Reported Reactions

Drugs › Factor Xa inhibitor

Generic name

Apixaban: adverse event reports filed with FDA

46,029 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2007–2026. Class: Factor Xa inhibitor. Also reported as Apixaban 5mg, Apixaban 2 5mg Tab.

46,029
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 2,412 a year
3,513
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,921 in the 12 months before
95.9%
marked serious by the reporter
81.6% across the class
10.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,995 reports · not verified by FDA

Between June 2007 and June 2026, 46,029 adverse event reports received by FDA list apixaban, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (20,915) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 3,513 reports listed it, up 20% from 2,921 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 2,412 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 14% of the reports for the factor Xa inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are cerebrovascular accident (7.3%), atrial fibrillation (6.6%) and thrombosis (5.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,309 different terms appear across these reports. Cerebrovascular accident is recorded in 7.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median factor Xa inhibitor drug (3.3%).

95.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (81.6% across the class); 10.9% record death among the outcomes and 38.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 51.4% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (32.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

06311,261Jul 2021: 1,240Aug 2021: 1,261Sep 2021: 817Oct 2021: 618Nov 2021: 630Dec 2021: 6512022Jan 2022: 521Feb 2022: 506Mar 2022: 351Apr 2022: 223May 2022: 192Jun 2022: 218Jul 2022: 224Aug 2022: 148Sep 2022: 309Oct 2022: 196Nov 2022: 247Dec 2022: 2522023Jan 2023: 203Feb 2023: 169Mar 2023: 201Apr 2023: 257May 2023: 226Jun 2023: 190Jul 2023: 142Aug 2023: 152Sep 2023: 169Oct 2023: 270Nov 2023: 151Dec 2023: 2322024Jan 2024: 234Feb 2024: 250Mar 2024: 177Apr 2024: 255May 2024: 279Jun 2024: 240Jul 2024: 209Aug 2024: 183Sep 2024: 223Oct 2024: 350Nov 2024: 236Dec 2024: 2692025Jan 2025: 284Feb 2025: 208Mar 2025: 246Apr 2025: 282May 2025: 203Jun 2025: 228Jul 2025: 218Aug 2025: 201Sep 2025: 202Oct 2025: 223Nov 2025: 198Dec 2025: 3192026Jan 2026: 292Feb 2026: 240Mar 2026: 352Apr 2026: 410May 2026: 606Jun 2026: 252

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

06,25412,5072007: 220072008: 72009: 1720092010: 352011: 11020112012: 132013: 7720132014: 2022015: 81420152016: 1,3722017: 1,94220172018: 2,7012019: 3,71920192020: 8,8932021: 12,50720212022: 3,3872023: 2,36220232024: 2,9052025: 2,81220252026: 2,152

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Apixaban reports recording the termmedian drug in factor xa inhibitor

  1. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm6.6%3,025
  2. Thrombosis5.8%2,649
  3. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.5%2,082
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.8%1,730
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.6%1,657
  6. Falla fall3.4%1,572
  7. Anaemialow red blood cells3.4%1,544
  8. Gastrointestinal haemorrhagebleeding in the stomach or bowel3.3%1,530
  9. Haemorrhagebleeding3%1,368
  10. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung2.9%1,332
  11. Fatiguetiredness2.8%1,278
  12. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.7%1,254
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.7%1,220
  14. Headachehead pain2.5%1,165
  15. Myocardial infarctionheart attack2.5%1,140
  16. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines2.4%1,112
  17. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.2%1,027
  18. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.9%891
  19. Nauseafeeling sick1.9%891
  20. Arthralgiajoint pain1.9%881
  21. Dementiadementia1.9%874
  22. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin1.9%869
  23. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.9%868
  24. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.9%862
  25. Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified1.8%835
  26. Deep vein thrombosisa blood clot in a deep vein1.8%823
  27. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended1.8%815
  28. Vomitingbeing sick1.7%780

Top 30 of 2,309 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the factor xa inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death10.9%4,995
Life-threatening7.1%3,279
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)38.2%17,587
Disability2.7%1,224
Congenital anomaly0.2%93
Other serious78.9%36,302
Not serious4.1%1,868

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 329,539 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%33
2 to 110.1%29
12 to 170.1%43
18 to 442.6%1,192
45 to 6412%5,534
65 to 7417.8%8,203
75 and over32.7%15,059
Age not given34.6%15,936

Patient sex

Female42.8%19,704
Male49.2%22,625
Not given8%3,700

Who reported

Physician16.4%7,553
Pharmacist12.2%5,593
Other health professional19.5%8,956
Lawyer0%13
Consumer or non-health professional51.4%23,661
Not given0.5%253

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 57.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Cerebrovascular accident prophylaxis7,10515.4%
Atrial fibrillation4,65710.1%
Deep vein thrombosis1,5373.3%
Pulmonary embolism1,2292.7%
Thrombosis prophylaxis1,0072.2%
Anticoagulant therapy9072%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 46,029 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Apixaban reports
Bisoprolol2,9886.5%
Atorvastatin2,6245.7%
Furosemide2,4055.2%
Aspirin2,3275.1%
Metoprolol1,7603.8%
Ramipril1,6403.6%
Omeprazole1,6203.5%
Clopidogrel1,5703.4%
Pantoprazole1,5633.4%
Amlodipine1,5283.3%

Other products listed in reports where Apixaban is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureApixabanFactor Xa inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product46,029329,53920,646,523
Share of that pool—14%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months3,513—1,332,454
Marked serious95.9%81.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports10915791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports382394213
Consumer-filed share51.4%53.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCerebrovascular accident 7.3%median 3.3%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the factor xa inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Xareltobrand133,2431,51286%
Eliquisbrand125,1075,57469.4%
Rivaroxabangeneric16,4901,61096.7%
Arixtrabrand5,3614686.2%
Edoxaban tosylategeneric2,54338798.7%
Savaysabrand766733.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Apixaban reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Apixaban?

46,029 reports list Apixaban as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 3,513 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 20,915 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Apixaban reports?

cerebrovascular accident (7.3%), atrial fibrillation (6.6%), thrombosis (5.8%), cardiac disorder (5.2%) and dyspnoea (4.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Apixaban was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 10.9% of reports include death and 38.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (51.4%), other health professional (19.5%) and physician (16.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Apixaban rising?

3,513 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 20% from 2,921 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Apixaban was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Apixaban?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Apixaban as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (20,915) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.