Reported Reactions

Devices › System, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment

Device brand name · System endovascular graft aortic aneurysm treatment

Valiant Captivia - FF: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,532 reports name it, 2014–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Ireland. Product code MIH.

1,532
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 125 a year
95
reports, 12 months to August 2026
97 in the 12 months before
35.4%
classified as malfunction
14.8% across the product code
15.1%
classified as death, as reported
232 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,532 reports that name the brand "Valiant Captivia - FF" (system endovascular graft aortic aneurysm treatment), received between April 2014 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Ireland. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

95 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 97 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (49.5%), malfunction (35.4%) and death (15.1%); across all system, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment reports (product code MIH) death is recorded in 9.8% and malfunction in 14.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are leak/splash (37.9%), activation, positioning or separation problem (9.7%) and malposition of device (6.7%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, vascular dissection and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01019Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 7Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 12Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 8Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 10Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 15Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 17Dec 2022: 142023Jan 2023: 14Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 19Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 11Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 15Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 62024Jan 2024: 11Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 14Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 15Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 11Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 10Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 11Apr 2025: 9May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 8Jul 2025: 14Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 112026Jan 2026: 6Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 12Apr 2026: 7May 2026: 11Jun 2026: 11Jul 2026: 4Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01062122014: 620142015: 2122016: 18620162017: 1782018: 14220182019: 1082020: 6920202021: 1232022: 13720222023: 1092024: 9220242025: 1122026: 582026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death15.1%232
Injury49.5%758
Malfunction35.4%542
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%1,532
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 72,039 reports carrying product code MIH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Leak/splashthe device leaked58037.9%33.8%
Activation, positioning or separation problem1499.7%1.7%
Malposition of device1036.7%3.9%
Material deformation815.3%1.4%
Positioning problem684.4%0.8%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove533.5%2.6%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off442.9%1%
Device damaged by another device332.2%0.4%
Migration or expulsion of device322.1%6.1%
Defective component261.7%0.2%
Difficult to position261.7%1.5%
Difficult or delayed positioning251.6%1.4%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert241.6%1%
Breakthe device broke221.4%1.3%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material140.9%1.1%
Fracturea broken bone100.7%0.7%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked100.7%1.7%
Inability to irrigate90.6%0.1%
Defective devicethe device was defective80.5%0.1%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked80.5%5.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury19012.4%
Vascular dissection1469.5%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1137.4%
Perforation of vessels946.1%
Painpain, site not specified714.6%
Rupturethe device burst694.5%
Stroke/cva493.2%
Occlusion442.9%
Ischemia392.5%
Obstruction/occlusion382.5%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped362.3%
Intimal dissection342.2%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension342.2%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding281.8%
Myocardial infarctionheart attack281.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureValiant Captivia - FFProduct code MIHAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,53272,03926,136,888
Share of that pool—2.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports151989
Classified as injury49.5%74.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction35.4%14.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MIH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
GORE EXCLUDER AAA Endoprosthesis9,5906334.8%
Afx3,584305%
Gore Tag Thoracic Endoprosthesis2,829414.7%
Endurant1,861014.7%
Endurant Iis Bifurcated Stent Graft1,70612111.6%
GORE TAG Conformable Thoracic Stent Graft with ACTIVE CONTROL System1,4743117.7%
Endurant Stent Graft1,4715610%
Afx21,2631236.4%
Medtronic Aneurx Bifurcated Stent Graft Flexible1,26309.7%
Zenith Flex AAA Endovascular Graft Bifurcated Main Body1,172156.1%
Valiant Navion1,1494017.4%
Ancure Endograft System1,12605.1%
Endurant Abdominal Stent Graft System997012.9%
Afx System88208.4%
Ovation IX870453.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Valiant Captivia - FF reports

How many FDA reports name Valiant Captivia - FF?

1,532 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 95 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (49.5%), malfunction (35.4%) and death (15.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

leak/splash (37.9%), activation, positioning or separation problem (9.7%), malposition of device (6.7%), material deformation (5.3%) and positioning problem (4.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Valiant Captivia - FF was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.