Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Vinblastine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,765 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Vinblastine /00115802/.

4,765
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 213 a year
314
reports, 12 months to June 2026
457 in the 12 months before
95.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
21.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,017 reports · not verified by FDA

4,765 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Vinblastine" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2004 to June 2026. A further 924 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 314 reports listed it, down 31% from 457 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 213 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are off label use (9.8%), febrile neutropenia (8.9%) and neutropenia (7.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 884 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 9.8% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

95.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 21.3% record death among the outcomes and 26.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 49.2% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (25.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04385Jul 2021: 28Aug 2021: 16Sep 2021: 42Oct 2021: 21Nov 2021: 18Dec 2021: 312022Jan 2022: 25Feb 2022: 26Mar 2022: 45Apr 2022: 18May 2022: 50Jun 2022: 39Jul 2022: 22Aug 2022: 14Sep 2022: 20Oct 2022: 19Nov 2022: 27Dec 2022: 152023Jan 2023: 30Feb 2023: 40Mar 2023: 53Apr 2023: 30May 2023: 21Jun 2023: 34Jul 2023: 33Aug 2023: 55Sep 2023: 25Oct 2023: 13Nov 2023: 25Dec 2023: 332024Jan 2024: 35Feb 2024: 12Mar 2024: 29Apr 2024: 17May 2024: 23Jun 2024: 29Jul 2024: 71Aug 2024: 55Sep 2024: 85Oct 2024: 52Nov 2024: 38Dec 2024: 352025Jan 2025: 16Feb 2025: 14Mar 2025: 21Apr 2025: 29May 2025: 15Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 30Aug 2025: 30Sep 2025: 24Oct 2025: 26Nov 2025: 20Dec 2025: 122026Jan 2026: 67Feb 2026: 12Mar 2026: 18Apr 2026: 21May 2026: 11Jun 2026: 43

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02414822004: 620042005: 412006: 132007: 520072008: 22009: 402010: 1520102011: 462012: 1072013: 11920132014: 1262015: 2552016: 26320162017: 3622018: 4692019: 45720192020: 4822021: 3292022: 32020222023: 3922024: 4812025: 26320252026: 172

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Vinblastine reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.8%465
  2. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells8.9%422
  3. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell7.3%350
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.5%308
  5. Disease progressionthe disease advanced4.9%235
  6. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label4.9%234
  7. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet4.6%220
  8. Pyrexiafever4.1%194
  9. Nauseafeeling sick3.6%171
  10. Vomitingbeing sick3.4%161
  11. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3.2%153
  12. Thrombocytopenialow platelets3%143
  13. Hodgkin's disease2.9%139
  14. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.9%136
  15. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.8%135
  16. Pneumonialung infection2.7%130
  17. Anaemialow red blood cells2.7%127
  18. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.6%126
  19. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.6%122
  20. Fatiguetiredness2.5%120
  21. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances2.1%98
  22. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work1.9%91
  23. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain1.9%89
  24. Constipationconstipation1.8%84
  25. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.8%84
  26. Disease recurrencethe disease came back1.6%78

Top 30 of 884 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.3%1,017
Life-threatening7.4%351
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)26.6%1,268
Disability1.6%76
Congenital anomaly0.6%28
Other serious72.9%3,474
Not serious4.7%223

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.7%131
2 to 115.1%245
12 to 173.5%168
18 to 4425.4%1,212
45 to 6413.9%660
65 to 747.3%348
75 and over3.1%147
Age not given38.9%1,854

Patient sex

Female32.2%1,532
Male37.8%1,800
Not given30.1%1,433

Who reported

Physician41.8%1,993
Pharmacist2.5%119
Other health professional49.2%2,345
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional4.4%211
Not given2%96

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 39.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hodgkin's disease2,36849.7%
Langerhans' cell histiocytosis1423%
Hodgkin's disease751.6%
Bladder cancer681.4%
Transitional cell carcinoma671.4%
Chemotherapy531.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,765 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Vinblastine reports
Dacarbazine3,03163.6%
Doxorubicin2,09744%
Bleomycin1,93840.7%
Etoposide1,02121.4%
Doxorubicin hydrochloride99020.8%
Cyclophosphamide89018.7%
Prednisone80817%
Cisplatin80716.9%
Vincristine74815.7%
Adcetris62613.1%

Other products listed in reports where Vinblastine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureVinblastineAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,76520,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months3141,332,454
Marked serious95.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports266213
Consumer-filed share4.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 9.8%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Vinblastine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Vinblastine?

4,765 reports list Vinblastine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 314 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 924 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Vinblastine reports?

off label use (9.8%), febrile neutropenia (8.9%), neutropenia (7.3%), drug ineffective (6.5%) and disease progression (4.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Vinblastine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.3% of reports include death and 26.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (49.2%), physician (41.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (4.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Vinblastine rising?

314 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 31% from 457 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Vinblastine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Vinblastine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Vinblastine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (924) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.