Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Fentanyl Transdermal System: adverse event reports filed with FDA

12,742 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2005–2026.

12,742
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 597 a year
111
reports, 12 months to June 2026
171 in the 12 months before
34%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
999 reports · not verified by FDA

12,742 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Fentanyl Transdermal System" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from March 2005 to June 2026. A further 1,665 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 111 reports listed it, down 35% from 171 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 597 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (22.2%), product adhesion issue (20.6%) and wrong technique in product usage process (11.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 924 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 22.2% of these reports, against 6.3% of all reports in the database.

34% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 7.8% record death among the outcomes and 11.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 78.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (17.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04079Jul 2021: 24Aug 2021: 24Sep 2021: 27Oct 2021: 15Nov 2021: 11Dec 2021: 792022Jan 2022: 34Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 9Apr 2022: 14May 2022: 19Jun 2022: 14Jul 2022: 20Aug 2022: 16Sep 2022: 20Oct 2022: 14Nov 2022: 40Dec 2022: 412023Jan 2023: 11Feb 2023: 17Mar 2023: 27Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 20Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 16Aug 2023: 38Sep 2023: 19Oct 2023: 17Nov 2023: 13Dec 2023: 232024Jan 2024: 18Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 18Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 13Jun 2024: 12Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 14Oct 2024: 11Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 202025Jan 2025: 13Feb 2025: 15Mar 2025: 23Apr 2025: 14May 2025: 23Jun 2025: 18Jul 2025: 21Aug 2025: 16Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 222026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 6

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09331,8662005: 1420052006: 3302007: 6172008: 86520082009: 1,0062010: 342011: 3620112012: 1192013: 6862014: 77420142015: 1,8662016: 1,3462017: 1,72620172018: 1,1072019: 6612020: 37420202021: 3302022: 2512023: 24220232024: 1412025: 1832026: 342026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Fentanyl Transdermal System reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected22.2%2,835
  2. Wrong technique in product usage processthe product was used in the wrong way11.3%1,443
  3. Product quality issuea problem with the product itself9.9%1,258
  4. Painpain, site not specified9.3%1,186
  5. Wrong technique in drug usage processthe medicine was used in the wrong way8.8%1,127
  6. Drug effect decreasedthe medicine had less effect8.7%1,106
  7. Hyperhidrosisexcessive sweating5.6%717
  8. Nauseafeeling sick5.4%684
  9. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine4.6%591
  10. Inappropriate schedule of drug administrationthe medicine was taken at the wrong times3.9%494
  11. Application site erythemaredness where the product was applied3.7%477
  12. Application site pruritusitching where the product was applied3.5%452
  13. Vomitingbeing sick3.3%415
  14. Insomniadifficulty sleeping3.2%402
  15. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right3.1%396
  16. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3%384
  17. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3%376
  18. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount2.8%363
  19. Somnolencedrowsiness2.7%350
  20. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.7%345
  21. Fatiguetiredness2.4%303
  22. Headachehead pain2.2%277
  23. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed2.2%276
  24. Weight decreasedweight loss2.2%276
  25. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2%260

Top 30 of 924 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.8%999
Life-threatening1.2%157
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)11.7%1,496
Disability0.6%78
Congenital anomaly0%6
Other serious18%2,298
Not serious66%8,404

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%30
2 to 110.2%26
12 to 170.2%26
18 to 447.6%965
45 to 6417.9%2,276
65 to 746.7%849
75 and over6.3%806
Age not given60.9%7,764

Patient sex

Female58%7,395
Male33.9%4,323
Not given8%1,024

Who reported

Physician4.3%548
Pharmacist7.6%970
Other health professional5.3%673
Lawyer0.2%29
Consumer or non-health professional78.6%10,014
Not given4%508

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 96.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain4,51835.5%
Back pain1,37510.8%
Cancer pain2592%
Arthralgia2441.9%
Fibromyalgia1441.1%
Pain management1291%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 12,742 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Fentanyl Transdermal System reports
Oxycodone7946.2%
Gabapentin5354.2%
Percocet4243.3%
Fentanyl3612.8%
Aspirin3272.6%
Xanax3252.6%
Lisinopril2902.3%
Morphine2902.3%
Lyrica2862.2%
Cymbalta2572%

Other products listed in reports where Fentanyl Transdermal System is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureFentanyl Transdermal SystemAll reports
Reports as suspect product12,74220,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1111,332,454
Marked serious34%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7891
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports117213
Consumer-filed share78.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 22.2%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Fentanyl Transdermal System reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Fentanyl Transdermal System?

12,742 reports list Fentanyl Transdermal System as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 111 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,665 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Fentanyl Transdermal System reports?

drug ineffective (22.2%), product adhesion issue (20.6%), wrong technique in product usage process (11.3%), product quality issue (9.9%) and pain (9.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Fentanyl Transdermal System was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

34% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.8% of reports include death and 11.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (78.6%), pharmacist (7.6%) and other health professional (5.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Fentanyl Transdermal System rising?

111 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 35% from 171 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Fentanyl Transdermal System was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Fentanyl Transdermal System?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Fentanyl Transdermal System as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,665) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.