Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Midostaurin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,096 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026.

1,096
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 66 a year
75
reports, 12 months to June 2026
100 in the 12 months before
98%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
21.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
232 reports · not verified by FDA

1,096 adverse event reports received by FDA list midostaurin, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from November 2009 to June 2026. A further 173 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 75 reports listed it, down 25% from 100 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 66 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are febrile neutropenia (13.4%), diarrhoea (10.4%) and pyrexia (9.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 312 different terms appear across these reports. Febrile neutropenia is recorded in 13.4% of these reports, against 0.3% of all reports in the database.

98% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 21.2% record death among the outcomes and 37.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 51.6% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (33.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01530Jul 2021: 21Aug 2021: 19Sep 2021: 30Oct 2021: 22Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 152022Jan 2022: 22Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 13Jun 2022: 12Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 21Nov 2022: 13Dec 2022: 82023Jan 2023: 9Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 112024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 16Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 17Oct 2024: 16Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 72025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 9Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 12Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 8May 2026: 27Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01092172009: 120092011: 42012: 920122013: 102014: 1020142015: 122016: 920162017: 602018: 10520182019: 1522020: 12420202021: 2172022: 12520222023: 582024: 9620242025: 622026: 422026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Midostaurin reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells13.4%147
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools10.4%114
  3. Pyrexiafever9.4%103
  4. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell9.1%100
  5. Thrombocytopenialow platelets8.9%98
  6. Nauseafeeling sick7.7%84
  7. Acute myeloid leukaemia recurrent7.2%79
  8. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells6.8%75
  9. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.2%68
  10. Anaemialow red blood cells6%66
  11. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.3%58
  12. Pneumonialung infection5.3%58
  13. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection4.6%50
  14. Headachehead pain4.5%49
  15. Rash maculo-papulara rash of flat and raised spots4.1%45
  16. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.9%43
  17. Vomitingbeing sick3.6%40
  18. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection3.6%39
  19. Device related infectionan infection related to the device3.3%36
  20. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines3.2%35
  21. Cytomegalovirus infection reactivation3%33
  22. Septic shockshock arising from infection2.9%32
  23. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.5%27
  24. Fatiguetiredness2.5%27
  25. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.5%27
  26. Neutropenic colitis2.5%27
  27. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated2.4%26

Top 30 of 312 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.2%232
Life-threatening10.9%119
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)37.1%407
Disability1.1%12
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious63.5%696
Not serious2%22

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 111.6%17
12 to 170.5%6
18 to 4418.2%200
45 to 6433.2%364
65 to 7416.7%183
75 and over7.2%79
Age not given22.4%246

Patient sex

Female38.1%418
Male48.8%535
Not given13%143

Who reported

Physician51.6%565
Pharmacist3.1%34
Other health professional40%438
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional5%55
Not given0.4%4

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 22.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acute myeloid leukaemia58353.2%
Systemic mastocytosis898.1%
Mastocytic leukaemia191.7%
Advanced systemic mastocytosis151.4%
Leukaemia80.7%
Mastocytosis70.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,096 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Midostaurin reports
Cytarabine45041.1%
Daunorubicin26624.3%
Posaconazole13011.9%
Idarubicin948.6%
Venetoclax756.8%
Decitabine736.7%
Cyclophosphamide726.6%
Azacitidine655.9%
Dexamethasone655.9%
Sorafenib605.5%

Other products listed in reports where Midostaurin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureMidostaurinAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,09620,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months751,332,454
Marked serious98%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports371213
Consumer-filed share5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFebrile neutropenia 13.4%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Midostaurin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Midostaurin?

1,096 reports list Midostaurin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 75 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 173 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Midostaurin reports?

febrile neutropenia (13.4%), diarrhoea (10.4%), pyrexia (9.4%), neutropenia (9.1%) and thrombocytopenia (8.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Midostaurin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.2% of reports include death and 37.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (51.6%), other health professional (40%) and consumer or non-health professional (5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Midostaurin rising?

75 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 25% from 100 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Midostaurin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Midostaurin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Midostaurin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (173) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.