Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Tivozanib

Fotivda: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,468 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2020–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

1,468
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 229 a year
136
reports, 12 months to June 2026
151 in the 12 months before
33.6%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
9.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
143 reports · not verified by FDA

1,468 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Fotivda (tivozanib) as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2020 to June 2026. A further 16 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 136 reports listed it, down 10% from 151 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 229 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.2% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are fatigue (20.8%), diarrhoea (12.9%) and blood pressure increased (10.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 285 different terms appear across these reports. Fatigue is recorded in 20.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (5.7%).

33.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 9.7% record death among the outcomes and 19.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 75.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

072144Jul 2021: 70Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 144Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 1052022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 97Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 17Jun 2022: 107Jul 2022: 22Aug 2022: 22Sep 2022: 134Oct 2022: 14Nov 2022: 25Dec 2022: 1192023Jan 2023: 21Feb 2023: 13Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 63May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 18Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 21Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 282024Jan 2024: 6Feb 2024: 13Mar 2024: 17Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 7Feb 2025: 111Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 13Dec 2025: 192026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 15Mar 2026: 13Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 15Jun 2026: 16

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02865712020: 120202021: 34820212022: 57120222023: 21120232024: 6420242025: 19620252026: 772026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Fotivda reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Fatiguetiredness20.8%305
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools12.9%189
  3. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading10.1%148
  4. Nauseafeeling sick9.5%139
  5. Disease progressionthe disease advanced8.9%131
  6. Decreased appetitereduced appetite8.8%129
  7. Dysphoniaa hoarse voice7.6%111
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.6%97
  9. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy5.9%87
  10. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label5.4%80
  11. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure5%73
  12. Painpain, site not specified4.8%71
  13. Vomitingbeing sick4.6%67
  14. Weight decreasedweight loss3.5%52
  15. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.5%51
  16. Constipationconstipation3.4%50
  17. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.3%48
  18. Headachehead pain3.3%48
  19. Stomatitissore mouth2.6%38
  20. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.5%36
  21. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.5%36
  22. Rashskin rash2.5%36
  23. Coughcough2.3%34
  24. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg2.2%33
  25. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2.2%32
  26. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort2.1%31
  27. Confusional stateconfusion2.1%31
  28. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed2.1%31

Top 30 of 285 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9.7%143
Life-threatening1%14
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)19.6%287
Disability0.1%2
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious9.5%140
Not serious66.4%975

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 440.1%2
45 to 642%30
65 to 741.2%17
75 and over1.2%17
Age not given95.5%1,402

Patient sex

Female2.9%42
Male9%132
Not given88.1%1,294

Who reported

Physician11.6%171
Pharmacist1.7%25
Other health professional10.8%159
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional75.5%1,109
Not given0.3%4

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Renal cell carcinoma1,32390.1%
Metastatic renal cell carcinoma513.5%
Renal cancer382.6%
Lung neoplasm malignant30.2%
Clear cell renal cell carcinoma20.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,468 reports.

In context

MeasureFotivdaKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,468849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Reports, latest 12 months136—1,332,454
Marked serious33.6%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports9719091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports196264213
Consumer-filed share75.5%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFatigue 20.8%median 5.7%3.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Fotivda reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Fotivda?

1,468 reports list Fotivda as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 136 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 16 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Fotivda reports?

fatigue (20.8%), diarrhoea (12.9%), blood pressure increased (10.1%), nausea (9.5%) and disease progression (8.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Fotivda was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

33.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9.7% of reports include death and 19.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (75.5%), physician (11.6%) and other health professional (10.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Fotivda rising?

136 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 10% from 151 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Fotivda was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Fotivda?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Fotivda as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (16) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.