Reported Reactions

Drugs › Bradykinin B2 receptor antagonist

Brand name · Icatibant acetate

Firazyr: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,025 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2010–2026. Class: Bradykinin B2 receptor antagonist.

3,025
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 186 a year
95
reports, 12 months to June 2026
98 in the 12 months before
70%
marked serious by the reporter
75.3% across the class
4.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
130 reports · not verified by FDA

3,025 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Firazyr (icatibant acetate) as a suspect or interacting product, from April 2010 to June 2026. A further 1,666 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 95 reports listed it, close to the 98 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 186 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 53.8% of the reports for the bradykinin B2 receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are hereditary angioedema (47.8%), drug ineffective (9.2%) and product dose omission issue (9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 453 different terms appear across these reports. Hereditary angioedema is recorded in 47.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median bradykinin B2 receptor antagonist drug (33.5%).

70% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (75.3% across the class); 4.3% record death among the outcomes and 40.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 51.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (25.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01019Jul 2021: 16Aug 2021: 14Sep 2021: 19Oct 2021: 15Nov 2021: 11Dec 2021: 162022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 10Apr 2022: 11May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 17Jul 2022: 16Aug 2022: 18Sep 2022: 18Oct 2022: 16Nov 2022: 15Dec 2022: 102023Jan 2023: 8Feb 2023: 10Mar 2023: 19Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 13Aug 2023: 12Sep 2023: 14Oct 2023: 10Nov 2023: 15Dec 2023: 172024Jan 2024: 4Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 12Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 12Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 8Dec 2024: 92025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 11Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 9Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 10Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 14

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02064122010: 120102011: 42012: 2720122013: 1942014: 15820142015: 2762016: 25720162017: 2302018: 41120182019: 4122020: 27120202021: 2402022: 16120222023: 1452024: 9620242025: 902026: 522026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Firazyr reports recording the termmedian drug in bradykinin b2 receptor antagonist

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.2%278
  2. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed9%273
  3. Injection site painpain where the injection was given7.3%221
  4. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times6.2%189
  5. Weight decreasedweight loss5.5%165
  6. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used5.3%160
  7. Weight increasedweight gain4.4%134
  8. Headachehead pain4.4%133
  9. Covid-19COVID-19 infection3.9%118
  10. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.4%104
  11. Pharyngeal oedemaswelling of the throat3.4%104
  12. Stressstress3.4%104
  13. Laryngeal oedemaswelling of the voice box3.2%98
  14. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.2%96
  15. Fatiguetiredness3.1%95
  16. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.1%95
  17. Falla fall3.1%93
  18. Nauseafeeling sick3%92
  19. Injection site erythemaredness where the injection was given3%91
  20. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported2.7%82
  21. Painpain, site not specified2.6%80
  22. Pneumonialung infection2.6%80
  23. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.5%77
  24. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.4%73
  25. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.4%73
  26. Inappropriate schedule of drug administrationthe medicine was taken at the wrong times2.3%70
  27. Illness2.1%64

Top 30 of 453 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 3 drugs in the bradykinin b2 receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death4.3%130
Life-threatening2.9%87
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)40.2%1,215
Disability0.7%20
Congenital anomaly0.1%2
Other serious48.8%1,476
Not serious30%907

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 5,620 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%2
2 to 110.4%13
12 to 170.8%23
18 to 4425.5%770
45 to 6422.3%676
65 to 746.3%190
75 and over3%92
Age not given41.6%1,259

Patient sex

Female70.9%2,144
Male20.7%627
Not given8.4%254

Who reported

Physician19.7%597
Pharmacist9.5%287
Other health professional18.1%547
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional51.7%1,564
Not given1%30

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 88.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hereditary angioedema1,57852.2%
Immune system disorder45014.9%
Angioedema481.6%
Hereditary angioedema with c1 esterase inhibitor deficiency180.6%
Hereditary angioedema with normal c1 esterase inhibitor140.5%
Enzyme abnormality60.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,025 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Firazyr reports
Lanadelumab62720.7%
Takhzyro31710.5%
Sodium chloride2498.2%
Sterile water2137%
Berinert2096.9%
Epipen1936.4%
Epinephrine1896.2%
Diphenhydramine1234.1%
Heparin1204%
Ruconest1153.8%

Other products listed in reports where Firazyr is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureFirazyrBradykinin B2 receptor antagonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,0255,62020,646,523
Share of that pool—53.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months95—1,332,454
Marked serious70%75.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports434491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports402467213
Consumer-filed share51.7%50.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsHereditary angioedema 47.8%median 33.5%0.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the bradykinin b2 receptor antagonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Icatibantgeneric1,94514387.3%
Icatibant acetategeneric65020063.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Firazyr reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Firazyr?

3,025 reports list Firazyr as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 95 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,666 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Firazyr reports?

hereditary angioedema (47.8%), drug ineffective (9.2%), product dose omission issue (9%), injection site pain (7.3%) and inappropriate schedule of product administration (6.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Firazyr was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

70% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 4.3% of reports include death and 40.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (51.7%), physician (19.7%) and other health professional (18.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Firazyr rising?

95 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 98 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Firazyr was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Firazyr?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Firazyr as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,666) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.