Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Capmatinib

Tabrecta: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,918 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2019–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

1,918
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 281 a year
70
reports, 12 months to June 2026
113 in the 12 months before
53.8%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
22.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
432 reports · not verified by FDA

Between September 2019 and June 2026, 1,918 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Tabrecta (capmatinib) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (24) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 70 reports listed it, down 38% from 113 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 281 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.2% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (17.7%), peripheral swelling (14.7%) and fatigue (12.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 289 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 17.7% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

53.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 22.5% record death among the outcomes and 13.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 59.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (12.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03060Jul 2021: 43Aug 2021: 55Sep 2021: 47Oct 2021: 37Nov 2021: 35Dec 2021: 602022Jan 2022: 29Feb 2022: 34Mar 2022: 55Apr 2022: 53May 2022: 45Jun 2022: 54Jul 2022: 39Aug 2022: 32Sep 2022: 41Oct 2022: 35Nov 2022: 33Dec 2022: 432023Jan 2023: 42Feb 2023: 41Mar 2023: 37Apr 2023: 33May 2023: 49Jun 2023: 48Jul 2023: 47Aug 2023: 41Sep 2023: 29Oct 2023: 28Nov 2023: 27Dec 2023: 222024Jan 2024: 15Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 13Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 13Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 142025Jan 2025: 7Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 11Apr 2025: 7May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 10Jul 2025: 7Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 7May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02635252019: 120192020: 21320202021: 52520212022: 49320222023: 44420232024: 11920242025: 9320252026: 302026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tabrecta reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term17.7%340
  2. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs14.7%282
  3. Fatiguetiredness12.6%242
  4. Nauseafeeling sick11.1%213
  5. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands9.9%189
  6. Dyspnoeashortness of breath6.3%121
  7. Oedemaswelling from fluid5.7%110
  8. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy5.3%101
  9. Joint swellinga swollen joint4.7%90
  10. Decreased appetitereduced appetite4.4%84
  11. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing4.1%78
  12. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed4%76
  13. Vomitingbeing sick3.7%71
  14. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.6%69
  15. Swellingswelling3%58
  16. Coughcough2.9%56
  17. Blood creatinine increasedraised creatinine, a kidney test2.8%53
  18. Fluid retentionthe body holding extra fluid2.7%52
  19. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung2.5%48
  20. Non-small cell lung cancer2.3%45
  21. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.3%44
  22. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.3%44
  23. Hypoacusisreduced hearing2.3%44
  24. Back painback pain2.1%41
  25. Painpain, site not specified2.1%40
  26. Rashskin rash2.1%40
  27. Weight increasedweight gain2%39

Top 30 of 289 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death22.5%432
Life-threatening1.1%22
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)13.8%265
Disability1%20
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious26.1%501
Not serious46.2%887

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.1%1
12 to 170%0
18 to 440.5%10
45 to 644.7%90
65 to 748.9%171
75 and over12.5%239
Age not given73.4%1,407

Patient sex

Female50.5%969
Male39.3%753
Not given10.2%196

Who reported

Physician20.8%398
Pharmacist4%77
Other health professional10.8%207
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional59.5%1,142
Not given4.9%94

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 86.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Lung neoplasm malignant38119.9%
Non-small cell lung cancer35518.5%
Non-small cell lung cancer metastatic723.8%
Lung carcinoma cell type unspecified stage 0562.9%
Neoplasm malignant150.8%
Non-small cell lung cancer stage iv150.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,918 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Tabrecta reports
Eliquis412.1%
Acetaminophen291.5%
Folic acid291.5%
Calcium241.3%
Levothyroxine221.1%
Omeprazole221.1%
Aspirin201%
Vitamin d201%
Atorvastatin180.9%
Furosemide180.9%

Other products listed in reports where Tabrecta is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTabrectaKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,918849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Reports, latest 12 months70—1,332,454
Marked serious53.8%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports22519091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports138264213
Consumer-filed share59.5%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 17.7%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Tabrecta reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tabrecta?

1,918 reports list Tabrecta as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 70 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 24 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tabrecta reports?

death (17.7%), peripheral swelling (14.7%), fatigue (12.6%), nausea (11.1%) and oedema peripheral (9.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tabrecta was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

53.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 22.5% of reports include death and 13.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (59.5%), physician (20.8%) and other health professional (10.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tabrecta rising?

70 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 38% from 113 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tabrecta was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tabrecta?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tabrecta as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (24) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.