Reported Reactions

Drugs › Poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor

Brand name · Olaparib

Lynparza: adverse event reports filed with FDA

14,399 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2010–2026. Class: Poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor.

14,399
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 895 a year
968
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,828 in the 12 months before
89.4%
marked serious by the reporter
72.3% across the class
32.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,695 reports · not verified by FDA

14,399 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Lynparza (olaparib) as a suspect or interacting product, from June 2010 to June 2026. A further 363 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 968 reports listed it, down 47% from 1,828 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 895 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 27.6% of the reports for the poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (27.4%), malignant neoplasm progression (10.6%) and nausea (8.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 983 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 27.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median poly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitor drug (7.1%).

89.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (72.3% across the class); 32.6% record death among the outcomes and 15.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 40.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0300599Jul 2021: 172Aug 2021: 141Sep 2021: 152Oct 2021: 155Nov 2021: 129Dec 2021: 1492022Jan 2022: 100Feb 2022: 114Mar 2022: 155Apr 2022: 150May 2022: 121Jun 2022: 176Jul 2022: 129Aug 2022: 152Sep 2022: 158Oct 2022: 187Nov 2022: 181Dec 2022: 2152023Jan 2023: 175Feb 2023: 202Mar 2023: 198Apr 2023: 162May 2023: 216Jun 2023: 169Jul 2023: 169Aug 2023: 185Sep 2023: 196Oct 2023: 228Nov 2023: 190Dec 2023: 2392024Jan 2024: 199Feb 2024: 192Mar 2024: 153Apr 2024: 203May 2024: 158Jun 2024: 169Jul 2024: 599Aug 2024: 374Sep 2024: 155Oct 2024: 53Nov 2024: 105Dec 2024: 942025Jan 2025: 73Feb 2025: 78Mar 2025: 85Apr 2025: 86May 2025: 75Jun 2025: 51Jul 2025: 96Aug 2025: 88Sep 2025: 95Oct 2025: 81Nov 2025: 69Dec 2025: 902026Jan 2026: 45Feb 2026: 67Mar 2026: 113Apr 2026: 100May 2026: 65Jun 2026: 59

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,2272,4542010: 120102014: 12015: 26320152016: 3742017: 46520172018: 5962019: 1,18620192020: 1,7142021: 1,76220212022: 1,8382023: 2,32920232024: 2,4542025: 96720252026: 449

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Lynparza reports recording the termmedian drug in poly(adp-ribose) polymerase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term27.4%3,952
  2. Nauseafeeling sick8.4%1,207
  3. Anaemialow red blood cells7.8%1,126
  4. Fatiguetiredness7%1,010
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.1%584
  6. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.1%453
  7. Vomitingbeing sick3.1%451
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.6%368
  9. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.5%353
  10. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.4%351
  11. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue2.2%321
  12. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin2.2%319
  13. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.2%316
  14. Ovarian cancer recurrent2.1%302
  15. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.1%299
  16. Headachehead pain1.8%265
  17. Carbohydrate antigen 125 increased1.8%259
  18. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.8%255
  19. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.8%253
  20. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.7%247
  21. Painpain, site not specified1.7%241
  22. Disease progressionthe disease advanced1.7%238
  23. Constipationconstipation1.6%227
  24. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function1.6%227
  25. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count1.5%223
  26. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used1.5%220

Top 30 of 983 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the poly(adp-ribose) polymerase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death32.6%4,695
Life-threatening3.8%544
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)15.8%2,281
Disability0.8%121
Congenital anomaly0.1%10
Other serious51.3%7,382
Not serious10.6%1,527

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 52,093 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%4
12 to 170%4
18 to 443.7%533
45 to 6419.9%2,862
65 to 7413.9%1,997
75 and over8.9%1,276
Age not given53.6%7,722

Patient sex

Female71.8%10,332
Male18.6%2,676
Not given9.7%1,391

Who reported

Physician31.8%4,584
Pharmacist4.6%661
Other health professional9.6%1,383
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional40.1%5,778
Not given13.8%1,993

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 56% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Ovarian cancer4,81333.4%
Prostate cancer8025.6%
Breast cancer female5603.9%
Breast cancer4623.2%
Ovarian cancer recurrent4573.2%
Pancreatic carcinoma3772.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 14,399 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Lynparza reports
Bevacizumab4062.8%
Carboplatin3862.7%
Avastin3142.2%
Paclitaxel3112.2%
Imfinzi1320.9%
Ergocalciferol1170.8%
Lisinopril1100.8%
Aspirin970.7%
Zofran970.7%
Eliquis910.6%

Other products listed in reports where Lynparza is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureLynparzaPoly(ADP-Ribose) polymerase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product14,39952,09320,646,523
Share of that pool—27.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months968—1,332,454
Marked serious89.4%72.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports32615491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports158201213
Consumer-filed share40.1%49.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 27.4%median 7.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the poly(adp-ribose) polymerase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Zejulabrand15,54049959.5%
Rubracabrand8,3128140.7%
Niraparibgeneric6,48216981.7%
Olaparibgeneric5,6741,63696.8%
Talzennabrand89320667.5%
Talazoparibgeneric7938795.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Lynparza reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Lynparza?

14,399 reports list Lynparza as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 968 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 363 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Lynparza reports?

death (27.4%), malignant neoplasm progression (10.6%), nausea (8.4%), anaemia (7.8%) and fatigue (7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Lynparza was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

89.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 32.6% of reports include death and 15.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (40.1%), physician (31.8%) and not given (13.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Lynparza rising?

968 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 47% from 1,828 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Lynparza was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Lynparza?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Lynparza as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (363) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.