Drugs › Estrogen receptor antagonist
Generic name
Fulvestrant: adverse event reports filed with FDA
11,797 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2005–2026. Class: Estrogen receptor antagonist. Also reported as Fulvestrant Injection.
- 11,797
- reports as suspect product
- 0.1% of all reports · about 549 a year
- 1,335
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 1,524 in the 12 months before
- 94.7%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 72.9% across the class
- 16.8%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 1,980 reports · not verified by FDA
Between January 2005 and June 2026, 11,797 adverse event reports received by FDA list fulvestrant, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (5,009) are left out of every figure here.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,335 reports listed it, down 12% from 1,524 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 549 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 42.6% of the reports for the estrogen receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
Reporters most often recorded malignant neoplasm progression (20.5%), metastases to bone (10.9%) and neutropenia (10.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,889 different terms appear across these reports. Malignant neoplasm progression is recorded in 20.5% of these reports, a larger share than in the median estrogen receptor antagonist drug (12.9%).
94.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (72.9% across the class); 16.8% record death among the outcomes and 27% record hospitalisation, as reported. 49.9% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (29.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Fulvestrant reports recording the termmedian drug in estrogen receptor antagonist
- Malignant neoplasm progression20.5%2,422
- Metastases to bone10.9%1,287
- Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell10.7%1,261
- Fatiguetiredness10.4%1,223
- Nauseafeeling sick9.8%1,152
- Metastases to liver9%1,060
- Breast cancer metastatic8.9%1,055
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools7.4%878
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.4%874
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.7%668
- Vomitingbeing sick5.5%647
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath5.5%644
- Painpain, site not specified5.3%624
- Anaemialow red blood cells5.3%622
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy5.2%619
- Breast cancerbreast cancer4.8%566
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.4%521
- Rashskin rash4.3%510
- Disease progressionthe disease advanced4.3%506
- Arthralgiajoint pain4.3%503
- Neoplasm progression4.2%499
- Decreased appetitereduced appetite4.2%496
- Metastases to lung4.2%491
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.1%484
- Thrombocytopenialow platelets3.9%463
- General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health3.9%460
- Coughcough3.8%448
- Pyrexiafever3.6%429
- Leukopenialow white blood cells3.3%393
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.3%390
Top 30 of 1,889 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 3 drugs in the estrogen receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 27,672 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 13.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Breast cancer metastatic | 3,111 | 26.4% |
| Breast cancer | 2,230 | 18.9% |
| Hormone receptor positive her2 negative breast cancer | 777 | 6.6% |
| Breast cancer female | 272 | 2.3% |
| Hormone receptor positive breast cancer | 197 | 1.7% |
| Invasive ductal breast carcinoma | 113 | 1% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 11,797 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Fulvestrant reports |
|---|---|---|
| Kisqali | 2,610 | 22.1% |
| Palbociclib | 2,307 | 19.6% |
| Letrozole | 2,229 | 18.9% |
| Ibrance | 1,285 | 10.9% |
| Ribociclib | 1,270 | 10.8% |
| Capecitabine | 1,157 | 9.8% |
| Exemestane | 998 | 8.5% |
| Paclitaxel | 960 | 8.1% |
| Tamoxifen | 948 | 8% |
| Denosumab | 915 | 7.8% |
Other products listed in reports where Fulvestrant is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Fulvestrant | Estrogen receptor antagonist | All reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 11,797 | 27,672 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 42.6% | 0.1% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 1,335 | — | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 94.7% | 72.9% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 168 | 142 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 270 | 207 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 20.2% | 39.2% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Malignant neoplasm progression 20.5% | median 12.9% | 0.5% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Other drugs in the estrogen receptor antagonist class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Faslodex | brand | 8,884 | 601 | 75.9% |
| Orserdu | brand | 6,991 | 170 | 32.4% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.
Questions about Fulvestrant reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Fulvestrant?
11,797 reports list Fulvestrant as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,335 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 5,009 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Fulvestrant reports?
malignant neoplasm progression (20.5%), metastases to bone (10.9%), neutropenia (10.7%), fatigue (10.4%) and nausea (9.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Fulvestrant was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
94.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 16.8% of reports include death and 27% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
physician (49.9%), other health professional (24.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (20.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Fulvestrant rising?
1,335 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 12% from 1,524 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Fulvestrant was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Fulvestrant?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Fulvestrant as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (5,009) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.