Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 7 drug pages

Leukocyte growth factor: adverse event reports filed with FDA

109,309 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

109,309
reports across the class
0.5% of all reports
3,766
reports, 12 months to June 2026
6,154 in the 12 months before
32.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

Leukocyte growth factor is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 7 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 109,309 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.5% of the database, from January 2004 to June 2026.

3,766 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, down 39% from 6,154 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 32.6% of the class's reports are marked serious, 7.3% record death among the outcomes and 15.3% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are device adhesion issue (10.7%), wrong technique in product usage process (9.5%) and unintentional medical device removal (8.2%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
NeulastaPegfilgrastimbrand80,5121,52115.8%Device adhesion issue
Filgrastimgeneric10,6011,00494.9%Febrile neutropenia
NeupogenFilgrastimbrand7,1286664.6%Off label use
Pegfilgrastimgeneric7,12748989.6%Febrile neutropenia
ZarxioFilgrastim-sndzbrand1,7709259.3%Death
UdenycaPegfilgrastim-cbqvbrand1,23255017.4%Device malfunction
LeukineSargramostimbrand9394462.6%Dyspnoea

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

05221,043Jul 2021: 1,043Aug 2021: 1,043Sep 2021: 900Oct 2021: 867Nov 2021: 1,000Dec 2021: 8582022Jan 2022: 731Feb 2022: 973Mar 2022: 950Apr 2022: 750May 2022: 742Jun 2022: 914Jul 2022: 707Aug 2022: 783Sep 2022: 761Oct 2022: 632Nov 2022: 740Dec 2022: 7912023Jan 2023: 610Feb 2023: 657Mar 2023: 773Apr 2023: 682May 2023: 868Jun 2023: 699Jul 2023: 656Aug 2023: 713Sep 2023: 711Oct 2023: 688Nov 2023: 664Dec 2023: 5512024Jan 2024: 607Feb 2024: 609Mar 2024: 568Apr 2024: 605May 2024: 479Jun 2024: 505Jul 2024: 878Aug 2024: 688Sep 2024: 645Oct 2024: 601Nov 2024: 503Dec 2024: 5642025Jan 2025: 324Feb 2025: 434Mar 2025: 369Apr 2025: 412May 2025: 338Jun 2025: 398Jul 2025: 383Aug 2025: 336Sep 2025: 391Oct 2025: 298Nov 2025: 271Dec 2025: 3972026Jan 2026: 347Feb 2026: 316Mar 2026: 242Apr 2026: 248May 2026: 308Jun 2026: 229

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Wrong technique in product usage processthe product was used in the wrong way9.5%10,347
  2. Device malfunctionthe device did not work properly7.1%7,735
  3. Device use errora mistake in using the device5.6%6,070
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.8%5,281
  5. Device issuea problem with the device4.8%5,251
  6. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells4.1%4,461
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.8%4,177
  8. Bone painbone pain3.5%3,865
  9. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell3.2%3,527
  10. Device occlusionthe device blocked3.1%3,338
  11. Pyrexiafever2.9%3,169
  12. Nauseafeeling sick2.3%2,545
  13. Fatiguetiredness2.2%2,387
  14. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed2%2,145
  15. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.8%1,984
  16. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.7%1,804
  17. Painpain, site not specified1.6%1,720
  18. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.5%1,694
  19. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count1.5%1,685
  20. Vomitingbeing sick1.4%1,513

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 7 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death7.3%8,020
Life-threatening1.8%1,933
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)15.3%16,761
Disability0.4%420
Congenital anomaly0.1%96
Other serious20%21,848
Not serious67.4%73,644

Patient age

Under 20.2%263
2 to 110.9%1,036
12 to 170.5%532
18 to 448.2%8,967
45 to 6425.2%27,599
65 to 7416.5%18,016
75 and over8.5%9,326
Age not given39.9%43,570

Who reported

Physician40.9%44,655
Pharmacist16%17,442
Other health professional28.7%31,418
Lawyer0%34
Consumer or non-health professional13%14,242
Not given1.4%1,518

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about Leukocyte growth factor reports

Which drugs are in the Leukocyte growth factor class on this site?

Neulasta, Filgrastim, Neupogen, Pegfilgrastim, Zarxio and Udenyca and 1 more. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

109,309 reports through June 2026, 3,766 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

device adhesion issue (10.7%), wrong technique in product usage process (9.5%), unintentional medical device removal (8.2%), device malfunction (7.1%) and device use error (5.6%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.