Reports received by FDA, by month
October 2008: adverse event reports received by FDA
24,629 drug reports (FAERS) and 17,481 device reports (MAUDE).
- 24,629
- drug reports received
- 22,963 a year earlier
- 25,435
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- -3.2% against the average
- 17,481
- device reports received
- 15,124 a year earlier
FDA received 24,629 drug adverse event reports in October 2008, against 22,963 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 25,435 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 17,481 reports that month (15,124 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Premarin (1,259), Mirena (939) and Provera (735), and the reactions recorded most often were breast cancer (1,101), nausea (1,042) and dyspnoea (808).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Cycrin (11.7× its average), Vyvanse (11.2× its average) and Premarin (9.3× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to October 2008
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Premarin | 1,259 | 5.1% |
| Mirena | 939 | 3.8% |
| Provera | 735 | 3% |
| Arimidex | 666 | 2.7% |
| Avonex | 560 | 2.3% |
| Tiotropium bromide | 385 | 1.6% |
| Remicade | 364 | 1.5% |
| Vyvanse | 362 | 1.5% |
| Chantix | 303 | 1.2% |
| Enbrel | 290 | 1.2% |
| Humira | 288 | 1.2% |
| Tysabri | 274 | 1.1% |
| Zometa | 243 | 1% |
| Forteo | 234 | 1% |
| Rebif | 220 | 0.9% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Cycrin | 182 | 11.7× |
| Vyvanse | 362 | 11.2× |
| Premarin | 1,259 | 9.3× |
| Medroxyprogesterone | 157 | 9.1× |
| Avapro | 157 | 9× |
| Provera | 735 | 7.8× |
| Metformin hydrochloride | 78 | 7.1× |
| Arimidex | 666 | 6.9× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Breast cancerbreast cancer | 1,101 | 4.5% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 1,042 | 4.2% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 808 | 3.3% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 769 | 3.1% |
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 747 | 3% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 718 | 2.9% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 691 | 2.8% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 684 | 2.8% |
| Headachehead pain | 673 | 2.7% |
| Pyrexiafever | 645 | 2.6% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 630 | 2.6% |
| Depressionlow mood | 568 | 2.3% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 557 | 2.3% |
| Astheniaweakness or lack of energy | 533 | 2.2% |
| Arthralgiajoint pain | 520 | 2.1% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Flo-Gard 6201 Volumetric Infusion Pump | 458 | 2.6% |
| Colleague Cx Volumetric Infusion Pump | 374 | 2.1% |
| Colleague Volumetric Infusion Pump | 248 | 1.4% |
| Accu-Chek Comfort Curve Test Strips | 217 | 1.2% |
| Ge Oec 9800 | 212 | 1.2% |
| Cypher Sirolimus-Eluting Coronary Stent | 208 | 1.2% |
| Colleague 3cx Volumetric Infusion Pump | 194 | 1.1% |
| One Touch Ultralink Meter | 191 | 1.1% |
| M Series | 167 | 1% |
| Harmonic Ace 36 Cm | 153 | 0.9% |
Questions about October 2008
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in October 2008?
24,629 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 17,481 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 22,963 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Premarin (1,259), Mirena (939), Provera (735), Arimidex (666) and Avonex (560).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
breast cancer (1,101), nausea (1,042), dyspnoea (808), vomiting (769) and drug ineffective (747).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.