Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Ado-trastuzumab emtansine

Kadcyla: adverse event reports filed with FDA

6,280 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026.

6,280
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 436 a year
428
reports, 12 months to June 2026
608 in the 12 months before
78.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
13.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
859 reports · not verified by FDA

6,280 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Kadcyla (ado-trastuzumab emtansine) as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2012 to June 2026. A further 234 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 428 reports listed it, down 30% from 608 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 436 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are fatigue (9%), nausea (8.3%) and disease progression (7.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 873 different terms appear across these reports. Fatigue is recorded in 9% of these reports, against 3.7% of all reports in the database.

78.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 13.7% record death among the outcomes and 20.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.3% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (30.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

082163Jul 2021: 45Aug 2021: 28Sep 2021: 41Oct 2021: 31Nov 2021: 53Dec 2021: 492022Jan 2022: 26Feb 2022: 54Mar 2022: 46Apr 2022: 131May 2022: 44Jun 2022: 39Jul 2022: 40Aug 2022: 20Sep 2022: 30Oct 2022: 40Nov 2022: 47Dec 2022: 322023Jan 2023: 34Feb 2023: 36Mar 2023: 70Apr 2023: 163May 2023: 32Jun 2023: 40Jul 2023: 45Aug 2023: 37Sep 2023: 45Oct 2023: 41Nov 2023: 53Dec 2023: 522024Jan 2024: 49Feb 2024: 53Mar 2024: 65Apr 2024: 126May 2024: 41Jun 2024: 33Jul 2024: 46Aug 2024: 59Sep 2024: 105Oct 2024: 49Nov 2024: 64Dec 2024: 612025Jan 2025: 32Feb 2025: 41Mar 2025: 56Apr 2025: 36May 2025: 33Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 47Aug 2025: 43Sep 2025: 27Oct 2025: 36Nov 2025: 31Dec 2025: 312026Jan 2026: 46Feb 2026: 40Mar 2026: 29Apr 2026: 30May 2026: 43Jun 2026: 25

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03767512012: 220122013: 1382014: 28420142015: 6582016: 34620162017: 3582018: 38820182019: 3772020: 53120202021: 5982022: 54920222023: 6482024: 75120242025: 4392026: 2132026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Kadcyla reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Fatiguetiredness9%564
  2. Nauseafeeling sick8.3%522
  3. Disease progressionthe disease advanced7.8%492
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.4%464
  5. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count5.9%372
  6. Thrombocytopenialow platelets5.3%334
  7. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5%313
  8. Headachehead pain5%313
  9. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet4.9%307
  10. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.8%302
  11. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.8%299
  12. Epistaxisnosebleed4.4%278
  13. Painpain, site not specified4.2%263
  14. Pyrexiafever3.8%241
  15. Weight decreasedweight loss3.7%235
  16. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.7%231
  17. Vomitingbeing sick3.7%230
  18. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported3.6%223
  19. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.3%209
  20. Pneumonialung infection3.1%195
  21. Constipationconstipation2.8%176
  22. Rashskin rash2.8%176
  23. Nasopharyngitisa cold2.7%172
  24. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion2.6%161
  25. Coughcough2.5%155
  26. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.4%150
  27. Myalgiamuscle pain2.4%150
  28. Arthralgiajoint pain2.4%149

Top 30 of 873 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death13.7%859
Life-threatening2.3%144
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)20.6%1,293
Disability1.3%82
Congenital anomaly0.1%9
Other serious55.4%3,477
Not serious21.2%1,331

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 4411.5%724
45 to 6430.7%1,928
65 to 749.9%620
75 and over3.5%217
Age not given44.4%2,790

Patient sex

Female83.7%5,255
Male1.8%113
Not given14.5%912

Who reported

Physician48.3%3,035
Pharmacist8.9%561
Other health professional16.8%1,053
Lawyer0%3
Consumer or non-health professional25.8%1,618
Not given0.2%10

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 31.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Breast cancer1,75527.9%
Breast cancer metastatic1,36821.8%
Her2 positive breast cancer73711.7%
Her-2 positive breast cancer4587.3%
Invasive ductal breast carcinoma951.5%
Breast cancer female510.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 6,280 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Kadcyla reports
Herceptin1,72027.4%
Perjeta1,23419.6%
Trastuzumab81713%
Xeloda5859.3%
Docetaxel5058%
Taxotere4987.9%
Capecitabine4457.1%
Paclitaxel4346.9%
Pertuzumab3856.1%
Dexamethasone3415.4%

Other products listed in reports where Kadcyla is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureKadcylaAll reports
Reports as suspect product6,28020,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months4281,332,454
Marked serious78.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports13791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports206213
Consumer-filed share25.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFatigue 9%3.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Kadcyla reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Kadcyla?

6,280 reports list Kadcyla as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 428 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 234 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Kadcyla reports?

fatigue (9%), nausea (8.3%), disease progression (7.8%), death (7.4%) and platelet count decreased (5.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Kadcyla was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

78.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 13.7% of reports include death and 20.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (48.3%), consumer or non-health professional (25.8%) and other health professional (16.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Kadcyla rising?

428 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 30% from 608 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Kadcyla was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Kadcyla?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Kadcyla as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (234) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.