Drugs › Prostacycline vasodilator
Brand name · Epoprostenol
Veletri: adverse event reports filed with FDA
8,723 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2010–2026. Class: Prostacycline vasodilator.
- 8,723
- reports as suspect product
- 0% of all reports · about 554 a year
- 153
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 139 in the 12 months before
- 88.7%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 58.2% across the class
- 22.6%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 1,970 reports · not verified by FDA
8,723 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Veletri (epoprostenol) as a suspect or interacting product, from October 2010 to June 2026. A further 2,130 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 153 reports listed it, up 10% from 139 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 554 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 7.3% of the reports for the prostacycline vasodilator class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
Reporters most often recorded dyspnoea (25.1%), headache (21.1%) and diarrhoea (20.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,372 different terms appear across these reports. Dyspnoea is recorded in 25.1% of these reports, about the same share as in the median prostacycline vasodilator drug (20.4%).
88.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (58.2% across the class); 22.6% record death among the outcomes and 73.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 58.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (40%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Veletri reports recording the termmedian drug in prostacycline vasodilator
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath25.1%2,187
- Headachehead pain21.1%1,843
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools20.6%1,793
- Nauseafeeling sick18.4%1,603
- Pain in jaw18.2%1,590
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term12.5%1,093
- Flushingsudden reddening or warmth of the skin11.5%1,000
- Fatiguetiredness10.2%891
- Vomitingbeing sick10%868
- Dyspnoea exertional9.7%847
- Fluid retentionthe body holding extra fluid8.5%743
- Pneumonialung infection8%701
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell8%700
- Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg8%698
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness7.6%661
- Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse7%611
- Hypotensionlow blood pressure7%608
- Chest painchest pain6.9%598
- Weight decreasedweight loss6.5%566
- Painpain, site not specified6.2%544
- Catheter site erythema6.1%531
- Catheter management5.9%513
- Hospitalisationadmission to hospital5.8%504
- Device related infectionan infection related to the device5.7%498
- Palpitationsawareness of the heartbeat5.5%484
- Rashskin rash5.4%475
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy5.3%463
- Pyrexiafever5.1%449
- Decreased appetitereduced appetite5.1%448
Top 30 of 1,372 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the prostacycline vasodilator class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 119,150 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 90.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Pulmonary arterial hypertension | 4,716 | 54.1% |
| Pulmonary hypertension | 1,272 | 14.6% |
| Cor pulmonale chronic | 174 | 2% |
| Portopulmonary hypertension | 42 | 0.5% |
| Covid-19 | 12 | 0.1% |
| Dyspnoea | 6 | 0.1% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,723 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Veletri reports |
|---|---|---|
| Opsumit | 1,957 | 22.4% |
| Adcirca | 1,696 | 19.4% |
| Sildenafil | 1,224 | 14% |
| Coumadin | 1,176 | 13.5% |
| Letairis | 1,118 | 12.8% |
| Revatio | 940 | 10.8% |
| Tracleer | 863 | 9.9% |
| Ambrisentan | 838 | 9.6% |
| Warfarin | 697 | 8% |
| Adempas | 504 | 5.8% |
Other products listed in reports where Veletri is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Veletri | Prostacycline vasodilator | All reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 8,723 | 119,150 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 7.3% | 0% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 153 | — | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 88.7% | 58.2% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 226 | 123 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 737 | 418 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 9.8% | 60.6% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Dyspnoea 25.1% | median 20.4% | 2.7% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Other drugs in the prostacycline vasodilator class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remodulin | brand | 47,657 | 2,928 | 61% |
| Tyvaso | brand | 28,206 | 1,249 | 53.8% |
| Orenitram | brand | 16,692 | 1,291 | 45.1% |
| Tyvaso DPI | brand | 9,216 | 2,660 | 38.6% |
| Treprostinil | generic | 5,689 | 1,146 | 76% |
| Yutrepia | brand | 1,665 | 1,660 | 42.8% |
| Epoprostenol | generic | 1,302 | 129 | 92% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.
Questions about Veletri reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Veletri?
8,723 reports list Veletri as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 153 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,130 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Veletri reports?
dyspnoea (25.1%), headache (21.1%), diarrhoea (20.6%), nausea (18.4%) and pain in jaw (18.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Veletri was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
88.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 22.6% of reports include death and 73.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
other health professional (58.8%), physician (25%) and consumer or non-health professional (9.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Veletri rising?
153 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 10% from 139 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Veletri was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Veletri?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Veletri as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,130) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.