgeva4491.8%
Atorvastatin4291.7%
Xtandi3871.5%
Tamsulosin3681.5%

Other products listed in reports where Zytiga is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureZytigaCytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product25,25937,35120,646,523
Share of that pool—67.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months183—1,332,454
Marked serious63.4%68.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports22520691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports210270213
Consumer-filed share41.1%32.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 17.8%median 11.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cytochrome p450 17a1 inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Abirateronegeneric6,43661569.9%
Abiraterone acetategeneric5,65645688.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Zytiga reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Zytiga?

25,259 reports list Zytiga as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 183 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,218 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Zytiga reports?

death (17.8%), therapy cessation (5.5%), drug ineffective (5.4%), fatigue (5.2%) and prostatic specific antigen increased (5.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Zytiga was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

63.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 22.5% of reports include death and 21% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (41.1%), other health professional (19.6%) and physician (18.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Zytiga rising?

183 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 51% from 374 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Zytiga was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Zytiga?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Zytiga as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,218) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.