Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 6 drug pages

HER2/neu receptor antagonist: adverse event reports filed with FDA

85,553 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

85,553
reports across the class
0.4% of all reports
5,681
reports, 12 months to June 2026
9,362 in the 12 months before
86.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
6
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

HER2/neu receptor antagonist is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 6 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 85,553 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.4% of the database, from January 2004 to June 2026.

5,681 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, down 39% from 9,362 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 86.6% of the class's reports are marked serious, 12% record death among the outcomes and 32% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are diarrhoea (11.5%), off label use (7.3%) and nausea (7.3%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
HerceptinTrastuzumabbrand30,39993481.2%Diarrhoea
Trastuzumabgeneric28,9292,89395.7%Diarrhoea
PerjetaPertuzumabbrand12,93964377.7%Diarrhoea
Pertuzumabgeneric11,3531,12595.6%Diarrhoea
KanjintiTrastuzumab-annsbrand1,4327422.4%Product storage error
Ontruzantgeneric5011293.4%Diarrhoea

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

01,5953,190Jul 2021: 849Aug 2021: 981Sep 2021: 580Oct 2021: 582Nov 2021: 804Dec 2021: 6532022Jan 2022: 468Feb 2022: 612Mar 2022: 652Apr 2022: 510May 2022: 468Jun 2022: 688Jul 2022: 690Aug 2022: 511Sep 2022: 545Oct 2022: 719Nov 2022: 784Dec 2022: 6542023Jan 2023: 595Feb 2023: 645Mar 2023: 657Apr 2023: 626May 2023: 636Jun 2023: 677Jul 2023: 703Aug 2023: 595Sep 2023: 546Oct 2023: 639Nov 2023: 919Dec 2023: 5052024Jan 2024: 499Feb 2024: 597Mar 2024: 600Apr 2024: 527May 2024: 463Jun 2024: 751Jul 2024: 856Aug 2024: 607Sep 2024: 3,190Oct 2024: 577Nov 2024: 585Dec 2024: 6422025Jan 2025: 446Feb 2025: 426Mar 2025: 560Apr 2025: 606May 2025: 435Jun 2025: 432Jul 2025: 622Aug 2025: 515Sep 2025: 424Oct 2025: 480Nov 2025: 457Dec 2025: 4812026Jan 2026: 459Feb 2026: 421Mar 2026: 445Apr 2026: 400May 2026: 470Jun 2026: 507

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools11.5%9,860
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.3%6,287
  3. Nauseafeeling sick7.3%6,257
  4. Fatiguetiredness7%5,995
  5. Disease progressionthe disease advanced5.5%4,734
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.2%4,457
  7. Vomitingbeing sick4.8%4,129
  8. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.4%3,745
  9. Pyrexiafever4%3,448
  10. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet3.6%3,049
  11. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell3.6%3,041
  12. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.5%2,986
  13. Anaemialow red blood cells3.1%2,664
  14. Rashskin rash3.1%2,664
  15. Alopeciahair loss3%2,529
  16. Headachehead pain2.8%2,415
  17. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells2.5%2,162
  18. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.5%2,105
  19. Painpain, site not specified2.2%1,863
  20. Chillschills or shivering2.1%1,824
  21. Pneumonialung infection2.1%1,804
  22. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.1%1,804

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 6 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death12%10,306
Life-threatening4.1%3,544
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)32%27,337
Disability1.9%1,621
Congenital anomaly0.2%170
Other serious55.2%47,188
Not serious13.4%11,500

Patient age

Under 20.1%77
2 to 110%15
12 to 170%3
18 to 4412.3%10,491
45 to 6433.6%28,769
65 to 7412%10,246
75 and over5.2%4,437
Age not given36.8%31,515

Who reported

Physician48.3%41,297
Pharmacist6.8%5,777
Other health professional28.5%24,377
Lawyer0.7%619
Consumer or non-health professional14.6%12,508
Not given1.1%975

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about HER2/neu receptor antagonist reports

Which drugs are in the HER2/neu receptor antagonist class on this site?

Herceptin, Trastuzumab, Perjeta, Pertuzumab, Kanjinti and Ontruzant. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

85,553 reports through June 2026, 5,681 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

diarrhoea (11.5%), off label use (7.3%), nausea (7.3%), fatigue (7%) and disease progression (5.5%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.