Reported Reactions

Devices › System, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment

Device brand name · Main body

Ovation IX: medical device reports filed with FDA

870 reports name it, 2017–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Endologix Santa Rosa. Product code MIH.

870
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 95 a year
45
reports, 12 months to August 2026
42 in the 12 months before
0.7%
classified as malfunction
14.8% across the product code
3.1%
classified as death, as reported
27 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 870 reports that name the brand "Ovation IX" (main body), received between May 2017 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Endologix Santa Rosa. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

45 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 42 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (96.2%), death (3.1%) and malfunction (0.7%); across all system, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment reports (product code MIH) death is recorded in 9.8% and malfunction in 14.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (20.1%), leak/splash (16.6%) and material integrity problem (13.2%). The patient problems coded most often are failure of implant, aneurysm and clinical endoleak. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0612Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 7Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 6Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 12Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 42025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 6Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 4Jul 2026: 5Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01062112017: 6820172018: 21120182019: 16820192020: 10820202021: 6920212022: 6520222023: 5320232024: 5120242025: 5120252026: 262026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.1%27
Injury96.2%837
Malfunction0.7%6
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%870
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 72,039 reports carrying product code MIH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information17520.1%6.4%
Leak/splashthe device leaked14416.6%33.8%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material11513.2%1.1%
Fluid/blood leak10712.3%1.8%
Lack of effect829.4%0.7%
Off-label use819.3%1.1%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method687.8%1.3%
Obstruction of flow465.3%1%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient455.2%3.4%
Malposition of device424.8%3.9%
Failure to adhere or bond404.6%1.8%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed394.5%1.4%
Complete blockage384.4%0.4%
Deformation due to compressive stress354%0.5%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked333.8%5.4%
Unintended movement303.4%0.6%
Partial blockage242.8%0.3%
Device-device incompatibility212.4%0.4%
Material puncture/hole192.2%1.6%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly151.7%0.7%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Failure of implant54863%
Aneurysm15818.2%
Clinical endoleak12314.1%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension11913.7%
Occlusion839.5%
Stenosis758.6%
Obstruction/occlusion546.2%
Painpain, site not specified404.6%
Ischemia303.4%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term283.2%
Rupturethe device burst222.5%
Thrombosis/thrombus182.1%
Thrombosis161.8%
Thrombus121.4%
Claudication111.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureOvation IXProduct code MIHAll MAUDE reports
Reports87072,03926,136,888
Share of that pool—1.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports31989
Classified as injury96.2%74.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.7%14.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MIH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
GORE EXCLUDER AAA Endoprosthesis9,5906334.8%
Afx3,584305%
Gore Tag Thoracic Endoprosthesis2,829414.7%
Endurant1,861014.7%
Endurant Iis Bifurcated Stent Graft1,70612111.6%
Valiant Captivia - FF1,5329515.1%
GORE TAG Conformable Thoracic Stent Graft with ACTIVE CONTROL System1,4743117.7%
Endurant Stent Graft1,4715610%
Afx21,2631236.4%
Medtronic Aneurx Bifurcated Stent Graft Flexible1,26309.7%
Zenith Flex AAA Endovascular Graft Bifurcated Main Body1,172156.1%
Valiant Navion1,1494017.4%
Ancure Endograft System1,12605.1%
Endurant Abdominal Stent Graft System997012.9%
Afx System88208.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Ovation IX reports

How many FDA reports name Ovation IX?

870 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 45 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (96.2%), death (3.1%) and malfunction (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (20.1%), leak/splash (16.6%), material integrity problem (13.2%), fluid/blood leak (12.3%) and lack of effect (9.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Ovation IX was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.