Reported Reactions

Drugs › Dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor

Brand name · Sitagliptin

Januvia: adverse event reports filed with FDA

30,212 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2006–2026. Class: Dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor. Also reported as Januvia Tablets 50mg, Januvia Tablets 100mg, Januvia Tablets 25mg.

30,212
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 1,537 a year
310
reports, 12 months to June 2026
491 in the 12 months before
51.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57% across the class
9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,729 reports · not verified by FDA

Between November 2006 and June 2026, 30,212 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Januvia (sitagliptin) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (31,905) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 310 reports listed it, down 37% from 491 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,537 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 65.6% of the reports for the dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded blood glucose increased (7.9%), pancreatitis (6.5%) and drug ineffective (5.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,117 different terms appear across these reports. Blood glucose increased is recorded in 7.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor drug (5.7%).

51.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (57% across the class); 9% record death among the outcomes and 25.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 41.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

053106Jul 2021: 90Aug 2021: 77Sep 2021: 72Oct 2021: 57Nov 2021: 66Dec 2021: 692022Jan 2022: 60Feb 2022: 80Mar 2022: 94Apr 2022: 86May 2022: 79Jun 2022: 61Jul 2022: 87Aug 2022: 106Sep 2022: 89Oct 2022: 70Nov 2022: 93Dec 2022: 782023Jan 2023: 68Feb 2023: 66Mar 2023: 79Apr 2023: 44May 2023: 62Jun 2023: 41Jul 2023: 39Aug 2023: 56Sep 2023: 35Oct 2023: 58Nov 2023: 55Dec 2023: 432024Jan 2024: 39Feb 2024: 53Mar 2024: 61Apr 2024: 56May 2024: 43Jun 2024: 39Jul 2024: 44Aug 2024: 49Sep 2024: 40Oct 2024: 62Nov 2024: 42Dec 2024: 332025Jan 2025: 36Feb 2025: 34Mar 2025: 49Apr 2025: 39May 2025: 37Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 26Aug 2025: 39Sep 2025: 25Oct 2025: 20Nov 2025: 22Dec 2025: 312026Jan 2026: 16Feb 2026: 32Mar 2026: 21Apr 2026: 18May 2026: 25Jun 2026: 35

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,7263,4522006: 2720062007: 3,4522008: 2,2072009: 1,97020092010: 9212011: 9782012: 1,52320122013: 2,2072014: 2,7112015: 2,98020152016: 2,1722017: 1,5932018: 1,38520182019: 1,3192020: 1,1302021: 91620212022: 9832023: 6462024: 56120242025: 3842026: 147

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Januvia reports recording the termmedian drug in dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor

  1. Blood glucose increasedraised blood sugar reading7.9%2,378
  2. Pancreatitisinflammation of the pancreas6.5%1,976
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.6%1,694
  4. Nauseafeeling sick4.7%1,421
  5. Headachehead pain4%1,195
  6. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed3.8%1,161
  7. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported3.5%1,072
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.5%1,064
  9. Hypoglycaemialow blood sugar3.2%977
  10. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.9%884
  11. Vomitingbeing sick2.6%790
  12. Rashskin rash2.6%777
  13. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.5%754
  14. Fatiguetiredness2.4%714
  15. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.3%703
  16. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.3%700
  17. Arthralgiajoint pain2.3%698
  18. Diabetes mellitus inadequate controldiabetes not well controlled2.2%662
  19. Weight decreasedweight loss2.1%643
  20. Constipationconstipation2.1%624
  21. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2%616
  22. Painpain, site not specified1.9%574
  23. Glycosylated haemoglobin increaseda raised HbA1c, the long-term sugar measure1.9%563
  24. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.8%556
  25. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain1.8%546
  26. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.8%540
  27. Falla fall1.8%537
  28. Anxietyanxiety1.8%534

Top 30 of 2,117 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 10 drugs in the dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9%2,729
Life-threatening5.8%1,764
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)25.7%7,777
Disability4.4%1,318
Congenital anomaly0.1%22
Other serious32.9%9,944
Not serious48.8%14,752

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 46,081 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%16
2 to 110%9
12 to 170%11
18 to 443%894
45 to 6419.4%5,867
65 to 7415.9%4,799
75 and over14.1%4,247
Age not given47.6%14,369

Patient sex

Female47.6%14,375
Male40.4%12,214
Not given12%3,623

Who reported

Physician30.5%9,208
Pharmacist4.5%1,354
Other health professional13%3,926
Lawyer0.9%269
Consumer or non-health professional41.2%12,456
Not given9.9%2,999

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 74.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Type 2 diabetes mellitus9,01829.8%
Diabetes mellitus8,49728.1%
Diabetes mellitus non-insulin-dependent5171.7%
Blood glucose3261.1%
Blood glucose increased1910.6%
Blood glucose abnormal1420.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 30,212 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Januvia reports
Metformin4,68315.5%
Aspirin1,6065.3%
Glipizide1,1703.9%
Metformin hcl1,1263.7%
Lantus1,0733.6%
Lisinopril9903.3%
Lipitor9593.2%
Actos8072.7%
Glucophage7842.6%
Janumet7762.6%

Other products listed in reports where Januvia is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureJanuviaDipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product30,21246,08120,646,523
Share of that pool—65.6%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months310—1,332,454
Marked serious51.2%57%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports908791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports257292213
Consumer-filed share41.2%38.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsBlood glucose increased 7.9%median 5.7%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the dipeptidyl peptidase 4 inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Tradjentabrand4,6273134.2%
Sitagliptingeneric2,80537395.8%
Linagliptingeneric2,78128090.4%
Glyxambibrand1,4753942%
Sitagliptin phosphategeneric1,39913691.9%
Nesinabrand7921181.3%
Alogliptingeneric698786.1%
Saxagliptingeneric6682191.6%
Jentaduetobrand624442%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Januvia reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Januvia?

30,212 reports list Januvia as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 310 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 31,905 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Januvia reports?

blood glucose increased (7.9%), pancreatitis (6.5%), drug ineffective (5.6%), pancreatic carcinoma (5.2%) and nausea (4.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Januvia was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

51.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9% of reports include death and 25.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (41.2%), physician (30.5%) and other health professional (13%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Januvia rising?

310 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 37% from 491 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Januvia was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Januvia?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Januvia as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (31,905) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.