Reported Reactions

Devices › Device types

FDA product code KWT · class 2 · Orthopedic

Prosthesis, shoulder, non-constrained, metal/polymer cemented: medical device reports filed with FDA

5,693 reports carry this product code, 1996–2026; 16 brands with a page.

5,693
reports with this product code
0% of all MAUDE reports
641
reports, 12 months to August 2026
781 in the 12 months before
12.5%
classified as malfunction
62.3% across all reports
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
0.9% across all reports

Product code KWT is FDA's classification for "Prosthesis, shoulder, non-constrained, metal/polymer cemented" (orthopedic panel), a class 2 device. 5,693 medical device reports carry this product code, 0% of the MAUDE database, from December 1996 to August 2026.

641 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 18% from 781 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (85.7%), malfunction (12.5%) and other (1.4%). 16 brand names with a page on this site carry this code; the brands table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Brands with this product code

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as deathClassified as malfunction
Equinoxe9931080.1%9.8%
Equinoxe Reverse Shoulder Components2552000%0.2%
Specific Device Not Reported168200.2%0.1%
Equinoxe Reverse Humeral Adapter Tray13200%36.6%
Equinoxe Reverse Humeral Liner12900%38.2%
SMR Shoulder601610%9.7%
Modular Center Post Reamer7210%96.5%
Screw200%14.8%
Unknown Extremity201.9%1.9%
Comp Rvrs 25mm Bsplt Ha+adptr1170%2.9%
Exactech100%53.6%
Unk head11460.5%0.2%
Unk Reamer1710%96.3%
Unknown Knee Components1420.3%6.1%
Unknown Shoulder Humeral Stems181.7%5%
Unknown Shoulder Implant180.8%2.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Manufacturers named

Manufacturer (as written on reports)ReportsShare
Exactech3,74265.7%
Limacorporate2594.5%
Zimmer Tmt370.6%
Biomet250.4%
Ascension Orthopedics210.4%
Tornier210.4%
Synthes Selzach100.2%
Depuy France Sas 300389557570.1%
Depuy International 801037970.1%
Fx Solutions70.1%
Onkos Surgical50.1%
Biomet Orthopedics10%
C R Bard Basd10%
Depuy France10%
Depuy International10%

Reports by month, five years

04487Sep 2021: 17Oct 2021: 20Nov 2021: 27Dec 2021: 252022Jan 2022: 18Feb 2022: 31Mar 2022: 24Apr 2022: 29May 2022: 18Jun 2022: 39Jul 2022: 13Aug 2022: 15Sep 2022: 25Oct 2022: 18Nov 2022: 18Dec 2022: 252023Jan 2023: 14Feb 2023: 14Mar 2023: 17Apr 2023: 22May 2023: 42Jun 2023: 36Jul 2023: 22Aug 2023: 47Sep 2023: 39Oct 2023: 47Nov 2023: 36Dec 2023: 252024Jan 2024: 23Feb 2024: 36Mar 2024: 51Apr 2024: 59May 2024: 51Jun 2024: 38Jul 2024: 26Aug 2024: 61Sep 2024: 58Oct 2024: 74Nov 2024: 54Dec 2024: 702025Jan 2025: 57Feb 2025: 81Mar 2025: 52Apr 2025: 87May 2025: 86Jun 2025: 66Jul 2025: 46Aug 2025: 50Sep 2025: 45Oct 2025: 83Nov 2025: 67Dec 2025: 442026Jan 2026: 57Feb 2026: 48Mar 2026: 50Apr 2026: 45May 2026: 53Jun 2026: 55Jul 2026: 51Aug 2026: 43

FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

Event type and report source

Event type

Death0.2%11
Injury85.7%4,879
Malfunction12.5%712
Other1.4%80
Not given0.2%11

Who filed

Manufacturer report99.2%5,650
Voluntary report0.5%28
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%1
Not given0.2%14

Grey bar: all 26,136,888 MAUDE reports.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Device dislodged or dislocated93416.4%
Insufficient device problem information60210.6%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off4848.5%
Fracturea broken bone4457.8%
Naturally worn4087.2%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth3426%
Unstable2895.1%
Loose or intermittent connection2284%
Breakthe device broke2153.8%
Implant, removal of1202.1%
Device slipped901.6%
Explanted891.6%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed821.4%
Migration or expulsion of device751.3%
Loss of or failure to bond641.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly591%
Loose581%
Detachment of device component561%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem450.8%
Patient device interaction problem420.7%

Questions about prosthesis, shoulder, non-constrained, metal/polymer cemented reports

What is product code KWT?

FDA's classification code for "Prosthesis, shoulder, non-constrained, metal/polymer cemented", class 2, reviewed by the orthopedic panel. Every device report carries the product code of the device involved.

How many reports carry this code?

5,693 reports through August 2026, 641 of them in the latest 12 months.

Which brands appear most often?

Equinoxe (993), Equinoxe Reverse Shoulder Components (255), Specific Device Not Reported (168), Equinoxe Reverse Humeral Adapter Tray (132) and Equinoxe Reverse Humeral Liner (129). Widely used products collect more reports because more people use them.

Can the brands table be used to rank the devices?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." Brands differ in how many are in use, how long they have been sold and how reports are collected.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.