Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,664 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2016–2026.

1,664
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 168 a year
284
reports, 12 months to June 2026
530 in the 12 months before
99.9%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
52.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
871 reports · not verified by FDA

1,664 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from August 2016 to June 2026. A further 2,002 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 284 reports listed it, down 46% from 530 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 168 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are pain (43.1%), rheumatoid arthritis (39.1%) and hypertension (38.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 584 different terms appear across these reports. Pain is recorded in 43.1% of these reports, against 2.9% of all reports in the database.

99.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 52.3% record death among the outcomes and 55% record hospitalisation, as reported. 70.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (25.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03468Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 9Oct 2021: 13Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 132022Jan 2022: 8Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 14Apr 2022: 12May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 9Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 8Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 10Dec 2022: 162023Jan 2023: 18Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 12Apr 2023: 14May 2023: 28Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 25Sep 2023: 23Oct 2023: 29Nov 2023: 19Dec 2023: 252024Jan 2024: 24Feb 2024: 31Mar 2024: 47Apr 2024: 49May 2024: 47Jun 2024: 34Jul 2024: 40Aug 2024: 46Sep 2024: 52Oct 2024: 61Nov 2024: 44Dec 2024: 392025Jan 2025: 30Feb 2025: 68Mar 2025: 37Apr 2025: 50May 2025: 11Jun 2025: 52Jul 2025: 41Aug 2025: 24Sep 2025: 24Oct 2025: 28Nov 2025: 36Dec 2025: 322026Jan 2026: 21Feb 2026: 16Mar 2026: 17Apr 2026: 19May 2026: 13Jun 2026: 13

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02575142016: 420162017: 52018: 2020182019: 652020: 6520202021: 1292022: 11220222023: 2182024: 51420242025: 4332026: 992026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Painpain, site not specified43.1%717
  2. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease39.1%650
  3. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure38.8%645
  4. Rashskin rash38.3%637
  5. Pyrexiafever37.4%623
  6. Headachehead pain36.8%613
  7. Fatiguetiredness36.4%606
  8. Asthmaasthma36.4%605
  9. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction35.1%584
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath35%583
  11. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label34.7%577
  12. Wheezingwheezing34.5%574
  13. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion34%566
  14. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected33.1%551
  15. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes33.1%550
  16. Joint swellinga swollen joint31.3%521
  17. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort30.9%515
  18. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse30.8%513
  19. Systemic lupus erythematosuslupus, an autoimmune disease30.6%509
  20. Pemphigus30.4%506
  21. Glossodynia30.3%505
  22. Wound30%500
  23. Nauseafeeling sick29.8%496
  24. Alopeciahair loss29.7%495
  25. Arthralgiajoint pain29.6%493
  26. Synovitis29.2%486
  27. Vomitingbeing sick29.2%486
  28. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health29.1%484
  29. Infectionan infection, type not specified28.9%481

Top 30 of 584 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death52.3%871
Life-threatening41%683
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)55%916
Disability40.7%677
Congenital anomaly15.1%251
Other serious95.2%1,584
Not serious0.1%2

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 111%16
12 to 170.2%3
18 to 4425.1%417
45 to 6416.2%269
65 to 748.9%148
75 and over7.6%127
Age not given41.1%684

Patient sex

Female72.8%1,211
Male11.6%193
Not given15.6%260

Who reported

Physician15.9%264
Pharmacist0.4%7
Other health professional70.7%1,176
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional12.9%215
Not given0.1%2

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 0.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Dyspepsia332%
Gastrooesophageal reflux disease211.3%
Rheumatoid arthritis110.7%
Gastrointestinal disorder100.6%
Migraine40.2%
Asthma20.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,664 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous reports
Prednisone1,08064.9%
Humira1,02561.6%
Orencia99559.8%
Acetaminophen98159%
Diclofenac sodium97458.5%
Enbrel92655.6%
Folic acid89353.7%
Methotrexate87352.5%
Cetirizine hydrochloride86752.1%
Rituximab83550.2%

Other products listed in reports where Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePantoprazole Sodium AnhydrousAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,66420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months2841,332,454
Marked serious99.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports52391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports550213
Consumer-filed share12.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPain 43.1%2.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous?

1,664 reports list Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 284 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,002 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous reports?

pain (43.1%), rheumatoid arthritis (39.1%), hypertension (38.8%), rash (38.3%) and pyrexia (37.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 52.3% of reports include death and 55% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (70.7%), physician (15.9%) and consumer or non-health professional (12.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous rising?

284 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 46% from 530 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Pantoprazole Sodium Anhydrous as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,002) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.