Reported Reactions

Drugs › Phenothiazine

Generic name

Promethazine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,503 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Phenothiazine. Also reported as Promethazine /00033002/, Promethazine 25mg.

5,503
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 245 a year
264
reports, 12 months to June 2026
282 in the 12 months before
92.7%
marked serious by the reporter
87.8% across the class
41.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,275 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 5,503 adverse event reports received by FDA list promethazine, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (25,784) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 264 reports listed it, close to the 282 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 245 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 35% of the reports for the phenothiazine class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are toxicity to various agents (19%), completed suicide (12%) and drug abuse (10.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,011 different terms appear across these reports. Toxicity to various agents is recorded in 19% of these reports, a larger share than in the median phenothiazine drug (9.4%).

92.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (87.8% across the class); 41.3% record death among the outcomes and 33.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 34.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (37.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03059Jul 2021: 24Aug 2021: 22Sep 2021: 22Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 17Dec 2021: 332022Jan 2022: 36Feb 2022: 30Mar 2022: 31Apr 2022: 18May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 21Jul 2022: 17Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 16Oct 2022: 25Nov 2022: 18Dec 2022: 232023Jan 2023: 35Feb 2023: 59Mar 2023: 15Apr 2023: 12May 2023: 34Jun 2023: 25Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 16Sep 2023: 17Oct 2023: 31Nov 2023: 28Dec 2023: 342024Jan 2024: 26Feb 2024: 24Mar 2024: 48Apr 2024: 26May 2024: 14Jun 2024: 16Jul 2024: 20Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 17Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 23Dec 2024: 232025Jan 2025: 31Feb 2025: 12Mar 2025: 20Apr 2025: 49May 2025: 41Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 20Aug 2025: 25Sep 2025: 11Oct 2025: 17Nov 2025: 14Dec 2025: 132026Jan 2026: 22Feb 2026: 11Mar 2026: 49Apr 2026: 48May 2026: 16Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02204392004: 7920042005: 1102006: 1012007: 7920072008: 1322009: 1652010: 17120102011: 1602012: 1472013: 34920132014: 3822015: 3512016: 24420162017: 3272018: 3622019: 43920192020: 3472021: 2932022: 24920222023: 3162024: 2672025: 26920252026: 164

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Promethazine reports recording the termmedian drug in phenothiazine

  1. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances19%1,043
  2. Completed suicidedeath by suicide12%661
  3. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine10.1%555
  4. Intentional overdosea deliberate overdose6.2%340
  5. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines5.6%310
  6. Nauseafeeling sick5.4%296
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.1%283
  8. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount4.9%271
  9. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped4.5%249
  10. Vomitingbeing sick4.4%240
  11. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.9%217
  12. Somnolencedrowsiness3.8%210
  13. Suicide attempta suicide attempt3.7%206
  14. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped3.7%205
  15. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped3.7%203
  16. Confusional stateconfusion3.4%186
  17. Poisoning3.2%177
  18. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.2%174
  19. Serotonin syndrometoo much serotonin activity, with agitation, fever and tremor2.7%147
  20. Anxietyanxiety2.5%140
  21. Fatiguetiredness2.5%137
  22. Agitationrestlessness2.5%136
  23. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.4%134
  24. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.4%130
  25. Hypotensionlow blood pressure2.3%127
  26. Painpain, site not specified2.3%127
  27. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.3%125
  28. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.2%123
  29. Electrocardiogram QT prolongeda QT prolongation on the ECG2.1%114

Top 30 of 1,011 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the phenothiazine class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death41.3%2,275
Life-threatening8.7%477
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)33.4%1,837
Disability2.4%133
Congenital anomaly1.9%103
Other serious43%2,364
Not serious7.3%400

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 15,718 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.6%90
2 to 111.1%60
12 to 173.4%187
18 to 4437.7%2,077
45 to 6426.6%1,465
65 to 744.7%258
75 and over3.8%209
Age not given21%1,157

Patient sex

Female57.2%3,150
Male32.7%1,799
Not given10.1%554

Who reported

Physician30.6%1,686
Pharmacist15.8%869
Other health professional34.7%1,910
Lawyer0.4%21
Consumer or non-health professional14.2%782
Not given4.3%235

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 59.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Nausea3967.2%
Suicide attempt721.3%
Insomnia701.3%
Sleep disorder671.2%
Vomiting611.1%
Schizophrenia420.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,503 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Promethazine reports
Diazepam60110.9%
Alprazolam4548.3%
Quetiapine3847%
Clonazepam3706.7%
Acetaminophen3636.6%
Diphenhydramine3486.3%
Lorazepam3386.1%
Tramadol3255.9%
Fluoxetine3225.9%
Methadone3215.8%

Other products listed in reports where Promethazine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePromethazinePhenothiazineAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,50315,71820,646,523
Share of that pool—35%0%
Reports, latest 12 months264—1,332,454
Marked serious92.7%87.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports41325291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports334379213
Consumer-filed share14.2%16.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsToxicity to various agents 19%median 9.4%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the phenothiazine class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Chlorpromazinegeneric3,37222597.3%
Prochlorperazinegeneric1,79815885.5%
Phenerganbrand1,4963164.6%
Promethazine hydrochloridegeneric1,17611783.1%
Perphenazinegeneric1,0056691%
Chlorpromazine hydrochloridegeneric8433091.9%
Promethazine hclgeneric525046.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Promethazine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Promethazine?

5,503 reports list Promethazine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 264 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 25,784 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Promethazine reports?

toxicity to various agents (19%), completed suicide (12%), drug abuse (10.1%), intentional overdose (6.2%) and drug interaction (5.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Promethazine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

92.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 41.3% of reports include death and 33.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (34.7%), physician (30.6%) and pharmacist (15.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Promethazine rising?

264 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 282 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Promethazine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Promethazine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Promethazine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (25,784) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.