Product name as reported
Daunorubicin: adverse event reports filed with FDA
8,614 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.
- 8,614
- reports as suspect product
- 0% of all reports · about 386 a year
- 473
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 451 in the 12 months before
- 97.6%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 23.3%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 2,008 reports · not verified by FDA
8,614 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Daunorubicin" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from March 2004 to June 2026. A further 2,115 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 473 reports listed it, close to the 451 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 386 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
The MedDRA terms listed most often are febrile neutropenia (14.4%), neutropenia (7.1%) and pyrexia (6.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,367 different terms appear across these reports. Febrile neutropenia is recorded in 14.4% of these reports, against 0.3% of all reports in the database.
97.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 23.3% record death among the outcomes and 43.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 43.1% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 2 to 11 (17.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Daunorubicin reports recording the termall reports in the database
- Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells14.4%1,238
- Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell7.1%614
- Pyrexiafever6.5%562
- Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection5.7%495
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label5%432
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.5%391
- Pneumonialung infection4.2%358
- Thrombocytopenialow platelets4.1%352
- Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.8%328
- Septic shockshock arising from infection3.8%325
- Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells3.5%302
- Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection3.2%277
- Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.9%246
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.7%234
- Clostridium difficile colitisa bowel infection with C. difficile2.7%230
- Infectionan infection, type not specified2.6%222
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.6%221
- Aspergillus infection2.5%214
- Anaemialow red blood cells2.5%213
- Myelosuppression2.4%207
- Vomitingbeing sick2.4%206
- Headachehead pain2.4%203
- Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label2.3%202
- Bone marrow failure2.3%197
- Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.3%196
- Colitisinflamed bowel2.3%195
- Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.2%193
- Haematotoxicity2.2%188
Top 30 of 1,367 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 35% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Acute lymphocytic leukaemia | 2,482 | 28.8% |
| Acute myeloid leukaemia | 1,901 | 22.1% |
| T-cell type acute leukaemia | 324 | 3.8% |
| B precursor type acute leukaemia | 241 | 2.8% |
| Precursor t-lymphoblastic lymphoma/leukaemia | 192 | 2.2% |
| B-cell type acute leukaemia | 177 | 2.1% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,614 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Daunorubicin reports |
|---|---|---|
| Cytarabine | 6,629 | 77% |
| Methotrexate | 4,231 | 49.1% |
| Vincristine | 3,395 | 39.4% |
| Dexamethasone | 2,821 | 32.7% |
| Cyclophosphamide | 2,724 | 31.6% |
| Prednisone | 2,191 | 25.4% |
| Vincristine sulfate | 1,741 | 20.2% |
| Mercaptopurine | 1,700 | 19.7% |
| Etoposide | 1,655 | 19.2% |
| Asparaginase | 1,434 | 16.6% |
Other products listed in reports where Daunorubicin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Daunorubicin | All reports |
|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 8,614 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 473 | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 97.6% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 233 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 432 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 4.2% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Febrile neutropenia 14.4% | 0.3% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Questions about Daunorubicin reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Daunorubicin?
8,614 reports list Daunorubicin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 473 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,115 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Daunorubicin reports?
febrile neutropenia (14.4%), neutropenia (7.1%), pyrexia (6.5%), sepsis (5.7%) and off label use (5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Daunorubicin was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
97.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 23.3% of reports include death and 43.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
other health professional (43.1%), physician (42.5%) and not given (7.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Daunorubicin rising?
473 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 451 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Daunorubicin was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Daunorubicin?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Daunorubicin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,115) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.