Reported Reactions

Devices › System, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment

Device brand name · Infrarenal bifurcated stent graft

Afx System: medical device reports filed with FDA

882 reports name it, 2011–2015. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Endologix. Product code MIH.

882
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 59 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
8.3%
classified as malfunction
14.8% across the product code
8.4%
classified as death, as reported
74 reports · not verified by FDA

882 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Afx System" (infrarenal bifurcated stent graft); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Endologix; received from September 2011 to October 2015. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (82.3%), death (8.4%) and malfunction (8.3%); across all system, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment reports (product code MIH) death is recorded in 9.8% and malfunction in 14.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are leak/splash (59.4%), insufficient device problem information (10.3%) and occlusion within device (6.8%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, death and rupture. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Afx System was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in October 2015.

By year received

01763522011: 1320112012: 8520122013: 24520132014: 35220142015: 1872015

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death8.4%74
Injury82.3%726
Malfunction8.3%73
Other0%0
Not given1%9

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%882
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 72,039 reports carrying product code MIH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Leak/splashthe device leaked52459.4%33.8%
Insufficient device problem information9110.3%6.4%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked606.8%5.4%
Material separation394.4%1%
Failure to adhere or bond333.7%1.8%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly293.3%0.7%
Detachment of device component242.7%0.7%
Migration or expulsion of device232.6%6.1%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked171.9%1.7%
Breakthe device broke151.7%1.3%
Hole in material151.7%1%
Malposition of device151.7%3.9%
Retraction problem141.6%0.4%
Difficult or delayed positioning131.5%1.4%
Difficult to advance121.4%0.6%
Positioning problem111.2%0.8%
Disconnection91%0.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated80.9%0.6%
Material rupture80.9%0.2%
Collapse70.8%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding56263.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9610.9%
Rupturethe device burst728.2%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain606.8%
Painpain, site not specified576.5%
Aneurysm475.3%
Failure of implant465.2%
Occlusion394.4%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension323.6%
Thrombus303.4%
Thrombosis262.9%
Ischemia161.8%
Therapeutic response, decreased161.8%
Blood loss101.1%
Calcium deposits/calcification101.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAfx SystemProduct code MIHAll MAUDE reports
Reports88272,03926,136,888
Share of that pool—1.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports84989
Classified as injury82.3%74.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction8.3%14.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MIH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
GORE EXCLUDER AAA Endoprosthesis9,5906334.8%
Afx3,584305%
Gore Tag Thoracic Endoprosthesis2,829414.7%
Endurant1,861014.7%
Endurant Iis Bifurcated Stent Graft1,70612111.6%
Valiant Captivia - FF1,5329515.1%
GORE TAG Conformable Thoracic Stent Graft with ACTIVE CONTROL System1,4743117.7%
Endurant Stent Graft1,4715610%
Afx21,2631236.4%
Medtronic Aneurx Bifurcated Stent Graft Flexible1,26309.7%
Zenith Flex AAA Endovascular Graft Bifurcated Main Body1,172156.1%
Valiant Navion1,1494017.4%
Ancure Endograft System1,12605.1%
Endurant Abdominal Stent Graft System997012.9%
Ovation IX870453.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Afx System reports

How many FDA reports name Afx System?

882 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (82.3%), death (8.4%) and malfunction (8.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

leak/splash (59.4%), insufficient device problem information (10.3%), occlusion within device (6.8%), material separation (4.4%) and failure to adhere or bond (3.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Afx System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.