Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Alectinib hydrochloride

Alecensa: adverse event reports filed with FDA

7,095 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2016–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

7,095
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 676 a year
481
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,168 in the 12 months before
54.3%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
12.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
913 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2016 and June 2026, 7,095 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Alecensa (alectinib hydrochloride) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (114) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 481 reports listed it, down 59% from 1,168 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 676 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.8% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (9.8%), fatigue (7.1%) and no adverse event (6.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 615 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 9.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

54.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 12.9% record death among the outcomes and 17.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 55% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (22.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0393786Jul 2021: 21Aug 2021: 33Sep 2021: 250Oct 2021: 39Nov 2021: 42Dec 2021: 382022Jan 2022: 33Feb 2022: 30Mar 2022: 57Apr 2022: 46May 2022: 37Jun 2022: 33Jul 2022: 35Aug 2022: 319Sep 2022: 26Oct 2022: 40Nov 2022: 52Dec 2022: 412023Jan 2023: 40Feb 2023: 36Mar 2023: 42Apr 2023: 51May 2023: 30Jun 2023: 54Jul 2023: 36Aug 2023: 287Sep 2023: 31Oct 2023: 25Nov 2023: 40Dec 2023: 502024Jan 2024: 35Feb 2024: 28Mar 2024: 38Apr 2024: 26May 2024: 32Jun 2024: 786Jul 2024: 588Aug 2024: 62Sep 2024: 64Oct 2024: 61Nov 2024: 53Dec 2024: 512025Jan 2025: 59Feb 2025: 77Mar 2025: 48Apr 2025: 39May 2025: 27Jun 2025: 39Jul 2025: 35Aug 2025: 26Sep 2025: 45Oct 2025: 39Nov 2025: 32Dec 2025: 482026Jan 2026: 27Feb 2026: 34Mar 2026: 50Apr 2026: 49May 2026: 46Jun 2026: 50

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09121,8242016: 11820162017: 2512018: 51820182019: 5802020: 86720202021: 6962022: 74920222023: 7222024: 1,82420242025: 5142026: 2562026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Alecensa reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.8%695
  2. Fatiguetiredness7.1%507
  3. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported6.6%466
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.4%457
  5. Constipationconstipation6.2%438
  6. Rashskin rash3.5%251
  7. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.3%233
  8. Myalgiamuscle pain2.9%207
  9. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.9%205
  10. Weight increasedweight gain2.9%203
  11. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.6%187
  12. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs2.5%176
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.3%166
  14. Painpain, site not specified2.2%159
  15. Nauseafeeling sick2.1%148
  16. Pneumonialung infection1.9%135
  17. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.9%134
  18. Oedemaswelling from fluid1.7%118
  19. Coughcough1.6%117
  20. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.6%116
  21. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands1.6%116
  22. Anaemialow red blood cells1.6%115
  23. Arthralgiajoint pain1.6%110
  24. Headachehead pain1.5%108
  25. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.5%104
  26. Pyrexiafever1.4%98
  27. Bradycardiaslow heart rate1.2%87
  28. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.2%87

Top 30 of 615 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.9%913
Life-threatening1%68
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)17.3%1,225
Disability0.7%49
Congenital anomaly0%3
Other serious27.4%1,947
Not serious45.7%3,241

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%2
2 to 110.2%12
12 to 170.1%10
18 to 447.2%510
45 to 6422.9%1,623
65 to 7415.2%1,076
75 and over12%853
Age not given42.4%3,009

Patient sex

Female55.1%3,912
Male36.2%2,569
Not given8.7%614

Who reported

Physician26.7%1,895
Pharmacist8.8%622
Other health professional8.2%582
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional55%3,903
Not given1.3%93

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 62.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Lung neoplasm malignant2,68737.9%
Non-small cell lung cancer1,32018.6%
Lung adenocarcinoma3484.9%
Bronchial carcinoma2763.9%
Neoplasm malignant1672.4%
Non-small cell lung cancer metastatic1572.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 7,095 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Alecensa reports
Eliquis1101.6%
Aspirin961.4%
Dexamethasone931.3%
Pantoprazole911.3%
Furosemide811.1%
Folic acid751.1%
Atorvastatin681%
Crizotinib681%
Lorbrena681%
Omeprazole681%

Other products listed in reports where Alecensa is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAlecensaKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product7,095849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months481—1,332,454
Marked serious54.3%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports12919091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports173264213
Consumer-filed share55%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 9.8%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Alecensa reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Alecensa?

7,095 reports list Alecensa as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 481 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 114 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Alecensa reports?

death (9.8%), fatigue (7.1%), no adverse event (6.6%), off label use (6.4%) and constipation (6.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Alecensa was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

54.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.9% of reports include death and 17.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (55%), physician (26.7%) and pharmacist (8.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Alecensa rising?

481 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 59% from 1,168 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Alecensa was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Alecensa?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Alecensa as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (114) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.