Reported Reactions

Drugs › Poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor

Brand name · Talazoparib

Talzenna: adverse event reports filed with FDA

893 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2018–2026. Class: Poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor.

893
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 115 a year
206
reports, 12 months to June 2026
182 in the 12 months before
67.5%
marked serious by the reporter
72.3% across the class
18.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
163 reports · not verified by FDA

893 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Talzenna (talazoparib) as a suspect or interacting product, from October 2018 to June 2026. A further 52 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 206 reports listed it, up 13% from 182 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 115 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.7% of the reports for the poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (13.3%), anaemia (12.4%) and neoplasm progression (11.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 143 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 13.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor drug (7.1%).

67.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (72.3% across the class); 18.3% record death among the outcomes and 19% record hospitalisation, as reported. 36.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (20.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01428Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 11Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 7Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 14Sep 2023: 17Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 9Feb 2024: 14Mar 2024: 13Apr 2024: 15May 2024: 20Jun 2024: 12Jul 2024: 12Aug 2024: 12Sep 2024: 20Oct 2024: 20Nov 2024: 13Dec 2024: 102025Jan 2025: 13Feb 2025: 14Mar 2025: 17Apr 2025: 19May 2025: 18Jun 2025: 14Jul 2025: 28Aug 2025: 12Sep 2025: 22Oct 2025: 14Nov 2025: 25Dec 2025: 192026Jan 2026: 14Feb 2026: 19Mar 2026: 6Apr 2026: 15May 2026: 16Jun 2026: 16

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01082152018: 320182019: 8320192020: 9520202021: 5820212022: 6420222023: 11920232024: 17020242025: 21520252026: 862026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Talzenna reports recording the termmedian drug in poly(adp-ribose) polymerase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term13.3%119
  2. Anaemialow red blood cells12.4%111
  3. Fatiguetiredness9%80
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.8%70
  5. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin6.8%61
  6. Nauseafeeling sick4%36
  7. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.1%28
  8. Thrombocytopenialow platelets3%27
  9. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.9%26
  10. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.7%24
  11. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2.5%22
  12. Painpain, site not specified2.2%20
  13. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.1%19
  14. Alopeciahair loss2%18
  15. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2%18
  16. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2%18
  17. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label2%18
  18. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2%18
  19. Decreased appetitereduced appetite1.8%16
  20. Pneumonialung infection1.8%16
  21. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.3%12
  22. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.3%12
  23. Headachehead pain1.2%11

Top 30 of 143 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the poly(adp-ribose) polymerase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death18.3%163
Life-threatening1.9%17
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)19%170
Disability1.1%10
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious41%366
Not serious32.5%290

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 52,093 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.2%2
12 to 170.1%1
18 to 449.6%86
45 to 6420.9%187
65 to 7418.9%169
75 and over18.5%165
Age not given31.7%283

Patient sex

Female44.6%398
Male47%420
Not given8.4%75

Who reported

Physician35.3%315
Pharmacist5.2%46
Other health professional18.7%167
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional36.3%324
Not given4.6%41

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 70.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Prostate cancer11412.8%
Breast cancer metastatic9010.1%
Breast cancer female616.8%
Breast cancer525.8%
Prostate cancer metastatic485.4%
Hormone-refractory prostate cancer475.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 893 reports.

In context

MeasureTalzennaPoly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product89352,09320,646,523
Share of that pool—1.7%0%
Reports, latest 12 months206—1,332,454
Marked serious67.5%72.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports18315491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports190201213
Consumer-filed share36.3%49.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 13.3%median 7.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the poly(adp-ribose) polymerase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Zejulabrand15,54049959.5%
Lynparzabrand14,39996889.4%
Rubracabrand8,3128140.7%
Niraparibgeneric6,48216981.7%
Olaparibgeneric5,6741,63696.8%
Talazoparibgeneric7938795.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Talzenna reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Talzenna?

893 reports list Talzenna as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 206 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 52 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Talzenna reports?

death (13.3%), anaemia (12.4%), neoplasm progression (11.9%), fatigue (9%) and off label use (7.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Talzenna was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

67.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 18.3% of reports include death and 19% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (36.3%), physician (35.3%) and other health professional (18.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Talzenna rising?

206 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 13% from 182 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Talzenna was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Talzenna?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Talzenna as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (52) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.