Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Tafamidis: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,391 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2015–2026.

1,391
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 127 a year
329
reports, 12 months to June 2026
266 in the 12 months before
88.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
30.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
422 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2015 and June 2026, 1,391 adverse event reports received by FDA list tafamidis, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (346) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 329 reports listed it, up 24% from 266 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 127 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are cardiac failure (15.5%), death (14.2%) and condition aggravated (4.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 191 different terms appear across these reports. Cardiac failure is recorded in 15.5% of these reports, against 0.4% of all reports in the database.

88.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 30.3% record death among the outcomes and 31.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 64.1% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (45.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02447Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 7Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 152022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 40Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 13Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 8Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 14Apr 2023: 42May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 17Jul 2023: 12Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 30Nov 2023: 33Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 15Feb 2024: 30Mar 2024: 17Apr 2024: 22May 2024: 19Jun 2024: 47Jul 2024: 19Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 21Oct 2024: 25Nov 2024: 21Dec 2024: 322025Jan 2025: 22Feb 2025: 15Mar 2025: 21Apr 2025: 37May 2025: 24Jun 2025: 20Jul 2025: 26Aug 2025: 13Sep 2025: 29Oct 2025: 44Nov 2025: 11Dec 2025: 142026Jan 2026: 24Feb 2026: 24Mar 2026: 23Apr 2026: 32May 2026: 44Jun 2026: 45

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01392772015: 320152018: 320182019: 8920192020: 12320202021: 9320212022: 14020222023: 19520232024: 27720242025: 27620252026: 1922026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tafamidis reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Cardiac failureheart failure15.5%216
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term14.2%198
  3. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse4.7%66
  4. Disease progressionthe disease advanced4.6%64
  5. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.5%63
  6. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm4.4%61
  7. Cardiac amyloidosis3%42
  8. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.9%40
  9. Rhabdomyolysismuscle breakdown2.7%38
  10. Fatiguetiredness2.7%37
  11. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.6%36
  12. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function2.4%33
  13. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.9%27
  14. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1.7%24
  15. Falla fall1.7%24
  16. Pneumonialung infection1.7%23
  17. Cardiac failure chronic1.5%21
  18. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands1.4%20
  19. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.2%16
  20. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.1%15
  21. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1%14
  22. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label0.9%13
  23. Cardiac failure congestivecongestive heart failure0.9%12
  24. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing0.9%12
  25. Fracturea broken bone0.8%11
  26. Infectionan infection, type not specified0.8%11
  27. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet0.8%11
  28. Renal failurekidney failure0.8%11

Top 30 of 191 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death30.3%422
Life-threatening2.2%31
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.1%432
Disability1.9%27
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious42.6%592
Not serious11.8%164

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 440.4%5
45 to 644.1%57
65 to 7410%139
75 and over45.3%630
Age not given40.2%559

Patient sex

Female10.8%150
Male61.4%854
Not given27.8%387

Who reported

Physician64.1%892
Pharmacist10.6%147
Other health professional17.3%240
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional8%111
Not given0.1%1

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 26% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Cardiac amyloidosis64546.4%
Amyloidosis695%
Acquired attr amyloidosis473.4%
Amyloidosis senile261.9%
Familial amyloidosis191.4%
Cardiomyopathy120.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,391 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Tafamidis reports
Furosemide1118%
Apixaban805.8%
Spironolactone785.6%
Atorvastatin684.9%
Eliquis473.4%
Torsemide412.9%
Bisoprolol372.7%
Amiodarone362.6%
Allopurinol312.2%
Omeprazole271.9%

Other products listed in reports where Tafamidis is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTafamidisAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,39120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months3291,332,454
Marked serious88.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports30391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports311213
Consumer-filed share8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCardiac failure 15.5%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Tafamidis reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tafamidis?

1,391 reports list Tafamidis as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 329 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 346 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tafamidis reports?

cardiac failure (15.5%), death (14.2%), condition aggravated (4.7%), disease progression (4.6%) and dyspnoea (4.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tafamidis was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

88.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 30.3% of reports include death and 31.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (64.1%), other health professional (17.3%) and pharmacist (10.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tafamidis rising?

329 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 24% from 266 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tafamidis was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tafamidis?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tafamidis as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (346) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.