Reported Reactions

Drugs › Cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor

Generic name

Abiraterone: adverse event reports filed with FDA

6,436 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: Cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor. Also reported as Abiraterone Tab 250mg, Abiraterone 250mg Tab, Abiraterone 250mg.

6,436
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 420 a year
615
reports, 12 months to June 2026
523 in the 12 months before
69.9%
marked serious by the reporter
68.2% across the class
14.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
920 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2011 and June 2026, 6,436 adverse event reports received by FDA list abiraterone, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,664) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 615 reports listed it, up 18% from 523 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 420 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 17.2% of the reports for the cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (10.8%), fatigue (7.4%) and disease progression (6.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 710 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 10.8% of these reports, about the same share as in the median cytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitor drug (11.1%).

69.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (68.2% across the class); 14.3% record death among the outcomes and 31.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 24.1% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (37.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0100200Jul 2021: 68Aug 2021: 103Sep 2021: 101Oct 2021: 110Nov 2021: 141Dec 2021: 942022Jan 2022: 100Feb 2022: 99Mar 2022: 124Apr 2022: 99May 2022: 133Jun 2022: 95Jul 2022: 106Aug 2022: 120Sep 2022: 107Oct 2022: 113Nov 2022: 121Dec 2022: 1142023Jan 2023: 104Feb 2023: 102Mar 2023: 135Apr 2023: 112May 2023: 107Jun 2023: 134Jul 2023: 92Aug 2023: 85Sep 2023: 200Oct 2023: 47Nov 2023: 50Dec 2023: 662024Jan 2024: 38Feb 2024: 35Mar 2024: 42Apr 2024: 34May 2024: 50Jun 2024: 49Jul 2024: 62Aug 2024: 50Sep 2024: 55Oct 2024: 37Nov 2024: 40Dec 2024: 442025Jan 2025: 32Feb 2025: 37Mar 2025: 61Apr 2025: 36May 2025: 26Jun 2025: 43Jul 2025: 61Aug 2025: 39Sep 2025: 31Oct 2025: 35Nov 2025: 34Dec 2025: 752026Jan 2026: 35Feb 2026: 70Mar 2026: 47Apr 2026: 37May 2026: 108Jun 2026: 43

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

06661,3312011: 1920112012: 242013: 2620132014: 432015: 7420152016: 772017: 7520172018: 1072019: 58120192020: 5542021: 90520212022: 1,3312023: 1,23420232024: 5362025: 51020252026: 340

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Abiraterone reports recording the termmedian drug in cytochrome p450 17a1 inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.8%696
  2. Fatiguetiredness7.4%478
  3. Disease progressionthe disease advanced6.1%393
  4. Hot flusha hot flush4.4%281
  5. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.3%278
  6. Falla fall3.4%221
  7. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.4%216
  8. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines3.2%209
  9. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.7%176
  10. Rhabdomyolysismuscle breakdown2.5%160
  11. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection2.5%160
  12. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.2%140
  13. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.2%139
  14. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.1%136
  15. Nauseafeeling sick2%130
  16. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure2%127
  17. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%125
  18. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.9%121
  19. Hypokalaemialow blood potassium1.8%114
  20. Anaemialow red blood cells1.6%104
  21. Painpain, site not specified1.6%104
  22. Pneumonialung infection1.6%102
  23. Prostate cancer metastatic1.5%96
  24. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm1.4%92
  25. Arthralgiajoint pain1.4%90

Top 30 of 710 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 3 drugs in the cytochrome p450 17a1 inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death14.3%920
Life-threatening3.2%205
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.2%2,011
Disability0.8%49
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious33.6%2,160
Not serious30.1%1,936

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 37,351 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%1
18 to 440.1%6
45 to 6412%771
65 to 7425.1%1,614
75 and over37.9%2,442
Age not given24.9%1,601

Patient sex

Female0.6%37
Male94.5%6,081
Not given4.9%318

Who reported

Physician16.3%1,047
Pharmacist11.2%723
Other health professional24.1%1,549
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional14.6%939
Not given33.8%2,178

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 73% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Prostate cancer2,67241.5%
Prostate cancer metastatic5939.2%
Hormone-refractory prostate cancer3405.3%
Hormone-dependent prostate cancer1041.6%
Prostate cancer stage iv330.5%
Neoplasm malignant220.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 6,436 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Abiraterone reports
Prednisone1,67726.1%
Prednisolone5148%
Aspirin4246.6%
Docetaxel3886%
Enzalutamide3866%
Atorvastatin3124.8%
Amlodipine2924.5%
Bicalutamide2844.4%
Ergocalciferol2724.2%
Tamsulosin2684.2%

Other products listed in reports where Abiraterone is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAbirateroneCytochrome P450 17A1 inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product6,43637,35120,646,523
Share of that pool—17.2%0%
Reports, latest 12 months615—1,332,454
Marked serious69.9%68.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports14320691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports312270213
Consumer-filed share14.6%32.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 10.8%median 11.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cytochrome p450 17a1 inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Zytigabrand25,25918363.4%
Abiraterone acetategeneric5,65645688.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Abiraterone reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Abiraterone?

6,436 reports list Abiraterone as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 615 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,664 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Abiraterone reports?

death (10.8%), fatigue (7.4%), disease progression (6.1%), hot flush (4.4%) and prostatic specific antigen increased (4.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Abiraterone was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

69.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 14.3% of reports include death and 31.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

not given (33.8%), other health professional (24.1%) and physician (16.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Abiraterone rising?

615 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 18% from 523 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Abiraterone was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Abiraterone?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Abiraterone as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,664) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.