Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, shoulder, hemi-, humeral, metallic uncemented

Device brand name · Prosthesis shoulder

Unknown Extremity: medical device reports filed with FDA

155 reports name it, 2015–2017. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biomet Orthopedics. Product code HSD.

155
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 13 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
1.9%
classified as malfunction
15.3% across the product code
1.9%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 155 reports that name the brand "Unknown Extremity" (prosthesis shoulder), received between January 2015 and November 2017; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biomet Orthopedics. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (96.1%), death (1.9%) and malfunction (1.9%); across all prosthesis, shoulder, hemi-, humeral, metallic uncemented reports (product code HSD) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 15.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (54.2%), migration or expulsion of device (17.4%) and device dislodged or dislocated (7.1%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, bone fracture(s) and joint dislocation. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Unknown Extremity was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2017.

By year received

039782015: 5720152016: 7820162017: 202017

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.9%3
Injury96.1%149
Malfunction1.9%3
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%155
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 10,267 reports carrying product code HSD. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information8454.2%13.2%
Migration or expulsion of device2717.4%1.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated117.1%14.8%
Fracturea broken bone63.9%5.5%
Loose or intermittent connection63.9%1.7%
Device slipped42.6%1%
Naturally worn42.6%2.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly31.9%0.8%
Loss of or failure to bond31.9%1.6%
Unstable31.9%1.4%
Malposition of device21.3%0.9%
Compatibility problem10.6%0%
Component missing10.6%0.1%
Device-device incompatibility10.6%0.2%
Material erosion10.6%0.2%
Material separation10.6%0.4%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem10.6%0.1%
Metal shedding debris10.6%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified2314.8%
Bone fracture(s)95.8%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint85.2%
Loss of range of motion53.2%
Failure of implant42.6%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint42.6%
Tissue damage42.6%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31.9%
Extraskeletal ossification31.9%
Arthritis21.3%
Autoimmune disorder21.3%
Damage to ligament(s)21.3%
Erosion21.3%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue21.3%
Nerve damage21.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown ExtremityProduct code HSDAll MAUDE reports
Reports15510,26726,136,888
Share of that pool—1.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports1939
Classified as injury96.1%81.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.9%15.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code HSD

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Dxtend Metaglene355140%
Dxtend Glenosphere Std D38mm32350%
Unknown Shoulder Metaglene305160.3%
Dxtend Stand Pe Cup D38 +3mm30780%
Dxtend Screw Lock D4 5x36mm245110%
Flexible Shaft W/Cir Connector152120%
Dxtend Screw No Lock D4 5x18mm199210%
Unknown Shoulder Implant25480.8%
Dxtend Glenosphere Std D42mm22730%
Unknown Shoulder Humeral Stems23981.7%
Dxtend Screw Lock D4 5x30mm192120%
Dxtend Glenosphere Ecc D42mm16400%
Dxtend Stand Pe Cup D38 +6mm19620%
Dxtend Stand Pe Cup D38 +9mm16250%
Unknown Shoulder Glenosphere335240.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Extremity reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Extremity?

155 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (96.1%), death (1.9%) and malfunction (1.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (54.2%), migration or expulsion of device (17.4%), device dislodged or dislocated (7.1%), fracture (3.9%) and loose or intermittent connection (3.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Extremity was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.