Reported Reactions

Drugs › Phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor

Brand name · Sildenafil citrate

Revatio: adverse event reports filed with FDA

9,801 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2005–2026. Class: Phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor.

9,801
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 472 a year
77
reports, 12 months to June 2026
161 in the 12 months before
83%
marked serious by the reporter
60.1% across the class
40.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
3,943 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2005 and June 2026, 9,801 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Revatio (sildenafil citrate) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (23,520) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 77 reports listed it, down 52% from 161 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 472 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 10.6% of the reports for the phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (23%), dyspnoea (10.1%) and pulmonary hypertension (6.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,015 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 23% of these reports, a larger share than in the median phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor drug (6.6%).

83% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (60.1% across the class); 40.2% record death among the outcomes and 31.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 50.8% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (22.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01121Jul 2021: 15Aug 2021: 18Sep 2021: 15Oct 2021: 14Nov 2021: 19Dec 2021: 112022Jan 2022: 21Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 12Apr 2022: 12May 2022: 18Jun 2022: 14Jul 2022: 11Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 82023Jan 2023: 18Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 13Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 18Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 15Aug 2023: 13Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 9Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 122024Jan 2024: 7Feb 2024: 11Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 17May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 9Jul 2024: 18Aug 2024: 14Sep 2024: 13Oct 2024: 12Nov 2024: 15Dec 2024: 132025Jan 2025: 18Feb 2025: 20Mar 2025: 9Apr 2025: 9May 2025: 13Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 142026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 7Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05921,1842005: 220052006: 382007: 722008: 12320082009: 1922010: 5072011: 49720112012: 1,1492013: 1,0432014: 1,09720142015: 1,1842016: 1,0062017: 71420172018: 5462019: 5252020: 33920202021: 1902022: 1442023: 13120232024: 1492025: 1172026: 362026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Revatio reports recording the termmedian drug in phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term23%2,254
  2. Dyspnoeashortness of breath10.1%989
  3. Pulmonary hypertensionhigh pressure in the lung arteries6.5%635
  4. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.8%570
  5. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used5.6%548
  6. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label5.5%540
  7. Headachehead pain4.8%472
  8. Pneumonialung infection4.7%463
  9. Falla fall3.5%346
  10. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.4%335
  11. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.3%320
  12. Fatiguetiredness3.2%317
  13. Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.2%317
  14. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.2%311
  15. Cardiac failureheart failure2.9%289
  16. Cardiac failure congestivecongestive heart failure2.9%286
  17. Fluid retentionthe body holding extra fluid2.9%283
  18. Nauseafeeling sick2.7%264
  19. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.5%244
  20. Weight decreasedweight loss2.1%204
  21. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.1%203
  22. Coughcough2.1%202
  23. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands2%199
  24. Painpain, site not specified1.9%191
  25. Vomitingbeing sick1.8%178
  26. Renal failurekidney failure1.7%171
  27. Epistaxisnosebleed1.7%166

Top 30 of 1,015 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death40.2%3,943
Life-threatening1.6%155
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.8%3,117
Disability0.7%68
Congenital anomaly0.1%6
Other serious46.4%4,543
Not serious17%1,665

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 92,849 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.5%143
2 to 111.4%137
12 to 170.4%42
18 to 445.7%558
45 to 6421.1%2,067
65 to 7418.6%1,824
75 and over22.3%2,188
Age not given29%2,842

Patient sex

Female64.3%6,302
Male31.3%3,069
Not given4.4%430

Who reported

Physician20.1%1,970
Pharmacist4.9%478
Other health professional22.8%2,232
Lawyer0.1%13
Consumer or non-health professional50.8%4,981
Not given1.3%127

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 74.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pulmonary hypertension3,31633.8%
Pulmonary arterial hypertension2,06121%
Cardiac disorder1221.2%
Lung disorder951%
Dyspnoea680.7%
Hypertension600.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 9,801 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Revatio reports
Furosemide8288.4%
Lasix7467.6%
Tracleer5815.9%
Letairis5495.6%
Warfarin5105.2%
Opsumit5065.2%
Spironolactone4654.7%
Ambrisentan4504.6%
Coumadin3954%
Aspirin3863.9%

Other products listed in reports where Revatio is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureRevatioPhosphodiesterase 5 inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product9,80192,84920,646,523
Share of that pool—10.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months77—1,332,454
Marked serious83%60.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports40212991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports318228213
Consumer-filed share50.8%56.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 23%median 6.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the phosphodiesterase 5 inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Viagrabrand28,3494446%
Cialisbrand15,1668135.6%
Adcircabrand12,21429466.7%
Sildenafilgeneric10,7261,01482.6%
Tadalafilgeneric10,6601,51976.1%
Sildenafil citrategeneric5,93328269.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Revatio reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Revatio?

9,801 reports list Revatio as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 77 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 23,520 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Revatio reports?

death (23%), dyspnoea (10.1%), pulmonary hypertension (6.5%), malaise (5.8%) and product use issue (5.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Revatio was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

83% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 40.2% of reports include death and 31.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (50.8%), other health professional (22.8%) and physician (20.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Revatio rising?

77 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 52% from 161 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Revatio was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Revatio?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Revatio as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (23,520) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.