Reported Reactions

Drugs › Central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist

Generic name

Tizanidine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,259 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist. Also reported as Tizanidine Tablets Usp, Tizanidine /00740702/, Tizanidine 4mg.

4,259
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 195 a year
376
reports, 12 months to June 2026
192 in the 12 months before
69.8%
marked serious by the reporter
75.5% across the class
26.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,117 reports · not verified by FDA

4,259 adverse event reports received by FDA list tizanidine, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2004 to June 2026. A further 20,656 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 376 reports listed it, up 96% from 192 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 195 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 13.4% of the reports for the central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are completed suicide (14.6%), toxicity to various agents (9.6%) and drug ineffective (8.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 796 different terms appear across these reports. Completed suicide is recorded in 14.6% of these reports, a larger share than in the median central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist drug (1%).

69.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (75.5% across the class); 26.2% record death among the outcomes and 31.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 36.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (36.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04589Jul 2021: 24Aug 2021: 20Sep 2021: 22Oct 2021: 20Nov 2021: 21Dec 2021: 192022Jan 2022: 37Feb 2022: 36Mar 2022: 33Apr 2022: 11May 2022: 12Jun 2022: 21Jul 2022: 11Aug 2022: 14Sep 2022: 19Oct 2022: 13Nov 2022: 28Dec 2022: 152023Jan 2023: 26Feb 2023: 30Mar 2023: 31Apr 2023: 19May 2023: 16Jun 2023: 21Jul 2023: 23Aug 2023: 17Sep 2023: 14Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 272024Jan 2024: 43Feb 2024: 20Mar 2024: 22Apr 2024: 22May 2024: 24Jun 2024: 9Jul 2024: 13Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 11Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 102025Jan 2025: 46Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 36Apr 2025: 17May 2025: 22Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 27Aug 2025: 24Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 15Dec 2025: 162026Jan 2026: 89Feb 2026: 79Mar 2026: 32Apr 2026: 27May 2026: 24Jun 2026: 29

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02244482004: 820042005: 42006: 22007: 220072009: 12010: 142011: 4320112012: 252013: 1212014: 22520142015: 3712016: 4232017: 39820172018: 4482019: 3122020: 31520202021: 3452022: 2502023: 24420232024: 1972025: 2312026: 2802026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tizanidine reports recording the termmedian drug in central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist

  1. Completed suicidedeath by suicide14.6%621
  2. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances9.6%407
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected8.5%363
  4. Somnolencedrowsiness8.5%362
  5. Hypotensionlow blood pressure5.8%245
  6. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines5.7%244
  7. Falla fall5.6%239
  8. Fatiguetiredness5.4%232
  9. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness5.1%216
  10. Coma4.2%178
  11. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking4.1%176
  12. Nauseafeeling sick4.1%173
  13. Pneumonia aspirationlung infection from breathing in material3.9%164
  14. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine3.5%150
  15. Painpain, site not specified3.5%149
  16. Suspected suicide3.2%138
  17. Headachehead pain3.2%136
  18. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.2%135
  19. Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps3.1%134
  20. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped3%127
  21. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.8%121
  22. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.8%118
  23. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.8%118
  24. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection2.7%117
  25. Multiple sclerosis relapsea flare of multiple sclerosis2.7%115
  26. Vomitingbeing sick2.7%114
  27. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.6%109
  28. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount2.5%106

Top 30 of 796 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 13 drugs in the central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death26.2%1,117
Life-threatening3.6%153
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.5%1,341
Disability2%86
Congenital anomaly0.3%14
Other serious39.5%1,684
Not serious30.2%1,286

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 31,745 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%13
2 to 110.5%21
12 to 170.8%36
18 to 4420%853
45 to 6436.7%1,563
65 to 7410.3%440
75 and over4.1%173
Age not given27.2%1,160

Patient sex

Female66.2%2,821
Male25.8%1,098
Not given8%340

Who reported

Physician28%1,194
Pharmacist7.1%303
Other health professional25.2%1,073
Lawyer0.1%6
Consumer or non-health professional36.7%1,562
Not given2.8%121

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 83.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Muscle spasms2295.4%
Back pain972.3%
Muscle spasticity831.9%
Pain731.7%
Suicide attempt641.5%
Muscle relaxant therapy631.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,259 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Tizanidine reports
Ampyra87420.5%
Gabapentin82719.4%
Baclofen81519.1%
Clonazepam3728.7%
Lyrica3267.7%
Ergocalciferol3027.1%
Duloxetine2626.2%
Tramadol2576%
Cymbalta2566%
Alprazolam2355.5%

Other products listed in reports where Tizanidine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTizanidineCentral alpha-2 adrenergic agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,25931,74520,646,523
Share of that pool—13.4%0%
Reports, latest 12 months376—1,332,454
Marked serious69.8%75.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports26216291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports315304213
Consumer-filed share36.7%27.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCompleted suicide 14.6%median 1%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the central alpha-2 adrenergic agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Clonidinegeneric11,71271379.2%
Methyldopageneric2,65913895.8%
Intunivbrand2,1804875.8%
Clonidine hydrochloridegeneric1,84226077.8%
Dexmedetomidinegeneric1,65316093.2%
Guanfacinegeneric1,44521461.7%
Dexmedetomidine hydrochloridegeneric1,43613498%
Zanaflexbrand1,1661054.5%
Tizanidine hydrochloridegeneric1,05110480.3%
Clonidine transdermal systemgeneric8738615%
Catapres-TTS-1brand871018%
Precedexbrand5982078.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Tizanidine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tizanidine?

4,259 reports list Tizanidine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 376 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 20,656 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tizanidine reports?

completed suicide (14.6%), toxicity to various agents (9.6%), drug ineffective (8.5%), somnolence (8.5%) and hypotension (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tizanidine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

69.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 26.2% of reports include death and 31.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (36.7%), physician (28%) and other health professional (25.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tizanidine rising?

376 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 96% from 192 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tizanidine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tizanidine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tizanidine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (20,656) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.