Reported Reactions

Drugs › Herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor

Generic name

Valacyclovir: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,307 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2006–2026. Class: Herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor. Also reported as Valacyclovir Tablets, Valacyclovir Tablets Usp, Valacyclovir /01269701/.

3,307
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 164 a year
312
reports, 12 months to June 2026
356 in the 12 months before
72.5%
marked serious by the reporter
78.9% across the class
6.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
223 reports · not verified by FDA

3,307 adverse event reports received by FDA list valacyclovir, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from May 2006 to June 2026. A further 22,571 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 312 reports listed it, down 12% from 356 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 164 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 11.1% of the reports for the herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (13.7%), neurotoxicity (6%) and acute kidney injury (4.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 689 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 13.7% of these reports, about the same share as in the median herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitor drug (12.5%).

72.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (78.9% across the class); 6.7% record death among the outcomes and 31.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 31% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (21%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03060Jul 2021: 29Aug 2021: 21Sep 2021: 16Oct 2021: 14Nov 2021: 17Dec 2021: 242022Jan 2022: 28Feb 2022: 17Mar 2022: 22Apr 2022: 25May 2022: 30Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 22Aug 2022: 17Sep 2022: 23Oct 2022: 45Nov 2022: 24Dec 2022: 262023Jan 2023: 20Feb 2023: 29Mar 2023: 20Apr 2023: 10May 2023: 31Jun 2023: 22Jul 2023: 24Aug 2023: 32Sep 2023: 21Oct 2023: 34Nov 2023: 27Dec 2023: 252024Jan 2024: 29Feb 2024: 29Mar 2024: 31Apr 2024: 46May 2024: 29Jun 2024: 33Jul 2024: 60Aug 2024: 32Sep 2024: 33Oct 2024: 27Nov 2024: 34Dec 2024: 472025Jan 2025: 26Feb 2025: 27Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 20May 2025: 13Jun 2025: 25Jul 2025: 29Aug 2025: 19Sep 2025: 17Oct 2025: 24Nov 2025: 30Dec 2025: 402026Jan 2026: 28Feb 2026: 16Mar 2026: 35Apr 2026: 31May 2026: 26Jun 2026: 17

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02154302006: 1020062007: 272008: 292009: 1420092010: 482011: 902012: 6720122013: 952014: 1302015: 12520152016: 1502017: 1772018: 22220182019: 2282020: 1932021: 25020212022: 2922023: 2952024: 43020242025: 2822026: 153

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Valacyclovir reports recording the termmedian drug in herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected13.7%453
  2. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function4.8%158
  3. Confusional stateconfusion3.8%125
  4. Nauseafeeling sick3.7%124
  5. Headachehead pain3.7%122
  6. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3.6%119
  7. Rashskin rash3.5%117
  8. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.5%115
  9. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.1%103
  10. Product substitution issuea problem after switching products3.1%101
  11. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3%98
  12. Fatiguetiredness2.8%94
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.8%92
  14. Painpain, site not specified2.6%87
  15. Herpes zostershingles2.5%84
  16. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.4%79
  17. Vomitingbeing sick2%67
  18. Pruritusitching1.9%62
  19. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances1.9%62
  20. Rash maculo-papulara rash of flat and raised spots1.8%59
  21. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.7%57
  22. Pyrexiafever1.7%56
  23. Hallucinationseeing or hearing things that are not there1.7%55
  24. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy1.6%54
  25. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.6%53
  26. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.5%49
  27. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount1.5%48

Top 30 of 689 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death6.7%223
Life-threatening3.5%116
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.9%1,056
Disability2.1%68
Congenital anomaly1.8%59
Other serious49.8%1,646
Not serious27.5%909

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 29,855 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%10
2 to 110.5%17
12 to 170.8%26
18 to 4414.3%473
45 to 6421%696
65 to 7416.5%545
75 and over13.2%437
Age not given33.4%1,103

Patient sex

Female52.1%1,724
Male31.3%1,034
Not given16.6%549

Who reported

Physician27.2%899
Pharmacist9.8%324
Other health professional28.8%954
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional31%1,026
Not given3.1%103

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 55.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Herpes zoster54416.4%
Antiviral prophylaxis1775.4%
Prophylaxis1634.9%
Herpes virus infection1594.8%
Herpes simplex1534.6%
Oral herpes1183.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,307 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Valacyclovir reports
Acyclovir2758.3%
Bactrim2166.5%
Prednisone1935.8%
Dexamethasone1374.1%
Pantoprazole1303.9%
Acetaminophen1273.8%
Amlodipine1253.8%
Fluconazole1063.2%
Furosemide962.9%
Rituximab952.9%

Other products listed in reports where Valacyclovir is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureValacyclovirHerpes simplex virus nucleoside analog DNA polymerase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,30729,85520,646,523
Share of that pool—11.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months312—1,332,454
Marked serious72.5%78.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports678891
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports319398213
Consumer-filed share31%30.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 13.7%median 12.5%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the herpes simplex virus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Acyclovirgeneric11,09595091.2%
Valtrexbrand7,79315455.1%
Valacyclovir hydrochloridegeneric5,23777392.4%
Zoviraxbrand2,4231478.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Valacyclovir reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Valacyclovir?

3,307 reports list Valacyclovir as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 312 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 22,571 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Valacyclovir reports?

drug ineffective (13.7%), neurotoxicity (6%), acute kidney injury (4.8%), confusional state (3.8%) and nausea (3.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Valacyclovir was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

72.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 6.7% of reports include death and 31.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (31%), other health professional (28.8%) and physician (27.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Valacyclovir rising?

312 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 12% from 356 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Valacyclovir was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Valacyclovir?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Valacyclovir as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (22,571) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.