Reported Reactions

Drugs › Leukocyte growth factor

Generic name

Filgrastim: adverse event reports filed with FDA

10,601 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Leukocyte growth factor.

10,601
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 473 a year
1,004
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,489 in the 12 months before
94.9%
marked serious by the reporter
32.6% across the class
26.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,833 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and June 2026, 10,601 adverse event reports received by FDA list filgrastim, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (12,321) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,004 reports listed it, down 33% from 1,489 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 473 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 9.7% of the reports for the leukocyte growth factor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are febrile neutropenia (13.4%), off label use (12.1%) and neutropenia (11.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,662 different terms appear across these reports. Febrile neutropenia is recorded in 13.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median leukocyte growth factor drug (1.6%).

94.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (32.6% across the class); 26.7% record death among the outcomes and 36.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 51.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (22.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0102203Jul 2021: 101Aug 2021: 60Sep 2021: 84Oct 2021: 115Nov 2021: 173Dec 2021: 922022Jan 2022: 81Feb 2022: 103Mar 2022: 115Apr 2022: 102May 2022: 82Jun 2022: 104Jul 2022: 115Aug 2022: 73Sep 2022: 74Oct 2022: 56Nov 2022: 99Dec 2022: 1232023Jan 2023: 77Feb 2023: 85Mar 2023: 96Apr 2023: 74May 2023: 133Jun 2023: 73Jul 2023: 70Aug 2023: 98Sep 2023: 71Oct 2023: 80Nov 2023: 95Dec 2023: 512024Jan 2024: 68Feb 2024: 82Mar 2024: 113Apr 2024: 133May 2024: 79Jun 2024: 77Jul 2024: 203Aug 2024: 128Sep 2024: 154Oct 2024: 109Nov 2024: 95Dec 2024: 1622025Jan 2025: 82Feb 2025: 151Mar 2025: 71Apr 2025: 92May 2025: 75Jun 2025: 167Jul 2025: 121Aug 2025: 114Sep 2025: 127Oct 2025: 85Nov 2025: 85Dec 2025: 842026Jan 2026: 108Feb 2026: 72Mar 2026: 63Apr 2026: 48May 2026: 49Jun 2026: 48

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07021,4032004: 1420042005: 302006: 82007: 2720072008: 132009: 282010: 3320102011: 1502012: 1922013: 22020132014: 3572015: 2022016: 21120162017: 2922018: 5402019: 74020192020: 9802021: 1,3892022: 1,12720222023: 1,0032024: 1,4032025: 1,25420252026: 388

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Filgrastim reports recording the termmedian drug in leukocyte growth factor

  1. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells13.4%1,424
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label12.1%1,281
  3. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell11.8%1,248
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term8.8%934
  5. Pyrexiafever8.3%883
  6. Thrombocytopenialow platelets6.3%671
  7. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools6.2%658
  8. Anaemialow red blood cells5.6%590
  9. Pneumonialung infection5.2%549
  10. Nauseafeeling sick5.2%548
  11. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection4.7%503
  12. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.6%490
  13. Infectionan infection, type not specified4.3%452
  14. Vomitingbeing sick4.1%438
  15. Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection4.1%430
  16. Bone painbone pain3.9%418
  17. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells3.5%373
  18. Fatiguetiredness3.5%367
  19. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label3.5%367
  20. Disease progressionthe disease advanced3.3%349
  21. Clostridium difficile colitisa bowel infection with C. difficile2.9%308
  22. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.8%293
  23. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2.7%286
  24. Rashskin rash2.5%270
  25. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.5%265
  26. Viral infectiona viral infection2.4%259
  27. Hypotensionlow blood pressure2.3%246
  28. Leukopenialow white blood cells2.2%234
  29. Fungal infectiona fungal infection2.2%230

Top 30 of 1,662 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the leukocyte growth factor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death26.7%2,833
Life-threatening7.8%827
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)36.2%3,837
Disability1.1%121
Congenital anomaly0.6%60
Other serious72.6%7,699
Not serious5.1%540

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 109,309 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.4%146
2 to 115.6%591
12 to 172%210
18 to 4414.9%1,581
45 to 6422.7%2,409
65 to 7412.3%1,303
75 and over4.8%511
Age not given36.3%3,850

Patient sex

Female37.8%4,008
Male33.1%3,513
Not given29.1%3,080

Who reported

Physician35.4%3,750
Pharmacist5.2%546
Other health professional51.3%5,438
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional6.5%684
Not given1.7%182

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 21.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Neutropenia1,26411.9%
Prophylaxis1,0439.8%
Haematopoietic stem cell mobilisation7697.3%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia5895.6%
Acute myeloid leukaemia3513.3%
Febrile neutropenia2312.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 10,601 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Filgrastim reports
Cyclophosphamide3,11129.3%
Cytarabine1,94818.4%
Dexamethasone1,86317.6%
Etoposide1,80617%
Prednisone1,56814.8%
Rituximab1,51514.3%
Vincristine1,24511.7%
Doxorubicin1,22511.6%
Methotrexate1,06110%
Fludarabine8578.1%

Other products listed in reports where Filgrastim is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureFilgrastimLeukocyte growth factorAll reports
Reports as suspect product10,601109,30920,646,523
Share of that pool—9.7%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,004—1,332,454
Marked serious94.9%32.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports2677391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports362153213
Consumer-filed share6.5%13%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFebrile neutropenia 13.4%median 1.6%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the leukocyte growth factor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Neulastabrand80,5121,52115.8%
Neupogenbrand7,1286664.6%
Pegfilgrastimgeneric7,12748989.6%
Zarxiobrand1,7709259.3%
Udenycabrand1,23255017.4%
Leukinebrand9394462.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Filgrastim reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Filgrastim?

10,601 reports list Filgrastim as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,004 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 12,321 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Filgrastim reports?

febrile neutropenia (13.4%), off label use (12.1%), neutropenia (11.8%), death (8.8%) and pyrexia (8.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Filgrastim was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 26.7% of reports include death and 36.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (51.3%), physician (35.4%) and consumer or non-health professional (6.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Filgrastim rising?

1,004 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 33% from 1,489 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Filgrastim was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Filgrastim?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Filgrastim as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (12,321) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.