Reported Reactions

Drugs › Antiparasitic

Brand name · Ivermectin

Stromectol: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,767 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Antiparasitic.

1,767
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 79 a year
19
reports, 12 months to June 2026
43 in the 12 months before
81.3%
marked serious by the reporter
55.8% across the class
12.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
220 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and April 2026, 1,767 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Stromectol (ivermectin) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (103) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 19 reports listed it, down 56% from 43 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 79 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 39.1% of the reports for the antiparasitic class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded asthenia (25.6%), headache (25%) and pyrexia (19.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 313 different terms appear across these reports. Asthenia is recorded in 25.6% of these reports, a larger share than in the median antiparasitic drug (2.2%).

81.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (55.8% across the class); 12.5% record death among the outcomes and 63% record hospitalisation, as reported. 63% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (37.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01121Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 10Sep 2021: 21Oct 2021: 10Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 17Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 11Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 42025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01783552004: 8820042005: 562006: 3552007: 9420072008: 1772009: 702010: 13520102011: 412012: 622013: 5620132014: 552015: 462016: 3820162017: 492018: 662019: 5720192020: 292021: 862022: 7520222023: 542024: 412025: 3220252026: 5

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Stromectol reports recording the termmedian drug in antiparasitic

  1. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy25.6%452
  2. Headachehead pain25%442
  3. Pyrexiafever19.9%351
  4. Ocular hyperaemiaa red eye13.4%236
  5. Conjunctival haemorrhage12.7%224
  6. Coma11.3%200
  7. Vertigoa spinning sensation10.6%187
  8. Back painback pain10.3%182
  9. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label9.1%161
  10. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools9%159
  11. Arthralgiajoint pain7.2%128
  12. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking6.5%115
  13. Pruritusitching6.3%111
  14. Urinary incontinenceleaking urine6.1%108
  15. Vomitingbeing sick4.8%84
  16. Myalgiamuscle pain4.7%83
  17. Chillschills or shivering4.1%73
  18. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.1%73
  19. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.9%69
  20. Abnormal behaviourunusual behaviour3.8%67
  21. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported3.3%59
  22. Loss of consciousnesspassing out3.1%54
  23. Hypotensionlow blood pressure2.8%50
  24. Agitationrestlessness2.7%48
  25. Painpain, site not specified2.5%44
  26. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.4%43
  27. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.4%43
  28. Malaria2.4%43

Top 30 of 313 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 4 drugs in the antiparasitic class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.5%220
Life-threatening4.1%73
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)63%1,114
Disability4.8%85
Congenital anomaly0.2%3
Other serious15.7%277
Not serious18.7%330

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 4,517 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%3
2 to 112%35
12 to 173.5%61
18 to 4437.9%669
45 to 6419.6%347
65 to 747.4%130
75 and over13.5%239
Age not given16%283

Patient sex

Female38.7%684
Male56.3%995
Not given5%88

Who reported

Physician63%1,114
Pharmacist6.5%114
Other health professional19%335
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional10.6%187
Not given1%17

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 24.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acarodermatitis35920.3%
Onchocerciasis24714%
Strongyloidiasis915.1%
Covid-19492.8%
Prophylaxis321.8%
Infection parasitic130.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,767 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Stromectol reports
Prednisone311.8%
Pantoprazole261.5%
Lasix201.1%
Alprazolam181%
Aspirin160.9%
Bactrim160.9%
Doliprane160.9%
Prednisolone160.9%
Dexamethasone150.8%
Doxycycline150.8%

Other products listed in reports where Stromectol is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureStromectolAntiparasiticAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,7674,51720,646,523
Share of that pool—39.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months19—1,332,454
Marked serious81.3%55.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1258791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports630364213
Consumer-filed share10.6%33.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsAsthenia 25.6%median 2.2%1.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the antiparasitic class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ivermectingeneric1,57733764%
Soolantrabrand657510%
Sklicebrand51621.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Stromectol reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Stromectol?

1,767 reports list Stromectol as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 19 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 103 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Stromectol reports?

asthenia (25.6%), headache (25%), pyrexia (19.9%), ocular hyperaemia (13.4%) and conjunctival haemorrhage (12.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Stromectol was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

81.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.5% of reports include death and 63% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (63%), other health professional (19%) and consumer or non-health professional (10.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Stromectol rising?

19 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 56% from 43 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Stromectol was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Stromectol?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Stromectol as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (103) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.