Reported Reactions

Devices › Device, incontinence, mechanical/hydraulic

Device brand name · Aus

Artificial Urinary Sphincter: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,360 reports name it, 1996–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: American Medical Systems. Product code EZY.

2,360
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 77 a year
3
reports, 12 months to August 2026
3 in the 12 months before
0.4%
classified as malfunction
2.8% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 2,360 reports that name the brand "Artificial Urinary Sphincter" (aus), received between January 1996 and December 2025; the manufacturer given most often on reports is American Medical Systems. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

3 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 3 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.4%), malfunction (0.4%) and other (0.1%); across all device, incontinence, mechanical/hydraulic reports (product code EZY) death is recorded in 0% and malfunction in 2.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are explanted (0.8%), replace (0.4%) and material erosion (0.2%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, hospitalization required and surgical procedure, repeated. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

08141,6281996: 66219961997: 1,6281998: 419981999: 62000: 1320002001: 32002: 820022003: 122004: 620042009: 92011: 320112025: 6

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%1
Injury99.4%2,346
Malfunction0.4%9
Other0.1%2
Not given0.1%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.2%2,340
Voluntary report0.5%11
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.4%9

Grey bar: all 18,458 reports carrying product code EZY. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Explanted200.8%0.5%
Replace100.4%0.2%
Material erosion50.2%0.2%
Leak/splashthe device leaked40.2%0.1%
Malfunction40.2%0.1%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)40.2%0%
Device remains implanted30.1%0%
Device issuea problem with the device10%0.1%
Implant, removal of10%0.1%
Migration or expulsion of device10%0.1%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10%0%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material10%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure90.4%
Hospitalization required70.3%
Surgical procedure, repeated70.3%
Erosion60.3%
Failure of implant50.2%
Incontinence40.2%
Surgical procedure, additional30.1%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)20.1%
Allergic reactionan allergic reaction10%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10%
Disability10%
Injurya physical injury10%
Numbnessnumbness10%
Painpain, site not specified10%
Rashskin rash10%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureArtificial Urinary SphincterProduct code EZYAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,36018,45826,136,888
Share of that pool—12.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports009
Classified as injury99.4%97%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.4%2.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.2%98.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code EZY

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
AMS 800 Urinary Control System9,2497430%
AMS 800 Urinary Control System with Inhibizone4,18500%
AMS 800 Artificial Urinary Sphincter2,1551,1490%
Inflatable Penile Prosthesis3,49180%
Acticon Neosphincter30000%
Dynaflex Penile Prosthesis80500%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Artificial Urinary Sphincter reports

How many FDA reports name Artificial Urinary Sphincter?

2,360 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 3 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.4%), malfunction (0.4%) and other (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

explanted (0.8%), replace (0.4%), material erosion (0.2%), leak/splash (0.2%) and malfunction (0.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.2%) and voluntary reports (0.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Artificial Urinary Sphincter was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.