Reported Reactions

Drugs › Penicillin-class antibacterial

Generic name

Penicillin g sodium: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,045 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2006–2026. Class: Penicillin-class antibacterial.

1,045
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 51 a year
80
reports, 12 months to June 2026
70 in the 12 months before
25.6%
marked serious by the reporter
81% across the class
3.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
39 reports · not verified by FDA

1,045 adverse event reports received by FDA list penicillin g sodium, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2006 to June 2026. A further 104 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 80 reports listed it, up 14% from 70 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 51 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.6% of the reports for the penicillin-class antibacterial class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug hypersensitivity (49.6%), hypersensitivity (26.7%) and rash (8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 160 different terms appear across these reports. Drug hypersensitivity is recorded in 49.6% of these reports, a larger share than in the median penicillin-class antibacterial drug (9%).

25.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (81% across the class); 3.7% record death among the outcomes and 10.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 60.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0612Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 112022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 6Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 10Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 6Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 10Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 8Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 7Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 92025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 52026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 6May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 12

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01352692006: 220062009: 12010: 520102011: 22012: 420122013: 32014: 420142015: 42016: 420162017: 102018: 21920182019: 2692020: 13520202021: 782022: 6820222023: 582024: 6820242025: 692026: 422026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Penicillin g sodium reports recording the termmedian drug in penicillin-class antibacterial

  1. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine49.6%518
  2. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction26.7%279
  3. Rashskin rash8%84
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.3%76
  5. Dyspnoeashortness of breath6.2%65
  6. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated5.6%58
  7. Anaphylactic reactiona severe, sudden allergic reaction4.4%46
  8. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse4%42
  9. Nauseafeeling sick3.9%41
  10. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.8%40
  11. Urticariahives3.6%38
  12. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.4%36
  13. Anxietyanxiety3.3%34
  14. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain3.2%33
  15. Headachehead pain3.2%33
  16. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg3%31
  17. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.9%30
  18. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2.9%30
  19. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort2.7%28
  20. Painpain, site not specified2.6%27
  21. Arthralgiajoint pain2.5%26
  22. Coughcough2.5%26
  23. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure2.5%26
  24. Asthmaasthma2.4%25
  25. Hypoxialow oxygen2.4%25
  26. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified2.4%25
  27. Nodule2.4%25
  28. Antineutrophil cytoplasmic antibody positive2.3%24

Top 30 of 160 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 15 drugs in the penicillin-class antibacterial class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death3.7%39
Life-threatening5.2%54
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)10.1%106
Disability0.3%3
Congenital anomaly0.3%3
Other serious21.5%225
Not serious74.4%778

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 64,409 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.4%4
2 to 110.5%5
12 to 170.1%1
18 to 444%42
45 to 649%94
65 to 745.9%62
75 and over2.3%24
Age not given77.8%813

Patient sex

Female67.7%707
Male23.3%244
Not given9%94

Who reported

Physician17.4%182
Pharmacist1.2%13
Other health professional20.5%214
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional60.6%633
Not given0.3%3

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 79.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Ill-defined disorder151.4%
Leukocytosis50.5%
Meningitis pneumococcal40.4%
Antibiotic therapy30.3%
Bacteraemia20.2%
Hypersensitivity20.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,045 reports.

In context

MeasurePenicillin g sodiumPenicillin-class antibacterialAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,04564,40920,646,523
Share of that pool—1.6%0%
Reports, latest 12 months80—1,332,454
Marked serious25.6%81%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports378291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports101406213
Consumer-filed share60.6%18.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug hypersensitivity 49.6%median 9%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the penicillin-class antibacterial class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Amoxicillingeneric31,9842,31183.8%
Augmentinbrand9,43641272.2%
Piperacillin and tazobactamgeneric9,30758296.6%
Ampicillingeneric3,50520590%
Zosynbrand2,3595181%
Penicillin v potassiumgeneric1,2856336.3%
Penicillin ggeneric1,0457379%
Bicillin L-Abrand89158111.6%
Unasynbrand7732290.9%
Ampicillin sodium, sulbactam sodiumgeneric5677792.9%
Ampicillin and sulbactamgeneric5622194.3%
Ampicillin sodiumgeneric558943.7%
Oxacillingeneric5572294.3%
Amoxilbrand535358.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Penicillin g sodium reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Penicillin g sodium?

1,045 reports list Penicillin g sodium as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 80 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 104 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Penicillin g sodium reports?

drug hypersensitivity (49.6%), hypersensitivity (26.7%), rash (8%), drug ineffective (7.3%) and dyspnoea (6.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Penicillin g sodium was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

25.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 3.7% of reports include death and 10.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (60.6%), other health professional (20.5%) and physician (17.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Penicillin g sodium rising?

80 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 14% from 70 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Penicillin g sodium was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Penicillin g sodium?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Penicillin g sodium as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (104) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.