Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Pancrelipase lipase, pancrelipase protease, pancrelipase amylase

Zenpep: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,997 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2010–2026.

1,997
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 122 a year
316
reports, 12 months to June 2026
389 in the 12 months before
49.9%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
12.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
241 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2010 and June 2026, 1,997 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Zenpep (pancrelipase lipase, pancrelipase protease, pancrelipase amylase) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (3,835) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 316 reports listed it, down 19% from 389 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 122 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are diarrhoea (14.3%), death (10.2%) and hospitalisation (6.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 327 different terms appear across these reports. Diarrhoea is recorded in 14.3% of these reports, against 3.1% of all reports in the database.

49.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 12.1% record death among the outcomes and 22.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 62% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (5.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

070140Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 63Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 9Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 22Oct 2022: 91Nov 2022: 20Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 7Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 9Apr 2023: 41May 2023: 55Jun 2023: 60Jul 2023: 31Aug 2023: 39Sep 2023: 61Oct 2023: 42Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 132024Jan 2024: 21Feb 2024: 25Mar 2024: 14Apr 2024: 13May 2024: 15Jun 2024: 20Jul 2024: 21Aug 2024: 22Sep 2024: 139Oct 2024: 47Nov 2024: 17Dec 2024: 232025Jan 2025: 26Feb 2025: 19Mar 2025: 15Apr 2025: 15May 2025: 22Jun 2025: 23Jul 2025: 11Aug 2025: 14Sep 2025: 140Oct 2025: 47Nov 2025: 21Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 15Feb 2026: 13Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 8May 2026: 13Jun 2026: 16

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01903792010: 720102011: 52012: 820122013: 172014: 1820142015: 642016: 5820162017: 772018: 11020182019: 1092020: 8420202021: 812022: 16720222023: 3792024: 37720242025: 3612026: 752026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Zenpep reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools14.3%285
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.2%204
  3. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital6.4%128
  4. Weight decreasedweight loss6.2%124
  5. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain6.1%121
  6. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6%120
  7. Nauseafeeling sick5.6%111
  8. Constipationconstipation5.4%107
  9. Headachehead pain5.1%101
  10. Abdominal distensiona bloated abdomen4.8%96
  11. Vomitingbeing sick4.7%93
  12. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain4%79
  13. Flatulencewind3.9%77
  14. Fatiguetiredness3.7%74
  15. Painpain, site not specified3.5%69
  16. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort3.4%68
  17. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3%59
  18. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3%59
  19. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3%59
  20. Arthralgiajoint pain2.9%57
  21. Pruritusitching2.9%57
  22. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.8%56
  23. Back painback pain2.6%52
  24. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported2.4%48
  25. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.4%47
  26. Rashskin rash2.4%47
  27. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing2.2%43
  28. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2%40
  29. Erythemaskin redness1.9%38
  30. Joint swellinga swollen joint1.9%38

Top 30 of 327 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.1%241
Life-threatening0.3%5
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)22.3%445
Disability1%20
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious31.3%626
Not serious50.1%1,000

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.4%7
2 to 111.7%33
12 to 171.1%22
18 to 444.4%87
45 to 644.4%87
65 to 744.7%93
75 and over5.6%111
Age not given78%1,557

Patient sex

Female22.8%456
Male16%320
Not given61.1%1,221

Who reported

Physician7%139
Pharmacist5.5%110
Other health professional24%480
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional62%1,238
Not given1.5%30

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pancreatic failure1,16058.1%
Cystic fibrosis1246.2%
Pancreatitis chronic231.2%
Pancreatic disorder221.1%
Pancreatic insufficiency160.8%
Pancreatitis150.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,997 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Zenpep reports
Ergocalciferol693.5%
Pulmozyme623.1%
Synthroid613.1%
Creon532.7%
Omeprazole512.6%
Aspirin412.1%
Singulair392%
Actemra331.7%
Folic acid331.7%
Atorvastatin321.6%

Other products listed in reports where Zenpep is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureZenpepAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,99720,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months3161,332,454
Marked serious49.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports12191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports223213
Consumer-filed share62%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDiarrhoea 14.3%3.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Zenpep reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Zenpep?

1,997 reports list Zenpep as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 316 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,835 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Zenpep reports?

diarrhoea (14.3%), death (10.2%), hospitalisation (6.4%), weight decreased (6.2%) and abdominal pain (6.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Zenpep was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

49.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.1% of reports include death and 22.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (62%), other health professional (24%) and physician (7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Zenpep rising?

316 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 19% from 389 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Zenpep was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Zenpep?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Zenpep as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,835) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.