Reported Reactions

Drugs › Cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor

Brand name · Valganciclovir

Valcyte: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,312 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor.

2,312
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 103 a year
23
reports, 12 months to June 2026
32 in the 12 months before
80.1%
marked serious by the reporter
94.2% across the class
22%
record death among outcomes, as reported
509 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 2,312 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Valcyte (valganciclovir) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,542) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 23 reports listed it, down 28% from 32 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 103 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 16.5% of the reports for the cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are off label use (24.1%), death (15.4%) and cytomegalovirus infection (12.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 461 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 24.1% of these reports, about the same share as in the median cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor drug (24.1%).

80.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (94.2% across the class); 22% record death among the outcomes and 30.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 39.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (14%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01733Jul 2021: 15Aug 2021: 12Sep 2021: 17Oct 2021: 25Nov 2021: 12Dec 2021: 212022Jan 2022: 13Feb 2022: 14Mar 2022: 17Apr 2022: 25May 2022: 33Jun 2022: 12Jul 2022: 14Aug 2022: 8Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 10Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 102023Jan 2023: 11Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 11Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 15Aug 2023: 12Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 32024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 7Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 52026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 4

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01823642004: 1620042005: 182006: 152007: 2520072008: 282009: 312010: 2520102011: 632012: 1772013: 12720132014: 1212015: 682016: 10420162017: 3642018: 2142019: 16420192020: 1782021: 2332022: 18220222023: 932024: 292025: 2620252026: 11

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Valcyte reports recording the termmedian drug in cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label24.1%557
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term15.4%355
  3. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported8.8%203
  4. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended8.4%195
  5. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.3%100
  6. Leukopenialow white blood cells3.6%84
  7. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell3.5%80
  8. Pyrexiafever2.9%66
  9. Nauseafeeling sick2.8%65
  10. Pneumonialung infection2.6%60
  11. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.4%55
  12. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.3%54
  13. Intercepted medication error2.3%53
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.3%53
  15. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.2%52
  16. Headachehead pain2.1%48
  17. Anaemialow red blood cells2%47
  18. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2%47
  19. Fatiguetiredness2%46
  20. Incorrect product storagethe product was stored wrongly1.8%42
  21. Vomitingbeing sick1.8%42
  22. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.8%41
  23. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.7%40
  24. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.6%37
  25. Intercepted product storage error1.6%36
  26. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection1.6%36
  27. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1.5%34
  28. Thrombocytopenialow platelets1.5%34

Top 30 of 461 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death22%509
Life-threatening1.9%44
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)30.7%709
Disability0.5%12
Congenital anomaly0.3%6
Other serious39.3%908
Not serious19.9%460

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 14,000 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.9%43
2 to 112%46
12 to 170.5%11
18 to 446.4%147
45 to 6414%323
65 to 748.6%199
75 and over1.6%36
Age not given65.2%1,507

Patient sex

Female36.5%843
Male52.9%1,224
Not given10.6%245

Who reported

Physician29.8%688
Pharmacist11.2%259
Other health professional18.3%423
Lawyer0.1%2
Consumer or non-health professional39.2%906
Not given1.5%34

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 74.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Renal transplant29012.5%
Cytomegalovirus infection26411.4%
Lung transplant2219.6%
Antiviral prophylaxis1044.5%
Liver transplant662.9%
Heart transplant502.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,312 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Valcyte reports
CellCept44019%
Prograf2099%
Prednisone1787.7%
Tacrolimus1767.6%
Bactrim1024.4%
Mycophenolate mofetil994.3%
Myfortic803.5%
Aspirin713.1%
Prednisolone562.4%
Pantoprazole sodium441.9%

Other products listed in reports where Valcyte is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureValcyteCytomegalovirus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,31214,00020,646,523
Share of that pool—16.5%0%
Reports, latest 12 months23—1,332,454
Marked serious80.1%94.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports22023191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports307379213
Consumer-filed share39.2%11.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 24.1%median 24.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Valganciclovirgeneric5,24947996%
Ganciclovirgeneric4,72933997.9%
Valganciclovir hydrochloridegeneric1,14215997.2%
Ganciclovir sodiumgeneric5688696.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Valcyte reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Valcyte?

2,312 reports list Valcyte as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 23 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,542 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Valcyte reports?

off label use (24.1%), death (15.4%), cytomegalovirus infection (12.1%), no adverse event (8.8%) and intentional product use issue (8.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Valcyte was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

80.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 22% of reports include death and 30.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (39.2%), physician (29.8%) and other health professional (18.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Valcyte rising?

23 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 28% from 32 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Valcyte was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Valcyte?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Valcyte as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,542) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.