Reported Reactions

Drugs › Nitrate vasodilator

Brand name · Nitroglycerin

Nitrostat: adverse event reports filed with FDA

823 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Nitrate vasodilator.

823
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 37 a year
1
reports, 12 months to June 2026
13 in the 12 months before
49.3%
marked serious by the reporter
85.3% across the class
7.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
62 reports · not verified by FDA

Between May 2004 and March 2026, 823 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Nitrostat (nitroglycerin) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (9,933) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1 report listed it, down 92% from 13 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 37 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6.9% of the reports for the nitrate vasodilator class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (30.1%), myocardial infarction (7.4%) and headache (6.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 238 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 30.1% of these reports, a larger share than in the median nitrate vasodilator drug (5%).

49.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (85.3% across the class); 7.5% record death among the outcomes and 16.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

036Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0641272004: 720042005: 222006: 72007: 320072008: 22009: 12010: 3620102011: 442012: 1272013: 10120132014: 802015: 862016: 11420162017: 512018: 242019: 5420192020: 202021: 132022: 1020222023: 22024: 62025: 1220252026: 1

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Nitrostat reports recording the termmedian drug in nitrate vasodilator

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected30.1%248
  2. Myocardial infarctionheart attack7.4%61
  3. Headachehead pain6.2%51
  4. Chest painchest pain6.1%50
  5. Product solubility abnormal5.6%46
  6. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine5.1%42
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.7%39
  8. Product quality issuea problem with the product itself3.2%26
  9. Painpain, site not specified2.9%24
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.7%22
  11. Burning sensationa burning feeling2.3%19
  12. Back painback pain2.2%18
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.2%18
  14. Paraesthesiatingling or pins and needles2.2%18
  15. Chronic obstructive pulmonary diseaseCOPD, a long-term lung disease1.9%16
  16. Product taste abnormalthe product tasted odd1.9%16
  17. Falla fall1.8%15
  18. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.8%15
  19. Emphysema1.7%14
  20. Amnesiamemory loss1.6%13
  21. Bedridden1.6%13
  22. Depressionlow mood1.5%12
  23. Fatiguetiredness1.5%12
  24. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.5%12
  25. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.5%12

Top 30 of 238 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the nitrate vasodilator class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.5%62
Life-threatening2.6%21
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)16.2%133
Disability2.8%23
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious34%280
Not serious50.7%417

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 11,960 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 442.4%20
45 to 6419.8%163
65 to 7416.8%138
75 and over17.1%141
Age not given43.9%361

Patient sex

Female41.7%343
Male49.6%408
Not given8.7%72

Who reported

Physician14.8%122
Pharmacist19.1%157
Other health professional13.1%108
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional48.2%397
Not given4.7%39

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 96% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Chest pain24730%
Angina pectoris10813.1%
Cardiac disorder374.5%
Myocardial infarction60.7%
Angina unstable20.2%
Arterial disorder20.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 823 reports.

In context

MeasureNitrostatNitrate vasodilatorAll reports
Reports as suspect product82311,96020,646,523
Share of that pool—6.9%0%
Reports, latest 12 months1—1,332,454
Marked serious49.3%85.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7514991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports162457213
Consumer-filed share48.2%25%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 30.1%median 5%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the nitrate vasodilator class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Nitroglyceringeneric6,04135685.5%
Isosorbide mononitrategeneric3,17117491.6%
Isosorbide dinitrategeneric1,3225993.9%
Isosorbidebrand6033780.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Nitrostat reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Nitrostat?

823 reports list Nitrostat as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 9,933 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Nitrostat reports?

drug ineffective (30.1%), myocardial infarction (7.4%), headache (6.2%), chest pain (6.1%) and product solubility abnormal (5.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Nitrostat was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

49.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.5% of reports include death and 16.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (48.2%), pharmacist (19.1%) and physician (14.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Nitrostat rising?

1 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 92% from 13 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Nitrostat was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Nitrostat?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Nitrostat as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (9,933) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.