Reported Reactions

Drugs › Gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist

Brand name · Goserelin

Zoladex: adverse event reports filed with FDA

7,058 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist. Also reported as Zoladex La, Zoladex /00732101/, Zoladex /00732102/.

7,058
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 314 a year
396
reports, 12 months to June 2026
374 in the 12 months before
88.5%
marked serious by the reporter
50.5% across the class
26.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,849 reports · not verified by FDA

7,058 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Zoladex (goserelin) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 3,168 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 396 reports listed it, close to the 374 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 314 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 11.5% of the reports for the gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (21.2%), malignant neoplasm progression (10.9%) and hot flush (4.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 903 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 21.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist drug (4.2%).

88.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (50.5% across the class); 26.2% record death among the outcomes and 23.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 35.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (16.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04181Jul 2021: 48Aug 2021: 39Sep 2021: 38Oct 2021: 42Nov 2021: 46Dec 2021: 212022Jan 2022: 21Feb 2022: 38Mar 2022: 45Apr 2022: 23May 2022: 49Jun 2022: 69Jul 2022: 33Aug 2022: 40Sep 2022: 45Oct 2022: 39Nov 2022: 79Dec 2022: 512023Jan 2023: 44Feb 2023: 61Mar 2023: 64Apr 2023: 33May 2023: 46Jun 2023: 81Jul 2023: 28Aug 2023: 28Sep 2023: 37Oct 2023: 44Nov 2023: 49Dec 2023: 352024Jan 2024: 44Feb 2024: 44Mar 2024: 21Apr 2024: 51May 2024: 54Jun 2024: 18Jul 2024: 53Aug 2024: 50Sep 2024: 18Oct 2024: 23Nov 2024: 37Dec 2024: 302025Jan 2025: 26Feb 2025: 17Mar 2025: 28Apr 2025: 23May 2025: 44Jun 2025: 25Jul 2025: 17Aug 2025: 23Sep 2025: 25Oct 2025: 14Nov 2025: 31Dec 2025: 252026Jan 2026: 20Feb 2026: 22Mar 2026: 58Apr 2026: 47May 2026: 39Jun 2026: 75

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02955892004: 14720042005: 1232006: 1532007: 19220072008: 1662009: 1672010: 12520102011: 2122012: 2752013: 27920132014: 3212015: 4072016: 34920162017: 2892018: 4182019: 36720192020: 3952021: 5892022: 53220222023: 5502024: 4432025: 29820252026: 261

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Zoladex reports recording the termmedian drug in gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term21.2%1,498
  2. Hot flusha hot flush4.8%341
  3. Fatiguetiredness3.8%268
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.9%203
  5. Arthralgiajoint pain2.8%197
  6. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.7%188
  7. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2.4%168
  8. Headachehead pain2.2%154
  9. Nauseafeeling sick2.2%154
  10. Painpain, site not specified2.1%151
  11. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.1%149
  12. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.9%137
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.9%137
  14. Falla fall1.8%128
  15. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue1.7%118
  16. Disease progressionthe disease advanced1.6%116
  17. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.6%112
  18. Breast cancerbreast cancer1.5%105
  19. Vomitingbeing sick1.4%98
  20. Weight increasedweight gain1.3%94
  21. Back painback pain1.3%92
  22. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.3%92
  23. Weight decreasedweight loss1.3%91
  24. Depressionlow mood1.3%89
  25. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.2%88

Top 30 of 903 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death26.2%1,849
Life-threatening3.1%222
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.2%1,640
Disability3.7%263
Congenital anomaly0.2%17
Other serious48.7%3,440
Not serious11.5%813

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 61,409 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%3
2 to 110.1%8
12 to 170%1
18 to 449.1%641
45 to 6410.4%733
65 to 749.9%701
75 and over16.5%1,164
Age not given53.9%3,807

Patient sex

Female19.3%1,363
Male38.6%2,723
Not given42.1%2,972

Who reported

Physician29.8%2,104
Pharmacist7.1%501
Other health professional18.6%1,312
Lawyer0.1%8
Consumer or non-health professional35.6%2,516
Not given8.7%617

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 16.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Prostate cancer2,87940.8%
Breast cancer6038.5%
Breast cancer metastatic2193.1%
Breast cancer female1842.6%
Endometriosis1662.4%
Neoplasm malignant1201.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 7,058 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Zoladex reports
Goserelin1,18216.7%
Casodex5788.2%
Letrozole5728.1%
Tamoxifen3695.2%
Bicalutamide2243.2%
Fulvestrant2233.2%
Docetaxel2072.9%
Palbociclib1822.6%
Denosumab1772.5%
Faslodex1722.4%

Other products listed in reports where Zoladex is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureZoladexGonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product7,05861,40920,646,523
Share of that pool—11.5%0%
Reports, latest 12 months396—1,332,454
Marked serious88.5%50.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports26217791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports232151213
Consumer-filed share35.6%47.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 21.2%median 4.2%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the gonadotropin releasing hormone receptor agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Eligardbrand44,3852,38838.1%
Leuprolide acetategeneric4,95170290.1%
Goserelingeneric2,78938395.9%
Supprelinbrand8151218%
Fensolvibrand7481144.4%
Leuprolidegeneric66310679%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Zoladex reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Zoladex?

7,058 reports list Zoladex as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 396 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,168 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Zoladex reports?

death (21.2%), malignant neoplasm progression (10.9%), hot flush (4.8%), metastases to bone (3.9%) and fatigue (3.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Zoladex was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

88.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 26.2% of reports include death and 23.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (35.6%), physician (29.8%) and other health professional (18.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Zoladex rising?

396 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 374 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Zoladex was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Zoladex?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Zoladex as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,168) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.