Reported Reactions

Drugs › HER2/neu receptor antagonist

Brand name · Trastuzumab

Herceptin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

30,399 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: HER2/neu receptor antagonist.

30,399
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 1,351 a year
934
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,443 in the 12 months before
81.2%
marked serious by the reporter
86.6% across the class
14.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,310 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 30,399 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Herceptin (trastuzumab) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (6,643) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 934 reports listed it, down 62% from 2,443 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,351 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 35.5% of the reports for the HER2/neu receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are diarrhoea (8.6%), death (8%) and fatigue (6.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,977 different terms appear across these reports. Diarrhoea is recorded in 8.6% of these reports, a smaller share than in the median HER2/neu receptor antagonist drug (12.6%).

81.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (86.6% across the class); 14.2% record death among the outcomes and 23.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 42.7% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (31%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

07451,490Jul 2021: 185Aug 2021: 236Sep 2021: 109Oct 2021: 110Nov 2021: 281Dec 2021: 1592022Jan 2022: 84Feb 2022: 96Mar 2022: 102Apr 2022: 89May 2022: 88Jun 2022: 154Jul 2022: 173Aug 2022: 122Sep 2022: 104Oct 2022: 186Nov 2022: 256Dec 2022: 1112023Jan 2023: 95Feb 2023: 116Mar 2023: 189Apr 2023: 171May 2023: 128Jun 2023: 163Jul 2023: 142Aug 2023: 140Sep 2023: 106Oct 2023: 133Nov 2023: 359Dec 2023: 1172024Jan 2024: 121Feb 2024: 117Mar 2024: 150Apr 2024: 105May 2024: 90Jun 2024: 165Jul 2024: 158Aug 2024: 92Sep 2024: 1,490Oct 2024: 90Nov 2024: 81Dec 2024: 872025Jan 2025: 72Feb 2025: 83Mar 2025: 89Apr 2025: 67May 2025: 77Jun 2025: 57Jul 2025: 95Aug 2025: 69Sep 2025: 87Oct 2025: 78Nov 2025: 87Dec 2025: 662026Jan 2026: 62Feb 2026: 58Mar 2026: 82Apr 2026: 81May 2026: 80Jun 2026: 89

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,5002,9992004: 26920042005: 2412006: 4372007: 38420072008: 4112009: 5222010: 65420102011: 6312012: 1,7422013: 1,84920132014: 1,5102015: 1,6102016: 1,76720162017: 2,9992018: 2,2592019: 1,92220192020: 1,9872021: 1,6562022: 1,56520222023: 1,8592024: 2,7462025: 92720252026: 452

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Herceptin reports recording the termmedian drug in her2/neu receptor antagonist

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools8.6%2,609
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term8%2,428
  3. Fatiguetiredness6.4%1,942
  4. Nauseafeeling sick6.1%1,846
  5. Disease progressionthe disease advanced5.8%1,773
  6. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.3%1,303
  7. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4%1,231
  8. Vomitingbeing sick4%1,211
  9. Pyrexiafever3.7%1,137
  10. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.5%1,049
  11. Rashskin rash3%917
  12. Alopeciahair loss2.9%896
  13. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported2.9%868
  14. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet2.8%854
  15. Headachehead pain2.7%835
  16. Chillschills or shivering2.7%831
  17. Painpain, site not specified2.6%793
  18. Arthralgiajoint pain2.3%711
  19. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.3%701
  20. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.1%648
  21. Coughcough1.9%590
  22. Anaemialow red blood cells1.9%589
  23. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell1.9%585
  24. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.9%564
  25. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.8%560
  26. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count1.8%556

Top 30 of 1,977 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the her2/neu receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death14.2%4,310
Life-threatening3.4%1,044
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.7%7,194
Disability2.1%647
Congenital anomaly0.2%47
Other serious49.7%15,095
Not serious18.8%5,714

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 85,553 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%41
2 to 110%3
12 to 170%1
18 to 4411.1%3,385
45 to 6431%9,412
65 to 7410.6%3,235
75 and over4.7%1,417
Age not given42.5%12,905

Patient sex

Female83.9%25,514
Male5%1,522
Not given11.1%3,363

Who reported

Physician42.7%12,983
Pharmacist7.6%2,309
Other health professional22.5%6,840
Lawyer1.1%349
Consumer or non-health professional24%7,306
Not given2%612

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 32.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Breast cancer11,12836.6%
Breast cancer metastatic4,27614.1%
Her-2 positive breast cancer1,6565.4%
Her2 positive breast cancer1,3574.5%
Breast cancer female7372.4%
Invasive ductal breast carcinoma6652.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 30,399 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Herceptin reports
Perjeta8,63828.4%
Docetaxel4,64915.3%
Taxotere2,9909.8%
Paclitaxel2,9669.8%
Carboplatin2,8469.4%
Xeloda2,3687.8%
Taxol1,8586.1%
Kadcyla1,7075.6%
Cyclophosphamide1,6315.4%
Dexamethasone1,1623.8%

Other products listed in reports where Herceptin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureHerceptinHER2/neu receptor antagonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product30,39985,55320,646,523
Share of that pool—35.5%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months934—1,332,454
Marked serious81.2%86.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports14212091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports237320213
Consumer-filed share24%14.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDiarrhoea 8.6%median 12.6%3.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the her2/neu receptor antagonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Trastuzumabgeneric28,9292,89395.7%
Perjetabrand12,93964377.7%
Pertuzumabgeneric11,3531,12595.6%
Kanjintibrand1,4327422.4%
Ontruzantgeneric5011293.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Herceptin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Herceptin?

30,399 reports list Herceptin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 934 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 6,643 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Herceptin reports?

diarrhoea (8.6%), death (8%), fatigue (6.4%), nausea (6.1%) and disease progression (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Herceptin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

81.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 14.2% of reports include death and 23.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (42.7%), consumer or non-health professional (24%) and other health professional (22.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Herceptin rising?

934 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 62% from 2,443 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Herceptin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Herceptin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Herceptin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (6,643) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.