Reported Reactions

Devices › System, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment

Device brand name · System endovascular graft aortic aneurysm treatment

Valiant Captivia - CW: medical device reports filed with FDA

588 reports name it, 2015–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Ireland. Product code MIH.

588
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 53 a year
25
reports, 12 months to August 2026
14 in the 12 months before
32.1%
classified as malfunction
14.8% across the product code
16.7%
classified as death, as reported
98 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 588 reports that name the brand "Valiant Captivia - CW" (system endovascular graft aortic aneurysm treatment), received between May 2015 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Ireland. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

25 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 79% from 14 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (51.2%), malfunction (32.1%) and death (16.7%); across all system, endovascular graft, aortic aneurysm treatment reports (product code MIH) death is recorded in 9.8% and malfunction in 14.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are leak/splash (45.2%), malposition of device (6.5%) and activation, positioning or separation problem (3.9%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, vascular dissection and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0510Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 72022Jan 2022: 10Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 1Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0561112015: 11120152016: 842017: 5520172018: 522019: 4220192020: 352021: 6820212022: 392023: 3720232024: 292025: 1620252026: 20

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death16.7%98
Injury51.2%301
Malfunction32.1%189
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%588
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 72,039 reports carrying product code MIH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Leak/splashthe device leaked26645.2%33.8%
Malposition of device386.5%3.9%
Activation, positioning or separation problem233.9%1.7%
Migration or expulsion of device193.2%6.1%
Material deformation172.9%1.4%
Inability to irrigate152.6%0.1%
Positioning problem132.2%0.8%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off122%1%
Difficult to position101.7%1.5%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove91.5%2.6%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked81.4%5.4%
Device damaged by another device71.2%0.4%
Fracturea broken bone71.2%0.7%
Device difficult to setup or prepare61%0%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked61%1.7%
Breakthe device broke50.9%1.3%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert50.9%1%
Defective component20.3%0.2%
Device expiration issue20.3%0.1%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size20.3%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury8614.6%
Vascular dissection6110.4%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term539%
Perforation of vessels437.3%
Painpain, site not specified366.1%
Rupturethe device burst345.8%
Obstruction/occlusion183.1%
Occlusion172.9%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped152.6%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue142.4%
Intimal dissection142.4%
Ischemia111.9%
Paralysis101.7%
Stroke/cva101.7%
Myocardial infarctionheart attack91.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureValiant Captivia - CWProduct code MIHAll MAUDE reports
Reports58872,03926,136,888
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports167989
Classified as injury51.2%74.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction32.1%14.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MIH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
GORE EXCLUDER AAA Endoprosthesis9,5906334.8%
Afx3,584305%
Gore Tag Thoracic Endoprosthesis2,829414.7%
Endurant1,861014.7%
Endurant Iis Bifurcated Stent Graft1,70612111.6%
Valiant Captivia - FF1,5329515.1%
GORE TAG Conformable Thoracic Stent Graft with ACTIVE CONTROL System1,4743117.7%
Endurant Stent Graft1,4715610%
Afx21,2631236.4%
Medtronic Aneurx Bifurcated Stent Graft Flexible1,26309.7%
Zenith Flex AAA Endovascular Graft Bifurcated Main Body1,172156.1%
Valiant Navion1,1494017.4%
Ancure Endograft System1,12605.1%
Endurant Abdominal Stent Graft System997012.9%
Afx System88208.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Valiant Captivia - CW reports

How many FDA reports name Valiant Captivia - CW?

588 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 25 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (51.2%), malfunction (32.1%) and death (16.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

leak/splash (45.2%), malposition of device (6.5%), activation, positioning or separation problem (3.9%), migration or expulsion of device (3.2%) and material deformation (2.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Valiant Captivia - CW was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.