Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Treprostinil sodium: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,095 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026.

2,095
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 138 a year
382
reports, 12 months to June 2026
392 in the 12 months before
75%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
21.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
455 reports · not verified by FDA

2,095 adverse event reports received by FDA list treprostinil sodium, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from May 2011 to June 2026. A further 233 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 382 reports listed it, close to the 392 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 138 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded headache (16.3%), death (15.2%) and dyspnoea (14.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 485 different terms appear across these reports. Headache is recorded in 16.3% of these reports, against 3% of all reports in the database.

75% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 21.7% record death among the outcomes and 37.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 68.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (21.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02448Jul 2021: 11Aug 2021: 15Sep 2021: 39Oct 2021: 39Nov 2021: 26Dec 2021: 202022Jan 2022: 17Feb 2022: 13Mar 2022: 25Apr 2022: 19May 2022: 36Jun 2022: 23Jul 2022: 23Aug 2022: 24Sep 2022: 29Oct 2022: 30Nov 2022: 18Dec 2022: 292023Jan 2023: 24Feb 2023: 19Mar 2023: 18Apr 2023: 21May 2023: 18Jun 2023: 19Jul 2023: 16Aug 2023: 22Sep 2023: 23Oct 2023: 18Nov 2023: 18Dec 2023: 222024Jan 2024: 23Feb 2024: 19Mar 2024: 22Apr 2024: 18May 2024: 27Jun 2024: 17Jul 2024: 21Aug 2024: 26Sep 2024: 29Oct 2024: 28Nov 2024: 32Dec 2024: 332025Jan 2025: 27Feb 2025: 34Mar 2025: 33Apr 2025: 38May 2025: 48Jun 2025: 43Jul 2025: 35Aug 2025: 40Sep 2025: 43Oct 2025: 41Nov 2025: 33Dec 2025: 252026Jan 2026: 24Feb 2026: 20Mar 2026: 35Apr 2026: 39May 2026: 23Jun 2026: 24

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02204402011: 1520112012: 62013: 120132014: 102015: 2620152016: 52017: 1620172018: 1082019: 10620192020: 1492021: 22920212022: 2862023: 23820232024: 2952025: 44020252026: 165

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Treprostinil sodium reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Headachehead pain16.3%342
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term15.2%318
  3. Dyspnoeashortness of breath14.1%295
  4. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools13.3%279
  5. Nauseafeeling sick11.7%245
  6. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness10.4%217
  7. Coughcough10.1%212
  8. Fatiguetiredness8.8%185
  9. Hypotensionlow blood pressure7.3%152
  10. Vomitingbeing sick6.3%133
  11. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg5.2%109
  12. Painpain, site not specified4.7%98
  13. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.9%82
  14. Syncopefainting3.9%82
  15. Therapy non-responderthe treatment did not work3.9%82
  16. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.9%81
  17. Chest painchest pain3.8%79
  18. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.6%75
  19. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands3.6%75
  20. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs3.6%75
  21. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.5%74
  22. Epistaxisnosebleed3.5%73
  23. Weight decreasedweight loss3.4%71
  24. Fluid retentionthe body holding extra fluid3%63
  25. Arthralgiajoint pain2.9%61
  26. Flushingsudden reddening or warmth of the skin2.9%61

Top 30 of 485 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.7%455
Life-threatening2.1%44
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)37.7%789
Disability0.6%12
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious55.4%1,161
Not serious25%524

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.5%10
2 to 111.2%25
12 to 170.5%10
18 to 4410.1%211
45 to 6421.8%457
65 to 7417.6%368
75 and over14.1%295
Age not given34.3%719

Patient sex

Female63.3%1,327
Male27.8%583
Not given8.8%185

Who reported

Physician6.6%139
Pharmacist4%83
Other health professional20.5%430
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional68.6%1,437
Not given0.3%6

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 86.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pulmonary arterial hypertension1,64778.6%
Pulmonary hypertension1085.2%
Connective tissue disorder30.1%
Cor pulmonale chronic20.1%
Pulmonary fibrosis20.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,095 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Treprostinil sodium reports
Opsumit41519.8%
Oxygen36817.6%
Tadalafil28713.7%
Sildenafil citrate21310.2%
Ambrisentan1868.9%
Furosemide1848.8%
Eliquis1768.4%
Adempas1667.9%
Spironolactone1527.3%
Potassium chloride1436.8%

Other products listed in reports where Treprostinil sodium is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTreprostinil sodiumAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,09520,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months3821,332,454
Marked serious75%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports377213
Consumer-filed share68.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsHeadache 16.3%3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Treprostinil sodium reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Treprostinil sodium?

2,095 reports list Treprostinil sodium as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 382 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 233 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Treprostinil sodium reports?

headache (16.3%), death (15.2%), dyspnoea (14.1%), diarrhoea (13.3%) and nausea (11.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Treprostinil sodium was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

75% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.7% of reports include death and 37.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (68.6%), other health professional (20.5%) and physician (6.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Treprostinil sodium rising?

382 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 392 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Treprostinil sodium was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Treprostinil sodium?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Treprostinil sodium as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (233) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.