Reported Reactions

Drugs › Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug

Generic name

Piroxicam: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,742 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug.

1,742
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 77 a year
130
reports, 12 months to June 2026
145 in the 12 months before
87.6%
marked serious by the reporter
71.8% across the class
20.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
352 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 1,742 adverse event reports received by FDA list piroxicam, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (4,617) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 130 reports listed it, down 10% from 145 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 77 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.3% of the reports for the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug hypersensitivity (14.8%), pain (10.8%) and arthralgia (10.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 661 different terms appear across these reports. Drug hypersensitivity is recorded in 14.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug drug (3.7%).

87.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (71.8% across the class); 20.2% record death among the outcomes and 45.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 41% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (26.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01427Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 9Oct 2021: 8Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 8Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 8Sep 2022: 8Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 102023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 11Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 13Feb 2024: 14Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 22May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 13Jul 2024: 24Aug 2024: 13Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 27Nov 2024: 15Dec 2024: 112025Jan 2025: 8Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 10Jul 2025: 25Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 11Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 222026Jan 2026: 12Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 12Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 8

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0931852004: 3320042005: 482006: 522007: 5220072008: 522009: 362010: 2820102011: 732012: 502013: 5520132014: 562015: 782016: 5220162017: 492018: 1282019: 16220192020: 1142021: 1132022: 7920222023: 782024: 1852025: 11820252026: 51

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Piroxicam reports recording the termmedian drug in nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug

  1. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine14.8%258
  2. Painpain, site not specified10.8%189
  3. Arthralgiajoint pain10.8%188
  4. Nauseafeeling sick10.6%185
  5. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse10.6%184
  6. Weight increasedweight gain10.3%179
  7. Wound10.2%178
  8. Memory impairmentmemory problems9.9%172
  9. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.6%168
  10. Rashskin rash9.4%163
  11. Fatiguetiredness9.2%161
  12. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools9.1%158
  13. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure8.9%155
  14. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.7%152
  15. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease8.6%150
  16. Impaired healingslow healing8.3%145
  17. Urticariahives8.2%143
  18. Headachehead pain8.2%142
  19. Alopeciahair loss8%140
  20. Musculoskeletal stiffnessstiffness in muscles or joints7.9%138
  21. Anxietyanxiety7.9%137
  22. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy7.9%137
  23. Depressionlow mood7.7%135
  24. Pruritusitching7.7%135
  25. Infectionan infection, type not specified7.6%133
  26. Insomniadifficulty sleeping7.4%129
  27. Obesity7.4%129

Top 30 of 661 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 47 drugs in the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death20.2%352
Life-threatening16.8%293
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)45.7%796
Disability16.1%281
Congenital anomaly4.6%81
Other serious58.6%1,021
Not serious12.4%216

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 548,672 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 111.3%22
12 to 171.1%20
18 to 4426.2%456
45 to 6423.3%406
65 to 7412.6%220
75 and over11%192
Age not given24.4%425

Patient sex

Female56.5%984
Male31.3%546
Not given12.2%212

Who reported

Physician32.6%568
Pharmacist6%105
Other health professional41%715
Lawyer0.2%4
Consumer or non-health professional15.2%265
Not given4.9%85

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 24.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain834.8%
Back pain814.6%
Arthralgia533%
Osteoarthritis402.3%
Arthritis392.2%
Rheumatoid arthritis231.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,742 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Piroxicam reports
Ibuprofen33319.1%
Acetaminophen25914.9%
Methotrexate24814.2%
Prednisone23513.5%
Meloxicam23413.4%
Pregabalin22312.8%
Enbrel21512.3%
Folic acid21312.2%
Diclofenac sodium20211.6%
Cosentyx19311.1%

Other products listed in reports where Piroxicam is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePiroxicamNonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,742548,67220,646,523
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Reports, latest 12 months130—1,332,454
Marked serious87.6%71.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports20216291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports457356213
Consumer-filed share15.2%38.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug hypersensitivity 14.8%median 3.7%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Acetaminophengeneric86,93611,55494.8%
Ibuprofengeneric77,0585,63282.8%
Aspiringeneric72,1583,57593.2%
Diclofenac sodiumgeneric51,9202,97951.8%
Alevebrand49,10135116.4%
Celebrexbrand45,73173572.2%
Diclofenacgeneric27,7602,84291.6%
Naproxengeneric23,8722,14790.7%
Advilbrand19,64952227.6%
Celecoxibgeneric15,2011,92582%
Naproxen sodiumgeneric9,8741,22079%
Meloxicamgeneric7,86045973.1%
Diclofenac potassiumgeneric5,7021,24097.8%
Ketoprofengeneric5,63966198.3%
Advil pmgeneric4,97813411.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Piroxicam reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Piroxicam?

1,742 reports list Piroxicam as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 130 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 4,617 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Piroxicam reports?

drug hypersensitivity (14.8%), pain (10.8%), arthralgia (10.8%), nausea (10.6%) and condition aggravated (10.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Piroxicam was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

87.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 20.2% of reports include death and 45.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (41%), physician (32.6%) and consumer or non-health professional (15.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Piroxicam rising?

130 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 10% from 145 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Piroxicam was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Piroxicam?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Piroxicam as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (4,617) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.