Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose: adverse event reports filed with FDA

694 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2016–2021.

694
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 67 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
98.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
24.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
167 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2016 and September 2021, 694 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (0) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 67 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are asthenia (9.2%), peritonitis (7.6%) and covid-19 (6.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 107 different terms appear across these reports. Asthenia is recorded in 9.2% of these reports, against 1.8% of all reports in the database.

98.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 24.1% record death among the outcomes and 72.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 86.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (49.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0714Jul 2021: 10Aug 2021: 14Sep 2021: 13Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01001992016: 1120162017: 4420172018: 16220182019: 19920192020: 15020202021: 1282021

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy9.2%64
  2. Covid-19COVID-19 infection6.9%48
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.8%40
  4. Hypotensionlow blood pressure5.6%39
  5. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped5%35
  6. Infectionan infection, type not specified4.9%34
  7. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.7%26
  8. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin3.3%23
  9. Vomitingbeing sick3.3%23
  10. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.2%22
  11. Ultrafiltration failure2.3%16
  12. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands2.2%15
  13. Coughcough1.9%13
  14. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.9%13
  15. Pneumonialung infection1.9%13
  16. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection1.9%13
  17. Disease complication1.7%12
  18. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain1.6%11
  19. Hernia1.6%11
  20. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.4%10
  21. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.4%10
  22. Swellingswelling1.4%10
  23. Blood creatinine increasedraised creatinine, a kidney test1.3%9

Top 30 of 107 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death24.1%167
Life-threatening5.8%40
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)72.6%504
Disability1.2%8
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious16.1%112
Not serious1.3%9

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%2
2 to 113.9%27
12 to 171.9%13
18 to 4412.1%84
45 to 6449.4%343
65 to 7422%153
75 and over8.8%61
Age not given1.6%11

Patient sex

Female45.1%313
Male54.2%376
Not given0.7%5

Who reported

Physician0%0
Pharmacist0%0
Other health professional13.7%95
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional86.3%599
Not given0%0

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 0% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Peritoneal dialysis36152%
Renal failure31245%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 694 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose reports
Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 2 5% Dextrose47568.4%
Extraneal16824.2%

Other products listed in reports where Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePeritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% DextroseAll reports
Reports as suspect product69420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious98.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports24191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports726213
Consumer-filed share86.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsAsthenia 9.2%1.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose?

694 reports list Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 0 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose reports?

asthenia (9.2%), peritonitis (7.6%), covid-19 (6.9%), death (5.8%) and hypotension (5.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 24.1% of reports include death and 72.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (86.3%) and other health professional (13.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Peritoneal Dialysis Solution with 1 5% Dextrose as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (0) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.