Reported Reactions

Months

Reports received by FDA, by month

May 2012: adverse event reports received by FDA

53,744 drug reports (FAERS) and 38,916 device reports (MAUDE).

53,744
drug reports received
46,336 a year earlier
51,763
monthly average, preceding 12 months
3.8% against the average
38,916
device reports received
32,197 a year earlier

FDA received 53,744 drug adverse event reports in May 2012, against 46,336 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 51,763 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 38,916 reports that month (32,197 a year earlier).

The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Tysabri (2,356), Enbrel (1,991) and Nuvigil (1,252), and the reactions recorded most often were death (2,425), drug ineffective (2,417) and pain (2,299).

Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Treanda (38.4× its average), Naproxen sodium (26.4× its average) and Nuvigil (22.5× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.

Drug reports by month, three years to May 2012

034,34168,681Jun 2009: 27,447Jul 2009: 28,323Aug 2009: 31,311Sep 2009: 31,075Oct 2009: 28,431Nov 2009: 29,373Dec 2009: 38,9012010Jan 2010: 28,744Feb 2010: 31,674Mar 2010: 34,048Apr 2010: 30,845May 2010: 30,650Jun 2010: 36,404Jul 2010: 66,895Aug 2010: 49,862Sep 2010: 41,794Oct 2010: 39,544Nov 2010: 39,725Dec 2010: 53,5962011Jan 2011: 46,519Feb 2011: 38,469Mar 2011: 41,538Apr 2011: 44,059May 2011: 46,336Jun 2011: 43,250Jul 2011: 42,700Aug 2011: 54,310Sep 2011: 46,800Oct 2011: 51,716Nov 2011: 55,012Dec 2011: 46,8772012Jan 2012: 68,681Feb 2012: 51,655Mar 2012: 55,316Apr 2012: 58,500May 2012: 53,744

Drugs listed most often as suspect products

DrugReportsShare of the month
Tysabri2,3564.4%
Enbrel1,9913.7%
Nuvigil1,2522.3%
Remicade1,2292.3%
Mirena1,0201.9%
Soliris9981.9%
Treanda8641.6%
Pradaxa8491.6%
Naproxen sodium7881.5%
Yaz7861.5%
Lyrica7811.5%
Nexium7111.3%
Humira7041.3%
Avonex6661.2%
Forteo6541.2%

FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Largest rises against their own average

DrugReports this monthTimes its 12-month average
Treanda86438.4×
Naproxen sodium78826.4×
Nuvigil1,25222.5×
Elspar12611.2×
Dianeal Low Calcium W/Dextrose 1 5%24910.2×
Veramyst1039.1×
Infliximab2149×
Faslodex1378.3×

Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.

Reactions recorded most often

MedDRA termReportsShare of the month
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2,4254.5%
Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2,4174.5%
Painpain, site not specified2,2994.3%
Nauseafeeling sick2,2684.2%
Fatiguetiredness2,0863.9%
Dyspnoeashortness of breath1,9713.7%
Headachehead pain1,9623.7%
Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1,6673.1%
Vomitingbeing sick1,5522.9%
Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1,5482.9%
Anxietyanxiety1,5282.8%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1,4892.8%
Falla fall1,3692.5%
Pyrexiafever1,2262.3%
Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1,1662.2%

Devices named most often

BrandReportsShare of device reports
Flogard1,3653.5%
Onetouchping Glucosemgmtsystem7291.9%
Homechoice6281.6%
Ot Ultralink Meter5361.4%
Ot Ping Meter5231.3%
Riata Active Fixation5071.3%
Paradigm Real-Time Insulin Infusion Pump5001.3%
Access3871%
Homechoice Pro3360.9%
Animas Insulin Infusion Pump3020.8%

Questions about May 2012

How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in May 2012?

53,744 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 38,916 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 46,336 drug reports.

Which drugs were listed most often?

Tysabri (2,356), Enbrel (1,991), Nuvigil (1,252), Remicade (1,229) and Mirena (1,020).

Which reactions were recorded most often?

death (2,425), drug ineffective (2,417), pain (2,299), nausea (2,268) and fatigue (2,086).

Can the count for a month still change?

Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.

Does a busy month mean something happened that month?

Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.