Reported Reactions

Drugs › Tetracycline-class drug

Generic name

Doxycycline: adverse event reports filed with FDA

19,652 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Tetracycline-class drug. Also reported as Doxycycline Tablets, Doxycycline For Injection, Doxycycline 100mg Oral Capsules Usp.

19,652
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 874 a year
2,103
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,749 in the 12 months before
85.6%
marked serious by the reporter
80.6% across the class
10.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,084 reports · not verified by FDA

19,652 adverse event reports received by FDA list doxycycline, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 31,699 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 2,103 reports listed it, down 23% from 2,749 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 874 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 54.1% of the reports for the tetracycline-class drug class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (12.9%), off label use (9.6%) and vomiting (7.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,209 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 12.9% of these reports, about the same share as in the median tetracycline-class drug drug (13%).

85.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (80.6% across the class); 10.6% record death among the outcomes and 34.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 42.5% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (27.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0159318Jul 2021: 107Aug 2021: 94Sep 2021: 108Oct 2021: 96Nov 2021: 104Dec 2021: 932022Jan 2022: 117Feb 2022: 104Mar 2022: 217Apr 2022: 140May 2022: 170Jun 2022: 132Jul 2022: 105Aug 2022: 176Sep 2022: 157Oct 2022: 120Nov 2022: 142Dec 2022: 1212023Jan 2023: 224Feb 2023: 170Mar 2023: 146Apr 2023: 221May 2023: 223Jun 2023: 220Jul 2023: 302Aug 2023: 254Sep 2023: 223Oct 2023: 221Nov 2023: 184Dec 2023: 1182024Jan 2024: 224Feb 2024: 156Mar 2024: 191Apr 2024: 198May 2024: 318Jun 2024: 178Jul 2024: 290Aug 2024: 223Sep 2024: 196Oct 2024: 317Nov 2024: 232Dec 2024: 2392025Jan 2025: 295Feb 2025: 175Mar 2025: 210Apr 2025: 195May 2025: 160Jun 2025: 217Jul 2025: 313Aug 2025: 229Sep 2025: 196Oct 2025: 103Nov 2025: 133Dec 2025: 2102026Jan 2026: 200Feb 2026: 111Mar 2026: 176Apr 2026: 179May 2026: 141Jun 2026: 112

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,3812,7622004: 5520042005: 802006: 1062007: 12320072008: 1522009: 1522010: 17920102011: 1872012: 2912013: 38920132014: 5762015: 6502016: 84920162017: 8842018: 9002019: 1,26520192020: 1,2512021: 1,2392022: 1,70120222023: 2,5062024: 2,7622025: 2,43620252026: 919

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Doxycycline reports recording the termmedian drug in tetracycline-class drug

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected12.9%2,543
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.6%1,892
  3. Vomitingbeing sick7.7%1,517
  4. Rashskin rash7.7%1,513
  5. Nauseafeeling sick7.7%1,511
  6. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse6.4%1,257
  7. Headachehead pain6.1%1,198
  8. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine6%1,185
  9. Fatiguetiredness5.9%1,162
  10. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.9%1,157
  11. Dyspnoeashortness of breath5.8%1,134
  12. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools5.5%1,077
  13. Pruritusitching5.3%1,038
  14. Pyrexiafever4.9%954
  15. Infectionan infection, type not specified4.8%953
  16. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work4.7%929
  17. Painpain, site not specified4.7%921
  18. Arthralgiajoint pain4.6%898
  19. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction4.5%880
  20. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort4.4%860
  21. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease4.2%816
  22. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label4.1%809
  23. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.1%801
  24. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure4%784
  25. Wheezingwheezing3.9%757
  26. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated3.8%754
  27. Hypoaesthesianumbness3.8%754
  28. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain3.8%747
  29. Joint swellinga swollen joint3.7%719
  30. Urticariahives3.6%700

Top 30 of 2,209 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the tetracycline-class drug class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death10.6%2,084
Life-threatening11.2%2,200
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)34.7%6,823
Disability9.5%1,863
Congenital anomaly1.7%342
Other serious64.1%12,596
Not serious14.4%2,824

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 36,316 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%41
2 to 110.8%149
12 to 173%597
18 to 4427.1%5,329
45 to 6421.4%4,198
65 to 7411.4%2,236
75 and over11%2,159
Age not given25.2%4,943

Patient sex

Female52.8%10,367
Male34.3%6,739
Not given13%2,546

Who reported

Physician28.8%5,667
Pharmacist6.5%1,283
Other health professional42.5%8,355
Lawyer0.1%21
Consumer or non-health professional19.3%3,802
Not given2.7%524

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 39.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acne8054.1%
Lower respiratory tract infection5052.6%
Lyme disease3561.8%
Hidradenitis3211.6%
Ill-defined disorder3051.6%
Pneumonia2901.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 19,652 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Doxycycline reports
Prednisone2,42912.4%
Methotrexate2,02010.3%
Acetaminophen1,6128.2%
Folic acid1,4857.6%
Rituximab1,4837.5%
Hydroxychloroquine1,3646.9%
Leflunomide1,3056.6%
Humira1,2876.5%
Sulfasalazine1,2596.4%
Mycophenolate mofetil1,1856%

Other products listed in reports where Doxycycline is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureDoxycyclineTetracycline-class drugAll reports
Reports as suspect product19,65236,31620,646,523
Share of that pool—54.1%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months2,103—1,332,454
Marked serious85.6%80.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports10616491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports347343213
Consumer-filed share19.3%19.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 12.9%median 13%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the tetracycline-class drug class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Doxycycline hyclategeneric6,80762060.8%
Minocyclinegeneric5,80143485.5%
Minocycline hydrochloridegeneric2,68841994.6%
Doxycycline monohydrategeneric725085.9%
Arestinbrand6432126.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Doxycycline reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Doxycycline?

19,652 reports list Doxycycline as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 2,103 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 31,699 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Doxycycline reports?

drug ineffective (12.9%), off label use (9.6%), vomiting (7.7%), rash (7.7%) and nausea (7.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Doxycycline was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

85.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 10.6% of reports include death and 34.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (42.5%), physician (28.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (19.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Doxycycline rising?

2,103 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 23% from 2,749 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Doxycycline was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Doxycycline?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Doxycycline as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (31,699) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.